Autopsy Saints in biggest last quarter comeback in history.

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Wives; girlfriends… call them what you will 🤷

DUk7A8L.gif
You are a God among men, Doc.

Love your work šŸ˜

We talked earlier in the season about how Saints fans are losing the will to get to games when the footy is so this and that...

Hopefully this last quarter of footy changes a few minds. We'll probably never see anything quite like that again, but the fact that now and then, the Saints will pull something like that or Rd 14, 2009 or that Lions game in 2004 out of their arse...

It's why you watch footy, despite the disappointment and all the bull. Its why you brave the traffic and the organisation to drag your yawning kids to night games, even though you know it's a life sentence for them and they'd be happier watching shorts on YouTube, or convince your long suffering partner to go to matches with you even though there couldn't be many things that are less romantic. Its why you waste your entire life on Internet forums arguing with people you'll never meet, why you put up with colleagues and acquaintances taking the piss after another year of failure, why you dream of big dumb blokes kicking a bit of leather around a park, its why you can't concentrate on work or organise your life, why you watch unfunny videos the club posts, why you listen to commentators so loud and dumb you feel like they are actually making you stupid...

I watched the game on my phone, then I watched it again on replay. Then I watched the stirring montage 360 did with multiple slow motion angles, commentaries and heroic soundtracks, but still...

Oh, what I wouldn't give to have been at Marvel stadium to witness that moment live. That's what the song is all about:

Oh, when the Saints go marching in:

How I want to be with St Kilda

When the Saints go marching in.

How I want to be at Marvel when the Saints put something like that together. To be in that crowd, feeling that emotion. That's worth a cold lonely train trip late on Sunday night

Who cares if it's just 4 points, who cares if it's just the pant-shitting specialists from Demonland, who cares if the first 3 quarters we played footy that would have embarrassed a VFL side...

That is the magic of footy, the reason we all love it.

I'm going to show that 360 montage to my kids and see if it inspires them; they haven't really got the footy bug yet. If this doesn’t get them into it, I'll know there's no hope!

If you love this club, if you are able to get to games, don't let it pass you by, you never know when it might be the last chance you get.

Love this club! Vive les Saints!

We talked earlier in the season about how Saints fans are losing the will to get to games when the footy is so this and that...

Hopefully this last quarter of footy changes a few minds. We'll probably never see anything quite like that again, but the fact that now and then, the Saints will pull something like that or Rd 14, 2009 or that Lions game in 2004 out of their arse...

It's why you watch footy, despite the disappointment and all the bull. Its why you brave the traffic and the organisation to drag your yawning kids to night games, even though you know it's a life sentence for them and they'd be happier watching shorts on YouTube, or convince your long suffering partner to go to matches with you even though there couldn't be many things that are less romantic. Its why you waste your entire life on Internet forums arguing with people you'll never meet, why you put up with colleagues and acquaintances taking the piss after another year of failure, why you dream of big dumb blokes kicking a bit of leather around a park, its why you can't concentrate on work or organise your life, why you watch unfunny videos the club posts, why you listen to commentators so loud and dumb you feel like they are actually making you stupid...

I watched the game on my phone, then I watched it again on replay. Then I watched the stirring montage 360 did with multiple slow motion angles, commentaries and heroic soundtracks, but still...

Oh, what I wouldn't give to have been at Marvel stadium to witness that moment live. That's what the song is all about:

How I want to be at Marvel when the Saints put something like that together. To be in that crowd, feeling that emotion. That's worth a cold lonely train trip late on Sunday night

Who cares if it's just 4 points, who cares if it's just the pant-shitting specialists from Demonland, who cares if the first 3 quarters we played footy that would have embarrassed a VFL side...

I'm going to show that 360 montage to my kids and see if it inspires them; they haven't really got the footy bug yet. If this doesn’t get them into it, I'll know there's no hope!

If you love this club, if you are able to get to games, don't let it pass you by, you never know when it might be the last chance you get.

I was there Austinn - it was just plain bizarre.

Spent the first 3/4 qtrs thinking thats it - never making the 4 hr trip to watch a game ever again.

Spent the next 30 minutes thinking that Melb will snag a late goal and we will end up just short.

Spent the next 2 minutes in stunned amazement.

Spent the 10 minutes after the siren just laughing uncontrollably at at the sheer ridiculousness of what we'd witnessed.

Amazing!!!

