Spring Racing Carnival

PieLebo87

Hall of Famer
Veteran A Star Wars Fan 10k Posts Cake Connoisseur
Sep 14, 2005
Was working security at the entrance of the Birdcage at Derby yesterday.
Sooooooooo many celebs! My God Jennifer Hawkins is better in real life!
Anyway, to the point.
I see Dale Thomas, then Paul Licuria, then Ben Johnson and I think to myself, what the hell! Aren't they meant to be in Arizona! Hmmmm, Johno told me that they're going on Monday, tomorrow.

Spoke to Dale Thomas, Heath Shaw and Toovs on the way out. Very nice guys.

But Didak, my favourite player, since he was drafted, is an absolute prick!
"DIDS! DIDS!" And he just looks at me then turns and continues talking to Shane O'Bree. Very rude.

Scott Burns and Michael Christian was also there. Anyone see anyone else from Collingwood?

You can't expect every celebrity (footballers included) to stop and say hi. Most seem like pricks because they have put up with it their whole career I guess. Maybe you interrupted him, I dunno.

Just don't expect too much all the time I guess.

But Didak, my favourite player, since he was drafted, is an absolute prick!
"DIDS! DIDS!" And he just looks at me then turns and continues talking to Shane O'Bree. Very rude.

I would have thought it was rude of you to interupt him when he was in a conversation with Wakelin. Why must Didak stop what he is doing to talk to you, just because you want him too. To call someone a prick because they don't do what you would like them to do is just a bit selfish IMO.

you mean o'bree, but still true. He could have atleast winked or something.

From my time around the club

Nicest - Licuria (without a doubt)
The prick - Josh Fraser

Based purely on the 3 or 4 training sessions I went to in 2002.

From my time around the club

Nicest - Licuria (without a doubt)
The prick - Josh Fraser

Based purely on the 3 or 4 training sessions I went to in 2002.

Wtf? Joshy? I've met him and he was like the nicest guy ever, so polite. Was during 2003 season, finished nearly every sentence with 'thanks'. Surely you met his evil twin or something.

People judge players based on their experience with them which is totally natural, i have met Didak and Josh on a few occasions and both where really nice, Dane Swan is by far the best player i have ever met, i saw him at their 2004 after party at Frost Bites and he got me into their VIP area and i partied with the club that night till 7am the next morning, met everyone, Bucks, rocca, licca, wowy, heath shaw, tarks...all great blokes....the clokes are all trouble makers though. my brother in law sees them at local events where he lives and they are always stiring the pot so to speak..

Dane Swan is by far the best player i have ever met, i saw him at their 2004 after party at Frost Bites and he got me into their VIP area

That'd have been a memory to cherish! Well Dean Solloman was nice enough to have a chat with me on Saturday, because he was so nice, I got him into the VIP area which he wasnt allowed in. So it goes both ways. As for the person who said it was rude for me to interrupt Dids. Im not an idiot, I know when Im being intrusive or not, and I wouldnt want to risk my job by doing it. I know I wasnt interupting Dids. He just chose to ignore me, and I found that disrespectful. Forget he is a footballer. When someone does that to another person, it is plain rude and disrespectful. I actually simply wanted to wish him all the best with his recovery. Thats rude?

It really **********s me when people call celebs rude , pricks etc because they don't give them the time of day. I used to play footy with a minor soap star and the amount of people who wanted to chat to this bloke when all he wanted to do was have a quiet beer with his mates at the pub was mindblowing . This guy was not even a big name . He was a top bloke but I have no doubt some people would have thought he was rude because most times he gave them nothing. IF 50 people a day called out my name I'd probably ignore most of them to. Before you criticise put yourselves in their shoes.

I was talking to Trav Cloke Cam Cloke Yakka and Dane Swan at Metro :D yakka tried 2 pick up 1 of my friends, boy did he get bard lol (friend in being a girl) lol

Thought this might be a tips thread. Any genuine tips for Cup Day tomorrow?

Being a Strathmore person Wizza, I trust you got on Creekside in the last!

Think the whole club plunged on it in the last, came in 10 points in the last minute before the race.

The Mores can't lose!

It really **********s me when people call celebs rude , pricks etc because they don't give them the time of day. I used to play footy with a minor soap star and the amount of people who wanted to chat to this bloke when all he wanted to do was have a quiet beer with his mates at the pub was mindblowing . This guy was not even a big name . He was a top bloke but I have no doubt some people would have thought he was rude because most times he gave them nothing. IF 50 people a day called out my name I'd probably ignore most of them to. Before you criticise put yourselves in their shoes.

SOoooooo Alan Didak didnt expect anyone to speak to him at the Derby Cup for the Spring Carnival?
Mate I didnt go to his ********ing house and tried talking to him.

SOoooooo Alan Didak didnt expect anyone to speak to him at the Derby Cup for the Spring Carnival?
Mate I didnt go to his ********ing house and tried talking to him.

Derby day or not Derby day. Totally irrelivant.

My point is that this guy(like others) would get people yelling out his name, people hanging crap on him and people just wanting to chat to him day in day out. Out of the thousands of people who have tried to chat to him over the years just because he is an AFL footballer, there will be some he just ignores. It is human nature. Can you tell me you are nice to everyone single person you meet. If you are then you are a far better person than I and 99% of the community. And in fairness he would get 99% more people trying to talk to him that would bother to talk to us, so you really wouldn't know what its like. I would suspect it would be one of the most annoying things about being a footballer.

You just need to read the previous posts to understand this. Some are saying josh Fraser is a rude prick while others are saying he is one of the nicest guys they have meet. People have bad moments and bad days.

Maybe he was walking through and thought,I new I'd probably have to speak to a few punters today but I didn't expect to be bailed up by the bloke working at the gate.

Just cause he gives you nothing does not make him a prick(he may well be, I don't know him so wouldn't know). I know him being your fav player and all it probably hurt your feelings but remember these guys are humans and no one is perfect.

all i know is micheal klim is a dog

i had to the gall to try and shake his hand and say hello to him a few years ago at heat nightclub

id like to put my fist in his bald head one day

Just cause he gives you nothing does not make him a prick(he may well be, I don't know him so wouldn't know). I know him being your fav player and all it probably hurt your feelings but remember these guys are humans and no one is perfect.

Thats why I keep repeating that it was just rude. Hes not any more special because he plays football, it was still rude, bad day or not.

But Didak, my favourite player, since he was drafted, is an absolute prick

Above is what you said about Didak. He may have been rude to you but we can all be rude at times. It almost impossible to be nice all the time. Just because he was rude to you on one occassion does not make him a prick.

He is clearly special in your mind because even though you do not know him you yelled out "DIDS DIDS" . If these guys do think they are more special than the average joe who can blame them? Everywhere they go they have get attention , as you have proved on this thread. Don't get me wrong , I think its important for these guys to stay level but who knows what you would be like if you get the attention these guys get.

As I have said he could well be a prick, I have no idea what he is like. But I certainly wouldn't be getting your knickers in a knot because he did not give you the time of day. Everyone has their moments

Spring Racing Carnival