Grendel

I have been getting very little sleep lately. 2 or 3 hours every other night for the last couple of weeks or so. I am normally a very bad sleeper but even for me this has been a new low. I have even been dreaming when I have slept, again something new as I rarely dream (or rarely remember dreams anyway).

Does anyone else go through or have a bad sleep pattern? I know that a few of the regular posters on here (Darky for one) have trouble with sleep. Yet I still get so tired but the damn point of switching over and switching off just does not arrive.

I really envy those people who can, as soon as they put their heads down on the pillow be in a deep sound sleep. My normal routine is go to bed, lie there for three hours and then maybe if lucky, fall asleep for four/five hours and that's it.

So is it (sleep) easy for you? Do you sleep the sleep of the just or do dreams and nightmares invade and disturb you during your rest? Can you fall asleep at the drop of a hat or is the ceiling above a familiar sight to you after long hours spent staring at it every night trying to get to sleep? Is there a recipe or hot drink you take that helps you get to sleep? Sleeping pills?

I'm so damn tired.

I normally sleep pretty well - unless of course I am extrememly busy, stressed, or have spent too much time on the computer. So that I suppose relegates me to a decent sleep about once or twice a week if lucky. Even tho I get up to 8 hours sleep a night - very rarely is it quality sleep - and I can easily wake up feeling worse than I did before I went to bed.

The Computer is the biggest problem. Spending too much time flicking thru information, hours on end normally, kicks up the beta brain waves. They are the 'awake' brain waves and get waaayyy too many of them you get agitated and things seem to just keep going round and round in your head and you can't sleep.

I also have one of those shocking sleep patterns where I get my best sleep in the 4am - 7am bracket, compared to those with decent patterns that get it much earlier. If I awake too early, I feel that I really need to go back to sleep. Then when I wake up again, I feel like crap.

Ahhh looking forward to a good long holiday this year where I can sleep what ever hours I want for as long or as little as I want and not worry about feeling like crap during the day.

Qns to ask yourself Gren

1) Is there anything troubling you at the moment? Are you worrying or stressing over things?

2) How is your general health?

As I've gotten older, my sleep patterns have become more disrupted, I can fall asleep easily, but wake continuously. Quite often I cant sleep around the full moon (wierd I know!), or it can be linked to hormone cycles.

Suggestions for you are if either of the about questions give you concerns, sort them out. Apart from that, exercise at night is often recommended (NO not that sort) , look at your diet or I've heard a few drops of lavender oil on your pillow can help.

You're dreaming? That indicates you aren't getting deep sleep, and are in a constant state of REM. REM is the shorter, less intense sleep where you dream. NREM is deep sleep, where you don't dream. At the start of your sleep, NREM is dominant and there are short REM cycles. However, as the sleep progresses, REM cycles become longer and NREM shorter. When you awake during an REM sleep cycle, you can remember your dream.

Unfortunately, the fact you are remembering your dreams indicate you are getting less sleep, and also less deep sleep.

Seen a doc Uncie Gren?

The Hitman

P.S. Hey! I did learn something in year 12 Psychology! ;)

I have really bad sleep problems and find the earlier i have to get up in the morning, or the bigger my day the next day, the harder i find it to sleep and lie awake easily before 2am. However on a Friday, i can get home @ 7pm, fall asleep in front of the TV and not wake til 10am on the Saturday morning, its the best nights sleep i ever have but it doesnt happen often.

I've been told that i must not watch TV in bed, sit in bed listening to music, or read in bed, because bed has to be associated with sleep only (and sex of course) and that will make it easier to fall asleep as soon as your head hits the pillow, like so many lucky buggers can do!!!!

I very rarely have any trouble sleeping, especially if I have nothing to stress about. Doesn't really matter if I have 3 or 13 hours, I can usually keep going.

I find being happy is a good sedative. Lately I've slept like a baby. :)

Gren, in answer to your question.

Pre-kids, slept like a log.

Post kids, sleep, what's sleep?

I know exactly what you mean about not being able to switch off. The minds going a mile a minute, you know you want to go to sleep but you just can't stop thinking about things.

Added to that in the last two weeks if I do manage to sleep I end up awake at 2am with a belly full of fire. and it's not from a chilli or too much bourbon!

I can't get to sleep until it's around 2 - 3am. It's been happening for a while now. :(

Well Grendel buddy I hate to tell you but I am one of those people that can sleep at any time anywhere.
Its a bit of a pain really cause if I stay in active for too long I will just nod off.
Its no good in lectures.
That said I can get by sleeping only 6 hours a day no problems but my problem is if I dont set the alarm I will sleep 10 hours plus no problems.

Eight hours a night, no problem.

I've been known to survive well on just three or four hours sleep, if need be...

Jen gives me good reason to, on those occasions. :D :p :D

Mandy's right, however-- being in a state of joy and mirth certainly helps. You feel good about yourself, you can sleep easier.

Cheers,
William

I can fall asleep anywhere, anytime. As soon as I decide I want to sleep, I can do it. Right now, if I put my head down on this desk, I would fall asleep in a second. May sound good but it's kind of annoying. At school if we're just sitting or lying around, I can fall asleep without knowing it!

If im not training or havnt been out, I struggle with the old zzz's. well, getting to sleep is a problem, but once Im there, I never wake up!

But when im training - I go out like a light straight away.

Tonight I did an hour and a half at the boxing gym, and i will be uncounsious by 10 guaranteed.

I have boxes of sleeping pills (can get them off the shelf in the US) which get me pretty drousy if I take double the dosage.

So, Id say do exercise in the arvo/evening if possible. If your stressed, gets your mind off stuff too I guess. Not that Im every stressed - people always tell me im a very relaxed person.

Taken this year off footy, but usually slept well after training/matches as well.

I sometimes have trouble getting to sleep but I'm usually fine then. During the week, I get about 8 hours sleep a night and a lot of the time I still feel tired!

Gren I struggle a bit, but not nearly as much as I used to. I found that ignoring the clock & waking up saying to myself righto that's all your getting & just getting on with it helped a lot. I used to watch the clock a bit & wake up thinking "4 hours isn't enough etc" Now I have no idea how long I sleep & feel better for it to be honest.

There is nothing worse than waking up tired. I went through a period where despite getting close to 8 hours of sleep a night I was waking up absolutely knackered. I went to a sleep specialist and eventually the sleep clinic at St Vinnie's. It turned out that I was waking up about 200 times a night and not getting a good night's sleep. Interestingly when I got a better job and was more relaxed in my private life, my sleep pattern got better.

My advice mate would be to go to a doctor. 2 to 3 hours every other night is simply not enough. (Although given the Hawks' season I can see why your losing sleep;) )

Normally I don't have too much trouble sleeping, though I feel for people who do since I've had trouble sleeping in the past and there's nothing worse than day after day feeling tired but then when you want to sleep, you can't.

I work flexible hours but my sleeping pattern remains the same, I only really get tired around midnight which is good when I don't have to get up till after 10am but not so good when I have to get up at 5:30am.

I have very strange, usually bad, sleeping patterns. No matter how tired I am I won't fall asleep straight away unless I go to bed well after midnight. I have occasional fragmented dreams which I often think are real because they have something to do with something in my life and I end up having deja vu - didn't I already do this exact thing? I wake up on the dot between 6 and 7am every morning, usually after waking up once or twice between 2 and 4am. The best night's sleep I get now is usually on Mondays after netball and Tuesdays after tai chi.

Well, five hours tonight and its 4:50am again...

Tried not getting on the net but the boredom and randomness of thoughts just got to me.

Seen a Doctor (and Head Doctors *not that kind of head Darky* too). Been prescribed pills before, work short term but then they normally wear off.

Think it probably is just outside troubles intruding. Ah well, thanks for the kind thoughts people, appreciated. As for you lucky ******'s that are asleep... enjoy it while it lasts. ;)

Im a shocker of a sleeper. I work afternoons and nights so i rarely get to sleep before the sun comes up. Sometimes when im bored i find things to do until the sun comes up so then i feel normal cos thats when i usually go to bed.

I find it very hard to actually get to sleep too...i can lay awake for hours just lying there...waiting for sleep. But when i finally fall asleep i can honestly sleep for up to 15 hours without trouble...i wont wake up much either.

But i dream constantly. Not a night goes by that i dont dream and i remember them all which suggests that im a light sleeper according to the hitter??

Sleeping sucks anyways...its a waste of time.