Spaanderman

He'll play when he's ready.

He didn't do much of a pre-season, overcoming a shoulder reco, and only last week started to show any semblance of confidence and form.

Why crucify the kid in the seniors when he's only just starting to show some positive signs?

His athletic attributes are good and once he finds touch with his marking and body work, he'll be a fine player.

that maybe so ripper and a star he may turn out to be but as a first round draft pick he should be ready for senior footy,this boy from what we hear simply isnt even close so why take him so high in the draft ?? i am sure we turned up our nose at many others who are now playing senior footy say davey at melbourne.
sure we needed a tall forward but this boy sounds too green to be taken in the top 20.

For those people who think that Spaanderman was the wrong option to go for in the draft, what other players would have been a better option to take who we passed up on?

I think people are letting the current injury situation cloud their judgement of one particular player, far too much.

Originally posted by Stocka
For those people who think that Spaanderman was the wrong option to go for in the draft, what other players would have been a better option to take who we passed up on?

I think people are letting the current injury situation cloud their judgement of one particular player, far too much.
Brent Hall pick 35 Collingwood 198cms 95kgs South Fremantle
Kid used to travel 3 hours every morning to the games and still was dominant. If he develops on the path that he should, he will be an amazing athletic KPP/ruckman type.

Originally posted by dasler
Kid used to travel 3 hours every morning to the games and still was dominant.

How many AFL games has he played this year?

The argument seems to be that Spaanderman was not worth a first round pick due to the fact that he might not be quite ready for AFL football.

I'd be interested to see how many other draftees taken after Spaanderman have played this season, and made an impression so far.

If he develops on the path that he should, he will be an amazing athletic KPP/ruckman type.

He doesn't sound much different to Spaanderman, then, does he?

good onya stocka.... totally agree....
i love Llane & he played really well today... give the kid a break hes only played a handful of games after the shoulder injury and then the foot injury......

when hes ready he will play..... imsure though that if Leigh had of chosen him today that he would have done alright.....

Dylan was sooo good today considering i thought he needed a lil bit longer for the knee......

hey im not saying dont draft the boy what i am saying is not as a first round pick that is unless he is something very special.sure pick him up later.most clubs first round pick should be able to play in their first season now llane wont and maybe not next season either,believe me i hope he does! but with the list as crippled as it is now and still not in contention it does not boad well for his short term future.

Originally posted by irish
hey im not saying dont draft the boy what i am saying is not as a first round pick that is unless he is something very special.sure pick him up later.most clubs first round pick should be able to play in their first season now llane wont and maybe not next season either,believe me i hope he does! but with the list as crippled as it is now and still not in contention it does not boad well for his short term future.

Exactly right. That's what we've been getting at.

Originally posted by irish

I think it is a bit different if our first pick was number 10 or so, but we did not get a pick until 18.

I have had a look at the draft from last year. Who would you haved picked?? There are only a few taken later that have played any significant games (Sansbury, Dyson, Deluca and Ball (hawks))

Apart from Aaron Davey (give him the rising star award now) who all 16 teams dod not think was up to it, I am happy to say it was Llane.

Exactly, Dreams of Four.

Certainly, of those draftees chosen after Spaanderman, only a handful have been played in the AFL, and even so, I doubt many of them would be getting a run with the Lions at this stage anyway.

How long did it take for Headland to come good - 4 years. A #1 draft pick.

That's right, 4 years before he thoroughly deserved his senior spot.

Be patient folks.

Going back through the posts l have found no one promoting Spaanderman above anyone else for a regular berth in the team. What the contention was that in these desperate times when injuries and suspensions have taken their toll on our team, especially to KPP and players with height, Spanderman could/should have been used to assist wherever needed in ONE -OFF game vs Melbourne. Especially as we have subsequently learn that Leppitsch was also in doubt for this game.
As a first round draft pick greater confidence in his and recruiters abilities should have been shown by selecting him.

Just out of curiosity how did he perform in the Suncoast game this weekend?

Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Headland still isn't good. He is overrated and as soon as he left us, he hasn't done anything with Fremantle because he doesn't have the fab 4 feeding the ball to him.

In our structure he was good. I don't care about his overweight and injury affected form at Freo. I wouldn't be surprised if he never reaches the lofty heights again that he attained at the Lions.

In fact I reckon that could be said about a fair bit of our list - take them out of our structure and they'd struggle. That's been the key to our success, the strength of the team structure. The Saints call it the 'process' in that managerial mumbo jumbo.

Originally posted by NathanD
In our structure he was good. I don't care about his overweight and injury affected form at Freo. I wouldn't be surprised if he never reaches the lofty heights again that he attained at the Lions.

Should be: I HOPE he never reaches the lofty heights ...!;)

Llane carried on from where he left off the previous week. A very good game. Dominated the ruck, marked almost everything that came his way, ran around with plenty of energy and athleticism.

Opposition was woeful, but he did what he did and did it well.

I still say we're better off using mature-bodied 6 ft 2ers as pinch-hit rucks rather than a skinny kid who's only just starting to find his feet at AFLQ level.

He's shown in the past game and a half that he can play. I reckon, in time, he'll show he's been well worth his first round rating. Certainly has all the physical attributes. Jury's still out on temperament, though.

Kid used to travel 3 hours every morning to the games and still was dominant. If he develops on the path that he should, he will be an amazing athletic KPP/ruckman type.

I think Hall is playing at the reserves at Williamstown.

Of the other talls taken before Llane

- Murphy (Freo) hasn't played a senior game

- Chaplin (Port) may have played one senior game/or maybe has just been an emergency

- Morrison (Pies) hasn't played a senior game, and is only just making the seniors at Williamstown

- Watts (Crows) hasn't played a senior game

While all of these players might have great AFL careers, the point is they take time.

No point arguing half way through a players first year if the pick was right ot not.

Particularly if he is a 17 year old, key position/ruckman, coming off a shoulder reco, with no pre season.

Judge the pick in 4 years time. Not now.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
I still say we're better off using mature-bodied 6 ft 2ers as pinch-hit rucks rather than a skinny kid who's only just starting to find his feet at AFLQ level.

Skinny kid? I think he's close to 100kg. Watching him in the ressies he looked far from skinny. He looked almost imposing.

You were right in that he played very well and I was impressed at the amount of ground he covered considering his size.

Considering that he had a very interrupted preseason because of his shoulder problems and that this was only his third of fourth game he will only get better. All that really needs improving is fitness and disposal.

This one could well be one right out of the box!!

amortiser

we just dont know if hes knows hes not skinny......

until like 2 weeks ago he was playing like he was a skinny kid (not knowing what the sheer size of his body could do to his opponent.....)

i was so excited about how he played on sunday though.... i knew it was coming & i thought he did well.....took some really good strong marks.....

Jury's still out on temperament, though.
SWEAR JAR!

Two steps forward, one step back. Llane had a much tougher assignment tonight v big Jason Smith of Southport. Lowered his colours both in the hitouts and around the ground. Did a bit better when sent up forward for most of the second half. Took a couple of grabs and dobbed a goal or two.

Spaanderman