Opinion Silvagni

Where to now for Silvagni? He has played really well in his last two games following up from his good form in the WAFL. His man on man has been good, as well as his vision for when to break off to help cover the other defenders. I think the only reason he got subbed was that our defence were well and truly on top of their forward structure and we probably needed so more run in the mid/forward area. IMO Dawson could of easily been the one subbed off and Silvagni would have covered just as well.

However, when Mcpharlin is back in the side I’d say Silvagni will be the one to make way. It’s a good position for our side to be in having depth in our backline but it seems a shame that he’ll be demoted back to WAFL after performing well. I don’t think he has the speed to cover the small forwards so if Dawson, Macca and Johnson stay fit for the rest of the year (touch wood) Silvangi doesn’t get a game? Looking to the near future where Macca and Johnson are no longer with us would you guys be happy that Silvagni and Ibbo got some game time over them for the sake of getting them some AFL game time?

Showed more footy smarts than I believed he possessed last night, with his peeling off his man and kicking to advantage, but will sadly enjoi his time at Peel as depth when McP comes back.

Considering that I wouldn't be surprised to see him request a trade.

Saying that Dawson being subbed off instead underestimates his leadership in the backline.

I think the crucial thing here is McPharlin and season 2015. Should he retire at this season's end, I would think that Silvagni would be best 22 based on current form. It is odd - every time the ball went to a Silvagni contest, I had flashbacks to the occasional brainfade and expected his opponent to have a win. In fact, Silvagni, played a really good game: he defended well and his disposal by foot was heaps better than a recall from him in the past.

couldhavebeen, is Unique Name your alias?

If SCoS gets given enough game this year, I think he will stay and wait for Luke's spot to open up. SCoS is still far and away the heir apparent for that spot; I reckon Ross likes him. It's unfortunate that he is second in line to one of the best, if not the best, KPDs in the league.

I hope that we manage Luke better this year and not rush him back, as we need him firing at the pointy end of the season. That way we give Silvagni the run and build his confidence that he can stand up in AFL and that we value him as a Luke replacement. I dare say that Macca will likely retire next year, particularly if, by some miracle, we win the flag.

He's also up against a return of Ibbo. Even though Ibbo takes a small he's another road block for Alex. I'm sure Alex understands where he sits in the overall scheme of things.

I am more than happy for the club to rotate any tall backs with even minor niggles, giving the Silver Surfer the knowledge that the club sees him as a significant part of its future. When finals comes however, best available.

He did a good job last night, but his height is his downfall at times = not much he can do about it. When he's able to get around that, his speed out of the back line is brilliant.

If SCoS gets given enough game this year, I think he will stay and wait for Luke's spot to open up. SCoS is still far and away the heir apparent for that spot; I reckon Ross likes him. It's unfortunate that he is second in line to one of the best, if not the best, KPDs in the league.

I hope that we manage Luke better this year and not rush him back, as we need him firing at the pointy end of the season. That way we give Silvagni the run and build his confidence that he can stand up in AFL and that we value him as a Luke replacement. I dare say that Macca will likely retire next year, particularly if, by some miracle, we win the flag.

After the bye will a month out for McP. It was only a thigh, so I am confident he will be fresh and right to go. At this stage of his career and at this time of the season, a month off was probably fortuitous for him, and the team, in the long run. ( In a black way of course).

Alex has done a great job in the last 2 weeks (first quarter last week excepted).

It's worth noting that Silvagni was subbed only a couple of minutes after Dawson Simpson was given the red vest. Cats subbed Simpson off to get more run, so we responded by subbing a tall. I agree with Docker82 and slicedndiced re: reasons Zac Dawson not being subbed. Silvagni was stiff to be subbed, but it was the best choice for the team.

It's tough on him, but he will certainly make way for McPharlin.

Spurr played on Duncan last night, there is absolutely no reason why Silvagni couldn't play on a Duncan type. I just don't necessarily think Silvagni has to be dropped automatically when McPharlin comes back, even though I agree that is the most likely outcome

Showed more footy smarts than I believed he possessed last night, with his peeling off his man and kicking to advantage, but will sadly enjoi his time at Peel as depth when McP comes back.

Saying that Dawson being subbed off instead underestimates his leadership in the backline.

Yep, Agreed that Dawson is quite a general in the backline. My perhaps poorly worded argument was that we were covering their forward structure so well that we could of covered subbing Dawson in that particular instance just as easily as subbing Silvangi. It wasn't a slight at Dawson.

exactly what i thought as well.

I didn't follow the WAFL thread TBH :oops:, but I get the impression from his performance that Silvangi wasn't just bidding his time in the WAFL, I really thought he worked on his game and came back better. He deserved to stay in the team.

Also, Soft tissue is tricky, so I think a few more weeks of rest wouldn't do McPharlin harm in the long run.
Better to rest him a little more after the bye to make sure he is 100% near the end of the season where our run into finals gets more intense.

SCOS have proved that he is more than capable to cover for at least a couple more matches.

It's one of the fortunate/unfortunate factors that come with being a top team. You have to have depth; and at the moment we have more depth than at an other time in our history. Griffin is a classic example, good enough to play but Sandi and Clarke are holding down their spots. If you want a game you have to force your way in.
I'm a Silvagni fan but I don't see him being top 22 anywhere soon.

That would be very disappointing if SNOS requested a trade at the end of this year.

FFC might have to adopt Geelong's strategy of asking the old guys to move on so we don't lose the likes of SNOS to another club.

Drop Sutcliffe and play all three of McPh, Silvagni and Daws.

2mbe2Z8.gif

He played very well last night.

That would be very disappointing if SNOS requested a trade at the end of this year.

FFC might have to adopt Geelong's strategy of asking the old guys to move on so we don't lose the likes of SNOS to another club.

You can't keep them all if they are demanding a spot, and to his credit, Silvagni is. The old guys you are talking about are Pav, McP, Sandi,, MJ etc for Silvagni.

That's not very good list management imo.

Very disappointing but understandable I would have thought as he is only offered one year contracts ( on minimum wage most likely). He clearly loves it here, but for his future he would need a 2 year contract to stay again. He has improved his game, dominated WAFL (are you listening Sylvia) and possibly moved up the pecking order. Needs games to maintain his AFL levels and I think RTB will now be more inclined to give him games come any niggles to our big three in the back line.

Seems to be working fine at Geelong.

Not really comparable imo. Geelong agreed to pay cuts to keep players, which is honourable, but with the exception of Chapman, (which I reckon they regret), I can't recall a player who was tapped on the shoulder before his time.

Drop Sutcliffe and play all three of McPh, Silvagni and Daws.

Bless. Ross is not dropping Cam for SCOS.

Sutty and Silvagni do not play the same roles in the backline. Sutty haters should watch him during the game longer than just when he has the ball. He gives us much needed gut running from half back, and the kid runs both ways. His kicking, for the most part is superb. His turnovers are costly because he kicks from such a precarious spot off half back. When his kicks are on, he starts off our slingshot runs through the middle - and he runs so hard to make himself an option at the OTHER end.

Silvagni is more of an enforcer and a lockdown defender, like Dawson. These last two games he's shown he's developed the footy smarts to give us a bit more rebound out of defensive 50 while holding down another tall, but he is undersized for the really big KPF's and so he struggles to make a case for selection over Dawson (Dawson is also a general organising our defense on top of it). Silvagni isn't quick enough to play small, so he can't make case to push out Spurr (although if Spurry can't find form, he may be pressured for his spot).