Should Grimley be given gametime in 2012?

Hodgepodge

Hall of Famer
Suspended
30k Posts 10k Posts
Any number of regular hawthorn players didn't perform all that well in the VFL side before being promoted to the Hawthorn team, so why not a bit of the same treatment for Grimley?

As a full-forward imo. Worst case scenario he averages a goal or two a game and provides more defensive pressure than Hale. Plus he rucks a bit too.

I'm not saying he plays every game, but at least some games against some bottom teams.

It's a no-brainer imo.

Both Lowden and Grimley will play next year. But against bottom teams like GC BL GWS PA etc. Both will play about 4-5 games just to get that experience of playing senior footy they need which will hold them both in good sted in 2013. Lowden will play if Bailey or Hale are either rested or injured. Grimley will play at CHB it he gets a game. He has good speed and agility for someone at 199cm. But he needs another year at BHH to further develop his game. His not quite ready but he is developing nicely. He will be an exciting prospect no doubt. Yes he will play some games in 2012! :)

Pretty simple, you play if you earn your spot over others. If he plays well for Box Hill, he'll get his game.

Says it all really. The only thing stopping anyone on the list from getting a senior game is if someone better is playing in their position.

Cant believe he's on a list, let alone playing a game next season. Hardly does anything for Box Hill and was playing reserves most of last year... Went to school with him, still can't get my head around him playing footy.

He is a late bloomer with a basketball background and with ernormous upside. Could be anything. Collingwood wanted him just as much as we did mate.

If Hawthorn get into a position to rest key players, then Gibson, Shoey, Stratton and Gilham should all surely get rests (assuming all are best 22), meaning Grimley might get a game somewhere, against a GWS or someone. It is unlikely we will rest all four in the same week though, so he may struggle to play ahead of our other options, unless he can get into some good form.

Has he dominated at Box Hill?
Has he consistently been in the bests at Box Hill?

A place in the best 22 at Hawthorn has to be EARNED, we are not Melbourne etc.
Hope he dominates Box Hill and gets a game :)

He is a late bloomer with a basketball background and with ernormous upside. Could be anything. Collingwood wanted him just as much as we did mate.

That seems to be the common sentence that goes with Grimely. I want to believe that he can be something but I'm yet to see a sign.

From what I saw on the Sunny Coast over a week, he's light years from getting a game. Seems too small for key position but not mobile enough for flanks. He isn't a rucks left bootlace compared to Sandilands etc.

Just my opinion, if he steps up, great.

Any number of regular hawthorn players didn't perform all that well in the VFL side before being promoted to the Hawthorn team, so why not a bit of the same treatment for Grimley?

As a full-forward imo. Worst case scenario he averages a goal or two a game and provides more defensive pressure than Hale. Plus he rucks a bit too.

I'm not saying he plays every game, but at least some games against some bottom teams.

It's a no-brainer imo.
Worst case scenario is that he gets monstered by the KPD of the opposition team, the hawks midfielders bypass him 90% of the time and his confidence is shattered, which results in a potentially lively and successful career being ruined by being rushed into the seniors when not ready and/or not deserving. The end result could be a modern day Beau Dowler.

If you think back to the last 2 NAB series when Grimley played. Apart from showing he's tiny in body size, he certainly got potential as he was able to hold his own against bigger, more experienced rucks.

If he deserves a game he will. Next year is NOT a development year.
Yes it is. He's had 2 seasons at an AFL club coming from a basketball background. Why isn't he allowed time to develop mentally, physically and skill-wise?

It took Dean Brogan just as long to get a game for Port and he'd come off a year playing in the SANFL before he was drafted as well as having the chance to develop his body from playing in the NBL.

But don't let the facts get in the way of your uneducated judgement. Please tell why it ISN'T a development year for him? Are you getting him confused with Lowden?

I dont know about him being given game time, but I would certainly like to see him in the senior side at some point during the season. Hopefully his "development" continues at BH in 2012 and he earns senior selection.
I would love to see him at CHB if that is at all a possibility

He won't force himself into the 22 - prob not close, but I wouldn't be against him playing a game at FB against Brissie etc as part of his development. Same goes for a couple of others.

* This assuming he is playing regularly for BH 1sts & not Reserves. He shouldn't be given charity games but I would be all for it if it was a structured/measured part of his development.

I would like to see us trot out a development squad for the game against GWS. Grimley should definitely play that game, outside that though its tough to see him getting many games. From what ive read about him he isnt ready yet - form at Box Hill should be his main goal.

Interesting.

Grimley only played 4 TAC Cup games because Collingwood were trying to hide him in the schools system.

Of those 4 games he had the distinction of outplaying GC17's Charlie Dixon in a final when moved to CHB - Dixon is no slouch even now, and in the future will probably be the comp's premier forward.

Raises many questions - the most pertinent one being, what is Grimley's position more than 'should he be given gametime'.

There will be no passengers at Hawthorn this season - positions will be earned on merit.

Yes it is. He's had 2 seasons at an AFL club coming from a basketball background. Why isn't he allowed time to develop mentally, physically and skill-wise?

It took Dean Brogan just as long to get a game for Port and he'd come off a year playing in the SANFL before he was drafted as well as having the chance to develop his body from playing in the NBL.

But don't let the facts get in the way of your uneducated judgement. Please tell why it ISN'T a development year for him? Are you getting him confused with Lowden?

He didn't mean it's not a development year for Grimely, he meant that it's not a development year for the club in terms of chucking blokes into the firsts with the aim of giving them some experience if their form doesn't warrant it.

I would like to see him and some others get some game time when one or more of our top 22 need a rest. However, I think last year we made a mistake by resting too many for one game, Gold Coast. This year I'd prefer to see the "rest" done over the last 6-7 games. This, of course depends on other factors, i.e. mainly ladder position.

No for mine. Is a long way off.

Saw him a few times and couldn't really understand all the hype. Yep he's tall, pretty agile for a big bloke and does some nice things, but is a mile off AFL level for mine.

I'd be very surprised if he got an AFL game in 2012, unless we were at the back end of next season, wanted to give a few guys a break to freshen up and the club wanted to give him a chance to decide whether they keep or delist him.

Looks a bit like another Pelchen speculative pick that was a waste. Always felt we should have taken Vardy. Glad we've stopped the top 50 bang-or-bust draft pick rubbish we had to endure under the Pelican's reign.