Sleep?

• Thread starter Thread starter Grendel

I always have trouble sleeping. I wake up at least 4 or 5 times a night. I am a very light sleeper too, the least little noise will wake me. But waking up during the night is not all bad. Just wake your partner up to 'help' you go back to sleep again. Works for me.

I used to sleep like a log for about 9 hours per night, but since I decided to go back to study my sleep has disintegrated. I always feel tired and aparently I always look tired. I also don't get enough deep sleep which is one of the major problems. I used to be able to sleep through anything, but now I wake up if a fly farts in the room.

I tell ya if I don't get some decent sleep soon, someone better keep me away from a rifle and the uni watchtower.

have had sleeping problems before but seem to have gotten over them now and really haven't had any for some time. Before I go into my theories here were a few things I noticed about my sleeping habits years ago...

- I used to have the most difficulties getting to sleep when I knew I had to be up early the next morning and wasn't going to get much sleep, normally ended up having between 1-4 hours sleep a night.

- I used to almost always be able to fall asleep when I didn't mean to. IE. I would get home after work at about 5pm and I would just lay down on my bed still in my work clothes, lay there day dreaming for a bit and before I knew it I was out and would sleep for 1-3 hours sometimes missing Dinner.

To summarize I figured I slept worst when I knew I needed it and best when I knew I didn't.

I then started to try not to put pressure on myself when trying to goto sleep. If at night I thought I was having trouble getting to sleep I would just continue to lay there with my eyes closed and think "not to worry, I will fall asleep eventually, I can' t lay here forever and not fall alseep". I would then also think "and hey I if I don't get enough I will just have a powernap when I get home tomorrow afternoon"

This has helped me considerabably as I no longer put myself under pressure to sleep, and knowing I can just grab a little powernap the next day helps ease the pressure.

I have also heard another sleep expert give their theories too about sleeping and they said something along the lines of the following:

First make you bed only for sleeping! Don't do anything else in your bed, no watching TV in bed, no eating in bed, no reading in bed etc (don't know about sex in bed ;)). This way your body gets trained that this is where your body goes to sleep.

Getting to sleep is like surfing. Tiredness comes in waves and to get to sleep you should try and 'catch' one of these waves. When you feel a wave coming on goto bed and try to fall asleep. If you can't sleep after about 30 mins and you feel more awake you have missed the wave. Don't continue laying there and get back up out of bed and go and do something else like watch TV, read (but nothing which could stimulate the brain too much). When you feel the next wave coming on try to goto sleep again. Continue trying this until you learn to catch the waves of sleep.

I must say I have never needed to try and catch the sleep waves but it might help you.

Cheers
SKC

Originally posted by kaysee
Getting to sleep is like surfing. Tiredness comes in waves and to get to sleep you should try and 'catch' one of these waves. When you feel a wave coming on goto bed and try to fall asleep. If you can't sleep after about 30 mins and you feel more awake you have missed the wave. Don't continue laying there and get back up out of bed and go and do something else like watch TV, read (but nothing which could stimulate the brain too much). When you feel the next wave coming on try to goto sleep again. Continue trying this until you learn to catch the waves of sleep.

I must say I have never needed to try and catch the sleep waves but it might help you.

Cheers
SKC

I can really relate to what you're saying - sleepiness certainly comes and goes. If you're trying to get to sleep when you're not feeling sleepy it's just bloody frustrating.

I used to have problems sleeping, I still do (sometimes) but I just don't let it worry me too much. That's the key - don't stress about it. If you can't sleep, use the time to do something enjoyable like reading a good book (maybe one that you've read before) or listening to music. Exercise is another good thing, I find that if I'm physically tired I sleep better.

The bottom line though, is that it doesn't matter too much about not having enough sleep, your body will take it when it really needs it. If you've ever had jet-lag you'll know what I'm talking about.

Regards

Dr. Snooze
ZZZZZzzzz

Originally posted by The Hitman
You're dreaming? That indicates you aren't getting deep sleep, and are in a constant state of REM. REM is the shorter, less intense sleep where you dream. NREM is deep sleep, where you don't dream. At the start of your sleep, NREM is dominant and there are short REM cycles. However, as the sleep progresses, REM cycles become longer and NREM shorter. When you awake during an REM sleep cycle, you can remember your dream.