Love your post Austinn

I am of an age that I'm comfortable with my lot in life that I am a St Kilda supporter. With all that it brings. A lot more pain than joy but that is ok.

A lifetime ago when I was about 10 my Dad (Collingwood suppoorter) took me to a Saints game at Moorabbin. We were about 5 goals down with about 15 mins left in the last. He said "time to go". As we were walking back to the car we heard a roar. Then another. Then another. We get to the car and turn on the radio and the commentators were raving about the "great Trevor Barker". We didnt win but it was still a very frosty weekend I gave him as Barkes was my hero. It was also the last time I wasn't at the last siren. A vow was made.

Fast forward to late Sunday afternoon and there I was with my wife (another from overseas who'd never watched an AFL game before we met a few years ago). Nas took the mark for the 2nd last goal right in front of us. After the winning goal I turned to her and she had tears streaming down her face. Then I realised I was the same.

This game is brutal but God I love it.

Jess Webster is so much better a commentator than Princess Fiona

Her male colour commentators and the other male caller were wrapt in her call

How good was that? šŸ˜

FWIW, Caminiti didn’t play forward for 3 quarters, he and Tauru switched either late in the first, or in the 2nd quarter.

What we tried from the start down back failed badly though. We had Wilkie on Melksham and mostly Stocker on Fritsch, and Stocker just wasn’t or isn’t suited to playing on a marking type like Fritsch, and he gave him a bath.

Once we switched Wilkie onto him, he was far less influential.

And Jones didn’t lift in the last, he was one of very few who were good all day for us, with disposals per quarter of 6, 8, 7, 5.

Only Wang and Sincs had more touches for either team, and Zak ran super hard into space all day on the wing, before being moved forward late. Presumably so they could move Macrae to a wing and have Hall and co inside. Was a huge improvement on his recent outings, and deserves a shout out. šŸ‘
Going in with one fewer tall was a mistake for three quarters. When we got it moving quicker in the last it looked like a masterstroke.

Jones's effort is always consistent, but he was more effective in the last quarter. I knew he'd still be working late into the game. I didn't mind his first three quarters as we were poor and he tries to get the ball moving, but like most of the team, his best quarter was the last.

Nas stirs up emotions, gets em running high, Nick and Caro having a little go at each other on The Agenda Setters. Neither of them know why they are antsy and a little off put. šŸ˜€

As a long time Saints supporter, having a champion that others lust after while sitting at the bottom of the ladder feels like a comfortable groove.

Watched the replay again. Hill was massive in the last aswell. Hastie good moments. Hammer is a back. Sharman went to another level. Windy important.

It's so funny at the game I spent three quarters thinking we are nowhere near Melbourne as a side. They have so many good players and destroyed us in every facet of the game. They must have serious psychological issues as a side to lose that.

Just watched it again & on Sunday was tossing up whether to play bowls or watch the footy.
Worked out I should be home to watch the last, so bowls it was (checking scores & knowing I chose right) home just before the last & yeah, never been more happier or proud as I was after that final siren.
What an epic final quarter šŸ˜

22,570 people were at the game, in 20 years time there will be 50,000 people saying they were there that day.

The kind of game that will be remembered forever.
I only got back home from a 2 week work trip in Europe late Friday night. I was jet lagged to buggery and we actually went in on the train as I said I didn't want to drive because I was worried I would fall asleep at the wheel on the way home because of the jetlag.

Zero jetlag after that finish !!!!

Really glad I didn't decide to stay home and watch on TV instead !!!!!

Not much has been said about Nas's two set shots. Both of them split the middle. Don't think we need to look any further for a set shot routine coach.
I reckon we need to get NAS to have a bit of a goal kicking clinic with Michito-san.

And here's the rub....at training Mitch has heaps of shots at different places on the 50 M arc..........and rarely misses.

Go figure!

I reckon we need to get NAS to have a bit of a goal kicking clinic with Michito-san.

And here's the rub....at training Mitch has heaps of shots at different places on the 50 M arc..........and rarely misses.

Go figure!
genuine question, does anyone stand the mark when he does this? i have seen other clubs using cardboard cutouts

no good slotting them from 50m unless you can replicate the fatigue while having to kick over someone's head

And what’s with Maso kicking around the corner and Higgo hitting drop punts???
Bizzaro !!!!!!!!!

It was like the world turned upside down for that game.

Higgo's drop punt in the last was text book perfect.

Alternative universe !!!!

LOL.

Autopsy Saints in biggest last quarter comeback in history.