ITS ME

How frustrating to see players make silly mistakes. Why was cox tring to milk the clock with 5 inutes to go. Mckinly pass to cox who was free in the goal square. wilkes pass in defence not to mention the three set shots that we missed again in the last quarter. We could quite easily be 5 and three instaed of 3 and five. Lets hope we learn nothing else from these experiences that we need to get better with our decision making.

huh?

If we had taken our chances this year, we would be 7-1. Lost to Brisbane from miles up, kicked ourselves out of the Fremantle and Hawthorn games, and coughed this one up as well.

At the very least we should be 4-4 or 5-3. It's just killing us that we are losing these games.

Unfortunatley the younger guys cracked a bit under pressure ala McKenzie, McKinley, Cockie (Shot at goal) etc. They fought very hard though and were unlucky. Just needed a bit more composure and to finish those goals at the end. Very good effort though for what its worth.

You can't actually believe Cox was trying to run down time with 5 minutes to go can you?

I think he was trying to slow down the tempo to get a bit of composure back.

Either way, it had no bearing on the result.

Unfortunatley the younger guys cracked a bit under pressure ala McKenzie, McKinley, Cockie (Shot at goal) etc. They fought very hard though and were unlucky. Just needed a bit more composure and to finish those goals at the end. Very good effort though for what its worth.

I agree.

Whilst I am very dissapointed that we lost, I am glad to see that our young squad is improving.

The highlights for me where:
- much improved goal kicking accuracy
- The continual fight. Sydney should have been much further ahead all game but we kept coming back
- Improvement from the young guys like Cockie, Scooter, and Kennedy.

We lost due to poise and experience in the end. We had 3 chances to win this game (Mckinleys pass to Cox, Lynch and Cockies shots on goal) but couldnt convert. Sydney had one chance to win it at the end (Mckenzies kick to hurn) and they took it.

Again sad to lose, but there were good signs.

You can't actually believe Cox was trying to run down time with 5 minutes to go can you?

completely disagree. We were running over the top of them. Had all the momentum, and should have been pushing hard on a Sydney team that was tiring. Cox completely stuffed up by slowing the game down. Probably cost us in the end i reckon more than Mackenzies turnover.

Cockies set shot miss was just as bad. And Mckinley off one step to miss Cox in the goal square. Fair dinkum our skills lose us another game, AGAIN.

if cockie would of scored that goal we would of won for sure, but he played very well and i think he improves every week.

I guess its all part of a developing side, i honestly believe a tough away win like tonight shouldve been can be worth so much more in belief and team building.

We realistically should be 6 - 2(Add bris,frem,syd) but we just cant get there atm

i agree..didnt see the game, but tend to agree that he'd be more playing possession footy than running the clock down..with that kind of pressure upon you, of time left/ close score /field position..to attack can just as easily lead to a turnover and score at the other end..so maybe youre not running the clock down but making sure every pass connects in a slow but sure buildup to another score..theres no guarantees either way..hedge your bets and roll the dice..damned if you do,damned if you dont..

Don't let that stop you from forming an opinion. If you had seen the game, you'd realise that Sydney had stopped and we were running them off their legs. We gave them time to catch their breath and it cost us the match.

inaccurate kicking in the clutch cost us the match

I think we are tracking pretty well with so much youth in the midfield at the moment, can't wait to see what we are going to be like when Scott Selwood, Masten, Ebert, Swift & Shuey have 40-60 games behind them and can really belt other teams in the clearances and defensive pressure.

I think we are tracking pretty well with so much youth in the midfield at the moment, can't wait to see what we are going to be like when Scott Selwood, Masten, Ebert, Swift, Naitanui & Shuey have 40-60 games behind them and can really belt other teams in the clearances and defensive pressure.

Ohhh yeah.

Im more than content for us to go through games playing in the fashion we are at the moment. Its such a large marked improvement on last year. If we were to only win 4 games for the season playing like this it every week would be a major bonus.

It may be perceived as accepting mediocrity, but in the long run we would benefit. We're performing at a level at least equal to our opponents.