Oh the irony with this article
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-06-11/giants-seek-friday-night-lights

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 9
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.

whats even more annoying is all the clubs and supporters will call up complaining that Collingwood always get big games etc etc. and this is exactly why because the clubs themselves request it

Warning: I am about to get on my high horse re the Swans gameThe AFL will like this idea. Collingwood will likely push for it too. I reckon it will get up.
No way AFL will drop our Swans fixture. Unlikely to drop the Suns fixture, so a Perth, Adelaide or Melbourne (Away) game looks the most likely.
But the LOLs, don't forget the LOLs. I don't even need a beer when Ess or Carl are playing these days, the LOLs.I'd much rather watch an exciting GWS team on a Friday night over a deplorable Carlton or Essendon.
whats even more annoying is all the clubs and supporters will call up complaining that Collingwood always get big games etc etc. and this is exactly why because the clubs themselves request it
The Giants believe a crosstown derby against the Sydney Swans would maximise interest in the game, although League powerhouse Collingwood could also be involved to help boost TV ratings and crowd attendance.
Missed the bit where they're slagging us off?
Great idea by the way, although I'm a bit biased
I think our club should be all over this. It would help reinforce our "national brand" credentials. And Giants stadium is a fantastic facility, it can easily accommodate our fans.
The inevitable question would be ... At the expense of which game? The Swans game? The Suns game? (We've been cycling between away games with Suns and Giants' each season). A Melbourne (away) game?

Everyone wants to play us, still.
Maybe the AFL should just give us 17 away games, that would fix everything up.![]()
The AFL will like this idea. Collingwood will likely push for it too.
Haha that is true... A bit of a change up wouldn't go astray however.But the LOLs, don't forget the LOLs. I don't even need a beer when Ess or Carl are playing these days, the LOLs.
Our members will miss out on seats? HUH? The Swans average under 30k per home game at the SCG this year, and that's when they are a top side.Warning: I am about to get on my high horse re the Swans game
I had no problems when we played them at Homebush. You were always guaranteed a ticket and it was pretty much a home ground for us.
However, now they have taken it to the SCG, it is very unlikely most Pies fans that want a ticket will be able to get a ticket. Also we are far more unlikely to beat hem at the SCG
Stuff the swans now that they have moved this game. This game should now alternate between Sydney and Melbourne (and I live in Syd).
Rant over!!
to be fair, shouldn't we play Swans in Melb only for the next however many years to offset all the games we've played up there?Warning: I am about to get on my high horse re the Swans game
I had no problems when we played them at Homebush. You were always guaranteed a ticket and it was pretty much a home ground for us.
However, now they have taken it to the SCG, it is very unlikely most Pies fans that want a ticket will be able to get a ticket. Also we are far more unlikely to beat hem at the SCG
Stuff the swans now that they have moved this game. This game should now alternate between Sydney and Melbourne (and I live in Syd).
Rant over!!
Didn't we average 65,000 at hombush for this annual game. That also takes into account Sydney supporeters that refuse to travel to Homebush.Our members will miss out on seats? HUH? The Swans average under 30k per home game at the SCG this year, and that's when they are a top side.
Now that the SCG holds close to 50k it's by far the best place to play AFL. It's an AFL ground for the whole winter, unlike that cesspool, shifting, ugly arse place out at Homebush.
The only disadvantage to Collingwood from moving this one game per year from Homebush to the SCG is the winning rate.
Didn't we average 65,000 at hombush for this annual game. That also takes into account Sydney supporeters that refuse to travel to Homebush.
The swans are a massive bandwagon club and believe me, all those bandwagon swans supporters will want to go to the SCG to see " their side" beat those "toothless unemployed bogans" from Collingwood.
I know a lot of Melbourne pies supporters used to make this their 1 trip to Sydney but it will be very hard to get tickets to the SCG, even if they are Collingwood members.
I agree the SCG is a far better ground to watch and play footy.