WALL-e

Sep 17, 2007
Magic, Sturt, Ravens, Duke
Just a few question to make sure the journey to the old town goes swimmingly.

Got accom sorted....at the lovely Glenelg Hostel :D

Got seats sorted in Bay 135 (pissed they weren't selling the wing seats)

How long should we allow to get from Glenelg to the ground (taxi is the most likely source, but it could be tram to city and bus to AAMI)?

How long do trams run out of the City and to Glenelg at night?

Best place to hit the town on a sat night (as long as I don't have to listen to DJ Sik Bro all night)?

Better off to hit the Cit or does Glenelg have something to offer, considering we can stumble back to our room?

Thanks! :thumbsu:

Got seats sorted in Bay 135 (pissed they weren't selling the wing seats)

Best place to hit the town on a sat night (as long as I don't have to listen to DJ Sik Bro all night)?

Better off to hit the Cit or does Glenelg have something to offer, considering we can stumble back to our room?

I reckon with your seats if there are gaps closer to where you want to sit when the game starts, you should easily be able to move there at quarter time or something. I still can't believe the lack of seats they have on sale.

With regards to town, really depends on what type of thing you like. If you like full on dance music then Electric Circus and Red Square are some popular places, HQ also and they have a RnB room and stuff. I'm not really a fan of those though. For something a bit more 'normal' you could try Mojo's, Dog and Duck or Swish I think it is. Then there's places not on Hindley St such as Marble Bar, Garage and the Havey.

Glenelg's more a Sunday night thing with the Grand, don't know what its like on a Saturday.

With regards to town, really depends on what type of thing you like. If you like full on dance music then Electric Circus and Red Square are some popular places, HQ also and they have a RnB room and stuff. I'm not really a fan of those though. For something a bit more 'normal' you could try Mojo's, Dog and Duck or Swish I think it is. Then there's places not on Hindley St such as Marble Bar, Garage and the Havey.
I get enough dance and house crap over here with my mates (no offense to anyone who likes it,, but to me it sounds like someone threw a whole bunch of predictable loud noise together)

I'm a rock fan (a snooty one so Kisschasey's not gonna fly lol) but my mate is a R&B fan (NERD Nate Dogg etc),

Any chance there's a place that mixes that up, or a place with a good, non typical cover band that plays some r&b in between haha. Good priced drinks would also be nice.

In the highly likely situation that this place doesn't exist, is there a place with no house/techno that's chilled has drinks and doesn't have more sausage than Australia Day?

I get enough dance and house crap over here with my mates (no offense to anyone who likes it,, but to me it sounds like someone threw a whole bunch of predictable loud noise together)

I'm a rock fan (a snooty one so Kisschasey's not gonna fly lol) but my mate is a R&B fan (NERD Nate Dogg etc),

Any chance there's a place that mixes that up, or a place with a good, non typical cover band that plays some r&b in between haha. Good priced drinks would also be nice.

In the highly likely situation that this place doesn't exist, is there a place with no house/techno that's chilled has drinks and doesn't have more sausage than Australia Day?

The Elephant and Wheelbarrow sometime have a good band up stairs. But just go to the Casino

Just a few question to make sure the journey to the old town goes swimmingly.

How long should we allow to get from Glenelg to the ground (taxi is the most likely source, but it could be tram to city and bus to AAMI)?

How long do trams run out of the City and to Glenelg at night?

Thanks! :thumbsu:

If you are wanting to bus it in then use this. This is the best way or Taxi if you can afford it. You don't need to be in the City to catch a bus to the game.

http://www.adelaidemetro.com.au/routes/footy/footy_southern_power.html

Buses leave every 5 minutes to the City after the game. You could try the Duke on Currie street. Bus will drop you off out the front too. Very tidy large beer garden out the back. Buy your beer by the long neck!

or go back to Glenelg by a bus from the Stadium then catch the Tram into town if you get bored.

Taxi home once youv'e torn up the City. (Last Tram 12.00 midnight). You could try this bus from town. http://www.adelaidemetro.com.au/routes/timetables/260-265_010808_ttable.pdf see page 17 for after Midnight services.

Showdown Info