Recommitted Stephen Coniglio [UFA 2026] - name was floated for a move in 2025, stayed

HBFlanker

Jul 23, 2008
Set for another run in the VFL this week.

3 games this year in a very injury interrupted season, to go with 15 last year.

West Coast absolutely screaming out for leadership, and this bloke is exactly that. Would be the perfect professional to help their young mids learn their craft.

Had 700+ disposals in 2023.

UFA end of next year, but is a fair way behind guys like Green, Callaghan, Kelly, O'Hallaran now.

Wouldn't cost much in a trade, and a few years back home to finish off could be enticing, although he does seem very set up in Sydney.

Set for another run in the VFL this week.

3 games this year in a very injury interrupted season, to go with 15 last year.

West Coast absolutely screaming out for leadership, and this bloke is exactly that. Would be the perfect professional to help their young mids learn their craft.

Had 700+ disposals in 2023.

UFA end of next year, but is a fair way behind guys like Green, Callaghan, Kelly, O'Hallaran now.

Wouldn't cost much in a trade, and a few years back home to finish off could be enticing, although he does seem very set up in Sydney.

Will see what happens in the back end of the year, but GWS lack midfield depth after losing 2 or 3 players last year.

I see a role for him at GWS for the rest of the year, and next year.

If he doesn't get a game the rest of the year, then you are right.

Probably still a required player at GWS for leadership, but could see a world where they tell him hes not best 22 for 2026 and he looks elsewhere.
He will be 32 in december, if he wanted to come back to Perth post footy then id be ok with taking him on a 1 year deal, with a second year option on decent money(we have a heap of cap space).

Wouldnt go all out to get him or anything, his best footy is definitely behind him

Probably still a required player at GWS for leadership, but could see a world where they tell him hes not best 22 for 2026 and he looks elsewhere.
He will be 32 in december, if he wanted to come back to Perth post footy then id be ok with taking him on a 1 year deal, with a second year option on decent money(we have a heap of cap space).

Wouldnt go all out to get him or anything, his best footy is definitely behind him

Yeah thats aligned with my thoughts.

Not sure he will come back to Perth but the connections are extremely strong. Think his wife is very engrained in the Sydney lifestyle.

Yeah thats aligned with my thoughts.

Not sure he will come back to Perth but the connections are extremely strong. Think his wife is very engrained in the Sydney lifestyle.
I think there is a group of guys at gws who want to be 1-club players … whits, chook, cogs and Toby being the core

Yeah i reckon you might be right with that as well.

Only push back on that is i genuinely think the current GWS midfield has gone way past Cogs, and he would walk into West Coasts team, play every week and provide significant leadership.

If i was Don Pyke and co, i would be all over him.

Yeah i reckon you might be right with that as well.

Only push back on that is i genuinely think the current GWS midfield has gone way past Cogs, and he would walk into West Coasts team, play every week and provide significant leadership.

If i was Don Pyke and co, i would be all over him.
Nah … cogs is still 3rd in there with green and Finn … when cogs is fit his quick feet from stoppage is potent

Maybe he can go play with his good mate O'Meara at Freo
If Coniglio was a free agent this season, I wouldn't mind getting him.

Brayshaw, Hayden Young and Caleb Serong in the middle is good. Jager O'Meara and Cogs rotated off the bench for 2026 and 2027 could be good to get us back into finals again

If Coniglio was a free agent this season, I wouldn't mind getting him.

Brayshaw, Hayden Young and Caleb Serong in the middle is good. Jager O'Meara and Cogs rotated off the bench for 2026 and 2027 could be good to get us back into finals again

Adds some more insurance but is not a first choice for you.