greenlight

May 19, 2007
melbourne
frankston
Heres a scenario and knowing sheedy and his tactics over the years this is what i reckon he,s gunna do.....

Debut Gumbleton,Hislop and Reimers between round 14 and 18..

bring back jetta and houli round 16-18.

Bring back the rame man in round 13 for the melb ( cancer game)

Lovett and nathan l, murray come back into team

go into the finals with a young but full on enthusiastic team...with some great experienced players there to guide them( hird,lloyd,lucas,fletc, micheal, johnson boys,welsh, mcphee, ect ect)

Lets be realistic we proberbly wont win the flag this year but with this tactic i reckon thats setting up for the years to come....:thumbsu:

will enthus the players who are between 21-25 and will pressure the older guys for a place in the side ....great situation dont you think....we gotta get back to the days where you have to FIGHT for an essendon guernsey...:thumbsu:

Heres a scenario and knowing sheedy and his tactics over the years this is what i reckon he,s gunna do.....

go into the finals with a young but full on enthusiastic team...with some great experienced players there to guide them( hird,lloyd,lucas,fletc, micheal, johnson boys,welsh, mcphee, ect ect)

Lets be realistic we proberbly wont win the flag this year but with this tactic i reckon thats setting up for the years to come....:thumbsu:

will enthus the players who are between 21-25 and will pressure the older guys for a place in the side ....great situation dont you think....we gotta get back to the days where you have to FIGHT for an essendon guernsey...:thumbsu:
That is ridiculous. You want Gumby, Hislop, Reimers Jetta and Houli in the same team as well as Davey who is already there. Add that to Hird, Lloyd, Lucas, Fletch, Michael, mJ, JJ Welsh McPhee and also Hille who you missed and would be playing. That is already 16 players. So for the other 8 spots we have Stants, Watson, Ryder, Monfries, Campo, Nash, NLM, Lovett, Dempsey, Laycock, Dyson, McVeigh, Pev and also Rama who you want included! alot of the guys I mentioned would be very stiff to miss out for guys like Reimers, Hislop and Houli, and I'm sure i've missed some players aswell. Unfortunately you cant have 30 players in a team. Sorry, your theory is flawed.

You want to get the team so we have a full list fighting for selection, yet you want to give kids games just because they are kids? And Rama gets a game because he has cancer? Doesn't sound like theres much fighting going on there more like donations!

Whats wrong with bringing in the younger guys...i think some of them will adapt sooner than later...it would put pressure on the experienced guys....who ever dont make the cut aint good enough...that brings a bigger standard to the club....nothing wrong with high standards you know

But most of the older guys ARE playing well. The ones that arent are going to (hopefully) be pushed out of the team by the return of Lovett and NLM and maybe even Dempsey and Jetta. So there is no need to bring in all of the young guys at once.

With barely any injuries doesn't it makes sense to build up the youger guys in the VFL in their first season or so? It's an incredibly stupid idea to give players a game just because they're young, especially when they don't deserve a game.

KEVIN ,,, change your pre match warm up to a bit more aggressive contact on the field , kick the ball harder , handball faster etc etc and more purpose when doing it .Its tooooooooooo casual and the team is NOT switched on from the start :mad:
( i hope he reads this ) I do mean well though

With barely any injuries doesn't it makes sense to build up the youger guys in the VFL in their first season or so? It's an incredibly stupid idea to give players a game just because they're young, especially when they don't deserve a game.

im not saying to play them every game....just to give em go and see how they fare.some of them may stay there if there good enough...i totally agree that the vfl is great experience but i was just saying give them a taste thats all

Whats wrong with bringing in the younger guys...i think some of them will adapt sooner than later...it would put pressure on the experienced guys....who ever dont make the cut aint good enough...that brings a bigger standard to the club....nothing wrong with high standards you know

come finals time (providing we make it) we would get beaten by any other team if we played that many youngsters...

you dont need enthusiasm when you come into the finals, thats a given.. perhaps during the year a younger player would provide extra enthusiasm but in finals every player gives in their all...

in the finals you play the most experience you can whilst having the most talent on the park...

come finals time (providing we make it) we would get beaten by any other team if we played that many youngsters...

you dont need enthusiasm when you come into the finals, thats a given.. perhaps during the year a younger player would provide extra enthusiasm but in finals every player gives in their all...

in the finals you play the most experience you can whilst having the most talent on the park...

look at 1993 . sheedy played about 6 1st year players and it changed the whole attitude of the team hence we won the flag...im not saying every youngen we have but surely gumby and hislop deserve a crack

And take a look at Collingwood - two rookies in their backline and first year players holding down a possie and they are in the higher end of the ladder....!!