Unfortunately, the fact you are remembering your dreams indicate you are getting less sleep, and also less deep sleep.

Seen a doc Uncie Gren?

The Hitman

P.S. Hey! I did learn something in year 12 Psychology! ;)

Sounds like a trip to Adelaide????

Originally posted by kaysee

Cheers
SKC

oooh don't talk to me about that...

after a day out in the surf at Torquay when i get home to sleep i still feel like i am riding the waves and get so dizzy worse than when stoned!

The way I sleep changes all the time. When I was working in Sydney, I was getting 5-6 hours sleep a night, and it used to take me AGES to get to sleep.

Now I do go to sleep around 10-30 to 11-00 and get around 8-9 hours sleep, but I am still very tired all the time and can never catch up.

I generally never get to sleep straight away either, but I think the reason for that is ....

I have an overactive imagination/mind. If I am sitting there in silence, my mind goes crazy and just thinks up anything. I will then try and ignore it, it goes for a few seconds, then my mind works it way back in.

I find it impossible to get to sleep when my mind is workign overtime, and that is my main problem.

With the time you sleep I think sometimes it has a lot to do with your sleeping patterns.

If you try and get into a pattern of going to bed at a certain time every night, then you might find that your patterns will change, you will be more relaxed and get more sleep, just a thought.

I also have the problem, again with my overactive imagination/mind that once I am awake in the mornings, that is it, no more sleep. My mind is fresh for the day and goes mad, so once I am awake that is it.
The big problem with this, is that I very rarely (i mean VERY rarely) sleep in at all, so once I am awake there is no going back, and I cant catch up on that much needed sleep.

I once went to sleep at 6am, got up at 8-30 caught a train and played a game of footy on 2 1/2 hours sleep. I didnt go to bad either :D ;)

I can identify with a lot of the solutions and explanations on here and have learnt quite a lot from the read. I don't have huge sleep disruptions, but am familiar with waking up tired, missing the sleep waves and having far too many vivid dreams!

I used to have lots of trouble falling asleep in a Sunday night as I was mentally gearing up for the week. My mum has recommended the herbal remedy, Valerian, which is something that has helped ever since. I'd recommend keeping some in the medicine kit for sure. Sometimes I go through stages where I need it a few nights in a row and then not for ages.

I do love my sleep though and even though it feels sinful to have a big sleep in on the weekend, it's always great!

This happens to me sometimes...it's generally when I think too much. I'll just lie there for hours, thinking, and then I'll panic I'm not getting enough sleep and therefore subconsciously focus on falling asleep. Hence, I don't fall asleep and it annoys the absolute hell out of me.

During the school term, I generally go to bed around 11ish but won't fall asleep (coz I'm thinking! :mad: ) til between 12 and 12:30. I am normally awake at about 7:15 and get up at 7:30. I'm not a deep sleeper either, so I'm tired most of the time. On the weekends, I find it very easy to sleep in, if I have the time then I'll sleep til about 10-11am, despite the fact my body clock wakes up at 7:15 every weekend! This doesn't stuff up my sleeping that night, it's only if I do it over two weeks (ie holidays) that it does. This is when it really annoys me - if I have to get up early in the holz or first day back at school, I can't because my body isn't used to it. After about a week of sleeping in, I'll stop waking up at my normal time of 7 and coz I'm asleep til 10, I only need 7 hours or so, so I fall asleep at 3am...this generally continues for the first couple of days of school, and I go to school on four hours sleep. To solve this problem, I've taken to taking a couple of night Codral on the last night of the holz and first night of school. Knocks me out cold and this helps get my sleep back in order. I really shouldn't do that hey :D A hint: cut back on caffeine (I never thought it affected me until I stopped drinking so much of it!) and don't have the electric blanket on too hot, coz this was affecting me coz I kept getting overheated. I find if I can't fall asleep I turn it right off and soon fall asleep.

Oddly enough I can do an all nighter and not feel it, but no matter how much sleep I get at night I will still be tired the next day. :(

oh here are a few other notes I have heard relating to sleeping:

(not sure on exact ages)
Children require about 8-10 hours sleep per night.
Adults require 6-8 hours sleep per night (although I heard recently that tests now support only 6 hours per night).
Edlerly 4-6 hours sleep per night (might explain why grandparents are always up at the crack of dawn :) ).

Also there are apparently 2 types of Tiredness: Mental and Physical.
If you are both Mentally tired and Physically tired you apparently have a deeper and better sleep.

If you have had 2-3 days of mentally straining work rather at work or with studies etc and sleeping has been bad. Do some physically draining exercise like go for a 2 hour hike or walk, a long bike ride etc now being both Mentally and Physically tired you should apparently sleep better.

Cheers
SKC

Originally posted by Hank Jones

I tell ya if I don't get some decent sleep soon, someone better keep me away from a rifle and the uni watchtower.

Spoken like a young Charles Whitman - shoot to kill!;)

Originally posted by jod23
Sleeping sucks anyways...its a waste of time.

I used to think that. I was getting 1-2 hours most nights last year and woke up feeling just as good as I would after 8. But, I think Im starting to feel the effects now. Any overly strenuous exercise really gets to me and I start feeling sick or pretty dizzy. Don't know if it's from the lack of sleep or what, but I can't really think of many other reasons.

Normally, I have no trouble getting to sleep, but once I'm sleeping the slightest noise will wake me up. I have more of a problem bringing myself to go to bed. I try to aim for 7-8hrs per night but end up sitting on the net or watching telly and get about 4. Wake up dead tired in the morning so I'm trying to change that.

Thanks for the input Kaysee, my shrink (yes I have one) has suggested a similar thing re the 'waves'. He called in 'natural sleep' i.e when you feel tired let the body go with it. Trouble is it doesnt work for me! :(

Same too for physical labour (sex as well TigerCraig.. more so now I am sleeping alone). The body might be rooted (or not mores the pity) yet that kick over to dreamland remains ever elusive.

However reading some of the replies has shown me to hardly be Robinson Crusoe in sleep disorder anyway, which is somehow comforting. That 'elderly need less sleep' part I think I am starting to fit into as well. Elderly at 37, by the time I am 50 I will be sleeping for two hours once a week! :(

does anyone know whether the times u eat have anything to do with it?

Lately i am getting mighty annoyed (and so is Darky when i have begged for him to get up and make me noodles at midnite) Keep getting bl00dy starving like i have a worm in my belly or something from like 11 oclock onwards :mad: so i'll make maggi noodles, grapefruit juice, toast, milo etc then go to bed feeling very very fat then in the mornin can't eat a thing till about 3 oclock well arvo at this stage!

Originally posted by TheMase

[snip]

I once went to sleep at 6am, got up at 8-30 caught a train and played a game of footy on 2 1/2 hours sleep. I didnt go to bad either :D ;)

About the best i have ever done was once I had to get up at 6am the next morning (due to a mates buck show that went almost all night). I stressed half the night and goto sleep at about 4am. I had 2 hours sleep got up and left with friends to go play Paintball about 3 hours away in the country.

Played Paintball from about 11am till 3pm then travlled back to the city quickly getting changed on the way. The BUCK had a few strippers at his work for him before I left the group to go watch a Port game at Footy Park at 7pm. I went back from the footy to the city and meet up with them at a strip club at about 11pm. Then stayed there and visited a few other pubs etc until about 4am then went home to bed.

I couldn't believe how well i lasted after only 2 hours sleep the night before.

SKC

Originally posted by Squeak
A sure fire way to go to sleep is to watch TV in bed, and roll over onto your side in the first ad break. Always works.

Funny you should mention that, Squeak.

During my existence as a single man-- during my engagement to Jen when I was back in America, alone, working my butt off to finance the wedding-- I used to fall alseep on the couch back home very easily. Whenever Jen would call, and had to leave a message on the machine, she presumed I was out like a light on the couch, with the TV on. Oftentimes, she was right. :D

Nowadays, unless I've had a long day, like today, I'll fall asleep on the couch in the early evening. With my wife's blessing, of course. ;)

Cheers,
William