Autopsy Saints in biggest last quarter comeback in history.

I think it is more to do with when we are poor at entry into our forward 50 for too much of the time. Both in delivery, but also in how quick we enter.

Sharman, leads and leads, but too often:

1/ He just gets ignored
or 2/ The ball just gets plunked in his general direction.

Sharman is also good leaper. He is third tall size and not super strong and so needs the ball on a lead, and kicked where he has to battle for it body on body.

Team mates need to pass where he is running to, not where he is.

All our forwards looked much better in that last quarter as we had quick ball movement into the forward line, and the ball was mainly kicked to their advantage.
Sometimes I see that from Sharman and other times I see a bloke that won't even make a contest.

We have had more inside 50's than our opponents during either four or five of our six losses in a row. Sometimes he is a witches hat. No contest, no pressure, no leads. Other times he looks like he could rip a game apart.

Sure the team could play better, but 1.5 goals a game isn't going to cut if he wants to be a star.

Gunston is the prototype for him. He has the tools to make it but has to start showing some consistency if he wants to be great instead of handy.

Went to this game with my Dees supporting mate and did say at 3/4 we need 7 minor miracles.

We got them
At 3/4 time....one of the group said;

"Well........we only need 10 goals and we'll win"

Cue eyes rolling from the rest of us.

He nearly got the chocolates.........9 goals did the trick.

My shout for the beers next Sunday arvo !

Watched that last quarter again tonight.

Almost as good the second time, just outrageous stuff. We’re still 3 goals down with 4.30 to play, we kick 4 more from there and they managed to wrap up about 90 seconds in their forward half.

All been said but Hall is involved in 5 or 6 of the last quarter goals. Sharman turned into a monster. Hill (who I bemoan a lot) was really good. Wood and Arie played with width and created space and overlap. Clark and Hastie were important as well.

Nas… honestly play 5 games out of SA next year and let him just stay there for months at a time. Whatever it takes. He goes iso ball at times and is just untouchable, I’ve not seen it too much on a footy field it looks more like basketball where it’s just get him the pill and clear out.

Jess Webster is so much better a commentator than Princess Fiona

Her male colour commentators and the other male caller were wrapt in her call

Brilliant! She knew she'd nailed it, they all did. Well done Jess!

Not a radio listener so hadn’t heard her before. She just sounds like an AFL football commentator. A bloody good AFL football commentator. Impressive.

Kelli Underwood on the other hand sounds like Kelli Underwood.

What I don’t get though is why we only play with that reckless abandon when we’re multiple goals down, in last quarters in particular.
It's frustrating, I think the main change was our midfield

That if we leave steele and macrae in the guts and hall and nas at their respective ends of the ground it just doesn't work. The final kicks going inside 50 end up being long bombs and they get picked off by their defenders.

To play that style effectively you need Hall and Nas to take it inside 50, even Clarke and Wood are good options. Try that same plan with Byrnes or Wilson as the final kick in, we'd be pulling our hair out.

Also the game opens up in the last, we had 13 centre corridor marks in the final quarter, and only like 9 for the first 3 quarters.

Coaches live and die on the quality of their players, most brushed over element to the performance of a team. Look at Clarko at north, they look terrible. During the hawks golden years he had Mitchel, Burgoyne, Hodge, Smith, Birchall, prime movers that were all excellent kicks and decision makers. Makes all the difference

Girlfriend and I watched the last quarter on kayo after we got home from the game.

Tonight we were eating dinner in front of the TV and she said "do you want to watch the last quarter again?"

This is a person who had zero to do with footy before she met me.
My lord.

My wife, who is the same as yours, asked to watch the highlights again.

Incredible stuff. We chose the right partners 😂

Girlfriend and I watched the last quarter on kayo after we got home from the game.

Tonight we were eating dinner in front of the TV and she said "do you want to watch the last quarter again?"

sarcastic gerry dee GIF by CBC

Wow.
Unbelievable vision and what great commentary. Well done team.
And well done Isaac Smith who said exactly what they should do about clearing a space for NAS at the end, before the Saints did it.

My lord.

My wife, who is the same as yours, asked to watch the highlights again.

Incredible stuff. We chose the right partners 😂
Wives; girlfriends… call them what you will 🤷

DUk7A8L.gif

Kelli Underwood gets a hard time on here but I don't mind her commentary, she clearly knows the game well. She does have a kinda irritating voice though. The commentator that irritates me a lot is Dwayne Russell. "Lace out, with a ribbon on it". Not again, please! He's always trying to be clever with the players names.

I grew up listening to Lou Richards, I always thought he had an annoying voice. Dennis was the best... "he went in optimistically and came out misty optically"
I actually love listening to the old-timey commentary of Gerard Wheatley and Eddie McGuire. Not a fan of the 360 and Footy Show-Collingwood versions of them, but as callers they are seriously the best in the biz.

I was a fan of Bruce Mac as well.

Can't started the bland fake blokey style of Hudson and Brayshaw though. Have learnt to enjoy BT and Russell. Not many who really annoy me. Maybe I just miss Australia!

It's a trap, are you familiar with the Hot-Crazy matrix? Your girlfriend could be a Unicorn.

Just pack a small bag and leave quietly while she sleeps.

Autopsy Saints in biggest last quarter comeback in history.