KEVIN ,,, change your pre match warm up to a bit more aggressive contact on the field , kick the ball harder , handball faster etc etc and more purpose when doing it .Its tooooooooooo casual and the team is NOT switched on from the start :mad:
( i hope he reads this ) I do mean well though

Prior to the last two weeks, we've just about been the best starting team in the competition.

And take a look at Collingwood - two rookies in their backline and first year players holding down a possie and they are in the higher end of the ladder....!!

The blokes holding down a position are Pendlebury, Shaw, Thomas, Cloke and O'Brien.

We've got several blokes with less than 50 games in our best side.

Lovett
Winderlich
Monfries
Slattery
Laycock
Davey
Ryder
Watson

One of our best midfielders has only just turned 21 (Stanton) and we've also seen Bradley, Jetta and Houli this year. Will probably see Jetta and/or Dempsey back in the side at some stage.

We're playing plenty of kids and they're getting plenty of responsibility.

And after tonight, Collingwood could very well be below us on the ladder.

Only because Clement, Presti, O'Brien and Rhyce Shaw are injured. They are forced to play youngsters. Stanley had 7 goals kicked on him last week! I'm sure if they were given a choice, he wouldnt be playing in defence.

I'd expect Cournenay to play a few games, can't see many keeping up with him if he gets the footy in his mitts

And maybe Hislop, sounds like he's got the body to slip straight into the thick of it for a few games

Gumby I'm not so sure of. I think when Kev made his pre-season announcement that we'd see him this season, he hadn't quite anticipated us to improve as dramatically as we have. FWIW, to me he doesn't look like he's got the biuld for AFL yet

I'd expect Cournenay to play a few games, can't see many keeping up with him if he gets the footy in his mitts

And maybe Hislop, sounds like he's got the body to slip straight into the thick of it for a few games

Gumby I'm not so sure of. I think when Kev made his pre-season announcement that we'd see him this season, he hadn't quite anticipated us to improve as dramatically as we have. FWIW, to me he doesn't look like he's got the biuld for AFL yet

197cm in height and 98 kg....your kidding aint you...thats a man mountain of man...he has the body just not the experience and thats why i wanna see him in the ones...experience will bring him on in leaps and bounds...ive heard real special things about this guy....better than gibbs or lauclan.....bring him on

What's with the rush to bring in all the kids? You base it soley on the fact that we won a flag in '93 by playing youngsters. If you go back to the '80s Hawthorn won 7 flags in 11 years by giving guys like Tuck, Rat and Dipper plenty of time to develop in the 2nds before leading them to a glory era.

Bringing in Houli, Hislop, Jetta, Gumbleton and dropping Watson, Winderlich, Stanton and Lloyd might give the youngsters a taste but won't give our team much of a chance to win. We are already out of the race for Kreuzer so theres no need for tanking.

What's with the rush to bring in all the kids? You base it soley on the fact that we won a flag in '93 by playing youngsters. If you go back to the '80s Hawthorn won 7 flags in 11 years by giving guys like Tuck, Rat and Dipper plenty of time to develop in the 2nds before leading them to a glory era.

Bringing in Houli, Hislop, Jetta, Gumbleton and dropping Watson, Winderlich, Stanton and Lloyd might give the youngsters a taste but won't give our team much of a chance to win. We are already out of the race for Kreuzer so theres no need for tanking.
omg as if we would leave out watson,winder,stanton and lloyd....try some other players mate

So you want to bring in 3 midfielders and a forward and drop 4 backs? Doesn't matter who you name they have earnt their spot over the kids atm.

Your still being a hypocrit by wanting to play young guys purely to give them experience, nothing to do with them earning a spot.

Sheedys possible Tactics