RIP
Brisbane Lions
Woodville,Roys,NT Thunder
SAFA.

God, where does one begin? Gary Window commentating. The Angry Ant for Ingle Farm. "Biscuits" Menz at Athelstone. Edwardstown. (There must have been a Port side?? - Was it Port Districts (Exeter+Semi Centrals+??).

It made for glorious tv on a Sunday. Beers with mates watching the VFL replay, then the SAFA game of the day!!

FattyLumpkin said:
SAFA.

God, where does one begin? Gary Window commentating. The Angry Ant for Ingle Farm. "Biscuits" Menz at Athelstone. Edwardstown. (There must have been a Port side?? - Was it Port Districts (Exeter+Semi Centrals+??).

It made for glorious tv on a Sunday. Beers with mates watching the VFL replay, then the SAFA game of the day!!
Christ! They used to televise SAFA???? Dad tells me of wonderous stories of watching high class SANFL ressies on the TV, LIVE!!! But the SAFA, man, that would have been interesting to see on TV.

I always remember Gary Window giving a half time summary just inside the boundary line. There were two kids behind him yelling out things like, "You're a w@nker Window!!!", among other things. At the end, they kept the camera rolling and Window turned around to give the kids a filthy look, they pulled faces at him and ran away. Professional stuff.

Jimmy said:
Christ! They used to televise SAFA???? Dad tells me of wonderous stories of watching high class SANFL ressies on the TV, LIVE!!! But the SAFA, man, that would have been interesting to see on TV.

Every sunday Arvo at Adelaide Oval they would play the "SAFA Match of the Round" and Channel 9 would televise it live. Crowds as you can imagine weren't great but quite a few (SANFL)cheer squaders use to turn up and socialise (kick the footy on scoreboard hill etc..) . I was trying to remember who was (loosely) aligned with who. I seem to remember the Sturt lads following Edwardstown and Norwood following Flinders Park - due to being the same colours. We (North) tended to follow Ingle Farm (not because of the colours - they were green and white) but as they were from North's zone and had all these players who had been premiership players with us in the early 70's (Dennis Sachse, The Francous, Terry Collins and others.)
We had some fun times then. Pretty sure it was 1978.

Ingle Farm - green and white Bulldogs????? What the???

OH yessssssss SAFA days go the Elizabeth Eagles cleaning up in Division Two with the likes of Mark Frost, Steve Stones, Danny Casey, Gerry Platten, Mick Platten great days!

I also played U 17s for Pooraka when the SAFA was in its death throes.
We went down to the South East for an association game where the under 17s faced a Bordertown Tatiara team intent on winning but we ended up one point victors.
Simon Cox played for BT that day.

Then in the main game Bordertown Tatiara knocked off SAFA by one point. SAFA kicked something like 32 behinds that day to lose the game.
Gary Chillingworth played in that game and starred.

Oh those SAFA days....

I remember those games. Was it Geoff Roach at FF for Flinders Park?

I remember the old North players at Ingle Farm. And a few Legs at the Raggies - I reckon Noel Pettingill (is that right?) was out there.

I can't remember a Port equivalent tho.

Obviously I don't remember it all that well ...

I dont remember any Port sides either - they were all pretty much AMMOS I reckon.

Elizabeth had former Centrals player Darryl Beale as coach.

A list of clubs (off the top of my head)

Atheltstone
Mitchell Park
Flinders Park
Brighton
Norwood Districts
Payneham
Ingle Farm
Mt Lofty
Henley Districts
Tea Tree Gully
West Lakes
Salisbury North
Elizabeth
Modbury
Pooraka
Walkerville
Plympton

Pooraka had a few Port players. But I guess Riverside, Port District, even Rosewater were Ammos? Or Div 2?

Ford Fairlane said:
Pooraka had a few Port players. But I guess Riverside, Port District, even Rosewater were Ammos? Or Div 2?

Semaphore Central and Exeter almagamated to form Port District from SAAFL to join the SAFA in 1979. Centrals were in Div 1 and Exeter in Div 2 Amateurs in 1978 but the SAFA made us go into Div 3 when we started in 79.

Port District won the 79 Div 3 title and then never went any higher than Div 2.
They later joined the SAAFL in 1984 and made it back into Div 1 by 1990.
PDFC won the A1 title in 1992 beating Broadview.

Sturt now have more an alignment with the Uni Blacks as many of our players either have come from there or go there afterward.

In addition to the legendary Gary Window commentating, they had the equally legendary Ian Aitken and former Norwood general manager (in the 60's) Ron Kitchen, who seemed to only talk out of one side of his mouth.

Yes, Noel Pettingill was at Athelstone, along with former Norwood wingman Warren Packer.

Gary Mousley spent a year at Edwardstown in the middle of his stint at South.

Flinders Park had the one and only Ron Fuller, as well as 1976 Woodville rover Lou Cailotto. Big Gary Richardson was a man mountain ruckman for them.

As Leaping Lindner has mentioned, Ingle Farm had a host of ex-Roosters.

McAlmanac said:
In addition to the legendary Gary Window commentating, they had the equally legendary Ian Aitken and former Norwood general manager (in the 60's) Ron Kitchen, who seemed to only talk out of one side of his mouth.

Yes, Noel Pettingill was at Athelstone, along with former Norwood wingman Warren Packer.

Gary Mousley spent a year at Edwardstown in the middle of his stint at South.

Flinders Park had the one and only Ron Fuller, as well as 1976 Woodville rover Lou Cailotto. Big Gary Richardson was a man mountain ruckman for them.

As Leaping Lindner has mentioned, Ingle Farm had a host of ex-Roosters.

I was a junior with Flinders Park when SAFA started and gary richardson was a huge boy , i remember seeing his mum hit someone with her umbrella cause he hit her little boy :) .
Ron Fuller was there and gary haylock as well
the good ole days

Ford Fairlane said:
I remember those games. Was it Geoff Roach at FF for Flinders Park?

I remember the old North players at Ingle Farm. And a few Legs at the Raggies - I reckon Noel Pettingill (is that right?) was out there.

I can't remember a Port equivalent tho.

Geoff Roach is the idiot journalist. The player you are thinking about is George Roach, former Woodville player.
I can't remember Noel Pettingill playing for Athelstone but I do remember him playing for Ferryden Park. He kicked a goal one day from almost the centre of Payneham Oval, a fair dob.
The Port District team was first captained by Leon Milde and his mate Paul Marrett also played.

What about the mighty Ferryden Park Lions !!!!! Played juniors there back in the late 70s early 80s, wore the Green and Gold stripes of Woodville. They used to play mini-league at half-time of the Sunday games which were televised live by Ch9 (which I managed a couple of games). The "A" grade side was always very competitive. Dont think they won a Div 1 flag but were always very competitive, regularly making the finals but getting knocked out. What was the name of the Association Medal for Div 1 ???? as we had a few winners of the medal during that era. Think for memory we may have had a dual-winner. (Name escapes me). I also remember watching him suffer a pretty horrific neck injury which ended his career, was also player coach. Just cant remember his name :(

Dogwatcher said:
Ingle Farm - green and white Bulldogs????? What the???

OH yessssssss SAFA days go the Elizabeth Eagles cleaning up in Division Two with the likes of Mark Frost, Steve Stones, Danny Casey, Gerry Platten, Mick Platten great days!

I also played U 17s for Pooraka when the SAFA was in its death throes.
We went down to the South East for an association game where the under 17s faced a Bordertown Tatiara team intent on winning but we ended up one point victors.
Simon Cox played for BT that day.

Then in the main game Bordertown Tatiara knocked off SAFA by one point. SAFA kicked something like 32 behinds that day to lose the game.
Gary Chillingworth played in that game and starred.

Oh those SAFA days....
You dirty red and black Pooraka dog :D

There was nothing better than teams like Wingfield, Rosewater and Ferryden Pk knocking off those cheating mongrels from north of Yatala , Ingle Farm and Pooraka..Poo is so apt as your oval was a mudheap that stank of that black claggy stuff that only comes from Adelaide.

Ferryden Pk were in the SAFA with Noel Pettingill kicking to centre from fullback. Was good those days I do recall . Suburban footy at its best and a damm shame it went to the wall.

GrahamH said:
What about the mighty Ferryden Park Lions !!!!! Played juniors there back in the late 70s early 80s, wore the Green and Gold stripes of Woodville. They used to play mini-league at half-time of the Sunday games which were televised live by Ch9 (which I managed a couple of games). The "A" grade side was always very competitive. Dont think they won a Div 1 flag but were always very competitive, regularly making the finals but getting knocked out. What was the name of the Association Medal for Div 1 ???? as we had a few winners of the medal during that era. Think for memory we may have had a dual-winner. (Name escapes me). I also remember watching him suffer a pretty horrific neck injury which ended his career, was also player coach. Just cant remember his name :(
I played juniors at Ferryden Pk in the late 70s ..Matt Rigney was coach and Max Clarke was 18s coach. Matts boy Daryle played Teal Cup with the Mcdermott,McGuinness combo in 82? And If I recall came sclose to winning the medal.Grant went to Port 19s and got mentioned by KG as '' Mr Potential'' killed any career in football he may have had.

Max Clarke was a true legend IMO hard as nails but a real great man.Too bad the QEH killed him.

Pm me GrahamH

Adelaide Hawk said:
Geoff Roach is the idiot journalist. The player you are thinking about is George Roach, former Woodville player.
I can't remember Noel Pettingill playing for Athelstone but I do remember him playing for Ferryden Park. He kicked a goal one day from almost the centre of Payneham Oval, a fair dob.
The Port District team was first captained by Leon Milde and his mate Paul Marrett also played.

Oops on a few of those! George Roach, that sounds better than Geoff. One's sunk a few goals, the other a few chardys.

Was the Port District side in from the beginning (as in when 9 first started televising SAFA on Sunday afternoons)?

Marrett and Milde, the great ruck combo! Sadly Paul passed away and I think Leon is some sort of car sales manager at Smith's Holden these days.

Ford Fairlane said:
Was the Port District side in from the beginning (as in when 9 first started televising SAFA on Sunday afternoons)?

I'm a little hazy on this, but I think they were in Division 2 in the first season, won the premiership and went up to Division 1 the following season. Not sure about that though.

GrahamH said:
What about the mighty Ferryden Park Lions !!!!! What was the name of the Association Medal for Div 1 ???? as we had a few winners of the medal during that era. Think for memory we may have had a dual-winner. (Name escapes me). I also remember watching him suffer a pretty horrific neck injury which ended his career, was also player coach. Just cant remember his name :(

The name of the Medal was the Channel 9 Harford Medal. I think the player you are trying to think of was Peter Munn.

Dogwatcher said:
A list of clubs (off the top of my head)

Atheltstone
Mitchell Park
Flinders Park
Brighton
Norwood Districts
Payneham
Ingle Farm
Mt Lofty
Henley Districts
Tea Tree Gully
West Lakes
Salisbury North
Elizabeth
Modbury
Pooraka
Walkerville
Plympton

Some others:
Edwardstown
Hectorville
Ferryden Park
Port Districts
Gepps Cross
Semaphore Park
Burnside/Kensington

Other Ferryden Park legends - the Lennon brothers, Allan and David. Key forward David had a modest Reserves career at Woodville, but Allan played many fine games on the wing in the number 47 guernsey during the Peckers' dark years of the early 80's.

McAlmanac said:
Other Ferryden Park legends - the Lennon brothers, Allan and David. Key forward David had a modest Reserves career at Woodville, but Allan played many fine games on the wing in the number 47 guernsey during the Peckers' dark years of the early 80's.
Did Detto start there or Wingfield?

Pre SAFA day's Ferryden Park v Flinders Park (in the juniors at least) were some great matches . I remember one grand final either 14 or 16's massive fight one Ferryden park player sent off came back on and game ended with flinders park winning cause of that .