Sad and Ashamed.....

"But I didn't join up to go to WAR... !"

If you're in the army, you are the lap dog of the government.

You don't like it, get out.

However, spitting on anyone is really plumbing the depths of ignorance. Just be satisfied that the person who did it is likely eaten up by bitter feelings every day of their life, and will die early of some sort of stomach cancer.

Tis most disgraceful Still Crowing, good stuff on your mate who was able to continue on his way. I would clobbered the sad SOB thou, but then again that's me! I bet that person thought he was tough doing that, but he was probably one of those who act tough but cannot back it up.

Dog's act, absolute disgrace.

Reminds me of the quite hostile reception a lot of the Vietnam diggers came home to, having blood thrown on them etc., was even worse then since a lot of them were conscripts and had no say in the matter.

I side on the left side of politics and am no huge fan of any Iraq conflict yet at the same time my sister serves in the Army (she's slightly more right-leaning than myself ;)) and I would be very angered if someone took their frustrations out on her going about her job. Her job and those of the defence forces is to follow the Australian Government's policy in relation to defence matters. While I strongly disagree with a war against Iraq without UN approval, I direct my anger at the Government of Australia (in particular Howard) not the people of our defence forces who are going about their job.

Like it or not, the defence forces potentially put their life on the line, if someone feels so strongly against a war in Iraq to assualt a defence force member I suggest they put their life on the line and go to Iraq as a human shield, like other westerners have.

Originally posted by mantis
Sydneyfan

Make sure you tell your sister to refuse the anthrax vaccine, if they try & ship her off to Iraq. ;)

:D

From the sounds of it, she's very unlikely to go, there's been no preparations for her to get ready to go anytime soon. She had 2 stints in East Timor and by the sounds she has a real cosy job in logistics, miles away from any action.

I haven't asked her about what she'd do if confronted to take the anthrax vaccine, I could have a word in her ear but I don't know if it would help!

I read about what happened to some of the 'Nam vets when they came back, apparently there orders were if someone attacked them, stick 'em with bayonet on the end of the SLR, man that would have learned a few people real quick!

You should see the ferals protesting against the war at my uni. Now this isn't a dig at anti-war people here as i am sure not all of you are dreadlocked ferals like the ones at my uni, but fair dinkum the ones at Murdoch are asking for it. They draw their anti-war crap all over the walls and pathways, protesting loudly in front of the library - where i and other students sometimes study, and just being plian disruptive bastards. I tells ya, it's only time i start a fight with one of them...

Originally posted by localyokel
What violence? Where?

Just because you might have wanted it to happen doesnt mean it did.

They weren't heaps violont just getting very angry, abusive and pushing ppl and stuff. Makes no sense to me:confused:

Originally posted by PrideofSA
They weren't heaps violont just getting very angry, abusive and pushing ppl and stuff. Makes no sense to me:confused:

And where did this happen, have seen nothing about any violence in the peace rally's, please stop with this propoganda. :rolleyes:

OH & also learn to spell, VIOLENT :D

Originally posted by Still Crowing
This morning, on the way to work, one of my colleagues (on his way to a meeting wearing his Navy Uniform) was spat on and called a warmonger just outside Melbourne Central train station.

I was shocked and appalled. What sort of deviant ingrate does that? What sort of moron can't tell the difference between government policy and the military? Regardless of your views on the current build up of forces in the Persian Gulf, surely it can be seen that a person in the military has absolutely no say whatsoever in whether they get sent to an active zone or to say Townsville for example. And surely it can be seen that without the military, and the protection it provides in a democratic society for freedom of speach (in conjunction with the courts and the constitution of course), that this person wouldn't even have the right to have their own personal view, unless it coincided happily with the government of the day?

The ADF is a professional and proud organisation that represents Australia the world over, and does this well. People in the ADF are not asking for the country to get down and genuflect in awed thanks-giving praise......but spitting on service men and women...what has this country come to?

I have never been ashamed of being an Australian, I have always thought that we represent something for a lot of other countries to aspire to with regards to our multiculturalism, our tolerance, and way of life. After hearing about this incident, and after the anger had passed (surprisingly swiftly) I was left feeling sad and I think ashamed.

rant over.

Kasey

The navy guy had every reason to flatten the parasite that spat and if I were in charge he wouldnt have been punished for doing it either.
These anti war people really need to wake up. :rolleyes: