Small Forward

One of the toughest positions to draft... you get this wrong and you could have wasted a high pick on someone who has no real 'trade value'.

At least with talls they never get any smaller!!! Even if talent doesn't turn them into stars, they can still play a role in the ruck or re-invent themselves as defenders.. But to get a real good small forward, who reads the play, has silky skills and knows where the goals are; is a challenge.

Maric was a very talented young footballer, just not right mentally and he turned into a waste for us... but i feel when we recruited him, he was probably the best option at the time. I feel that he will be okay at the tigers, just never suited Dean Baileys (in one week, out the next) style.

I'd kill for Aussie circa 2008 right now.

So would I mate. Would be deliriously happy if there was a way to bring that about. Obviously the whole situation with Aussie became more and more difficult, especially last year, but if he was still here and was performing at that level, the difference it'd make to us right now would be immense.

BTW, he's playing with NT Thunder right now, to answer the question about what he's up to at the moment. Prior to that he was with the Tiwi Bombers, and was a major factor in them winning their first Premiership this year.

From the reports I've seen, it looks like he's going pretty well - hard to find anything in the way of specific stats though.

first off, why don't we try Bennell as the small crumbing forward? He's quick and does have some skill with a decent goal sense. That way, he'd be out of harms way in turning the ball over in the backline, and given he only provides cameos, would suit the position of a small forward (most don't win you games of footy). Then there's also Kel Lawrence, why not give him a go as the pocket specialist (when he earns a call up).

If looking to the draft, maybe target Kennedy from SA. He's bloody quick, great goal awareness and has good disposal. Hopefully his height will put many teams off him. Might be there-abouts come our second round pick. Hopefully a few more kids come on and push him down the order. He could become everything that Maric was meant to be.

I Agree with you mate, Bennell or even Jetta when fit. I think Bennell kicked a couple of nice goals from the boundry last year. One particular against the Bulldogs. I reckon he is fast, smart and confident and has a natural defensive side ... consistantsy that's another thing.

In the interim, I hope Neeld and Co persist with with Blease. After speaking with the Dees Mananger of Communication recently i learnt that he was on the trade touble last year. I would feel a little disappointed for him if he doesn't get another shot this week .. even as a sub. Watching him during the State under 18 competetion was amazing ...suprised he wasen't drafted as a top 10.

Really? He was on the trade table? And the Dees Manager of Communication told you this privileged club info why? I'm not sure Jennifer Watt should be leaking this..

I went to the Carlton & Richmond match last week with a friend who works for News Limited and was introduce to him. Jennifer mite want to see which staff members were at the game that night ;) How productive Melbourne were to trade Blease & in what form I don't know. but I do know Neeld has liked his Preseason performance and I'm a big fan! Keep in mind I think a few players were thrown up in trade week and Melbourne didn't hide the fact they were going to be very active during trade week.