Steven Browne's debut

Aug 16, 2006
There has been so much focus on the negatives this week and this has forced positives to be overshadowed. One big positive that came out of the loss was Steven Browne's debut performance. Kicked a goal when the team needed it and was hard at the ball all day. Played as if he had 40+ games under his belt. Because of 2 injuries, it meant he got given a lot more game time and it was good he used extra time to his advantage and got plenty of the ball.
Almost took down mark of the year as well.
I like the look of this boy and hopefully this is just the start of a great career in the navy blue:thumbsu:
On ya Browney

Went in hard, leg speed in good, looked confident which I love and seems like a footballer moreso than athlete. Some really good signs and I really rate this guy based on Saturdays game.

I SOOO wish he had held onto that mark and that could have been his first touch. even though he dropped that mark i still loved his debut:p

Was wrapped with the way he went about things on Saturday. Really did the hard things, and the way he used the ball was pretty good as well.

Showed exactly what he was recruited for. Its something we lacked - though not as obvious as the key position issues. So far, I am impressed and hope he is long term player.

Reckon he'll stay in this week?

*I'm not a DT'er, but I am good friends with his cousin, and might bring them along to the game if he plays.

Simply cannot be dropped. Loved his work, could have had 2 goals and as 112112 has said - he's a footballer not a ____ing athlete!

Don't bag Jimmy. I'll never forget that great Elim final he played in 01'. I'll never ever forget that.

who could forget!

it was against the crows

kouta on fire

ratts out the week before and gave plunkett some pointers

great game!!

I would think he deserves a second go based on his first crack, Ii would summise his job was to get a few kicks and try and get into a few contests.

Because he certainly outdid that!

Went in hard, leg speed in good, looked confident which I love and seems like a footballer moreso than athlete. Some really good signs and I really rate this guy based on Saturdays game.

my thoughts exactly. we've been so caught up with 'really fast bloke who could be a gun' or 'freak athlete, needs time to develop' that i was relieved that we finally secured a real talent who will make it :thumbsu:

Was sitting right in front of the bench and was listening to the radio on Saturday and he did appear to have a hamstring problem at some point in the third quarter. They assessed it and he went back on and he seemed to run out the game pretty well. I assume unless he is a bit sore, he will play. I doubt he would be dropped because of form or match up problems.

Great debut from the kid. He was thrown into the fire a bit with only two on the bench but he handled it well.

Side note - I absolutely loved the way almost every team mate got around him after he kicked his goal to pat him on the back. This kind of stuff is fantastic in making new players feel at home around the club.

Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't Browne recruited as a small defender and to a lesser extent midfielder? If so, why was he started in the forward line and why was a first gamer put in the centre square when the game was up for grabs in the 3rd quarter?

I listened to Ratten speak before the game on MMM and I am pretty sure that he said that he has played a lot of his footy in the midfield. It was just that because there were a lot of quality midfielders in the various Teal cup teams, he was pushed to back line. I thought he played well on the weekend where Ratten played him, so I have no problems with him playing up forward and through the midfield.

Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't Browne recruited as a small defender and to a lesser extent midfielder? If so, why was he started in the forward line and why was he put in the centre square when the game was up for grabs in the 3rd quarter?

My understanding is yes - a small defender.

Not sure why he was up forward. Possibly to confuse Adelaide defence planning? Maybe Hadley being out contributed to the decision.Perhaps Armfield will fill that spot and Ratts is looking for forward options - Browne is not scared of going for the ball and he can kick straight.Not convinced of throwing him in the middle yet - we need our best players there when the game is in the balance and they must learn to get out of their own holes they dig.......

Correct me if I'm wrong but wasn't Browne recruited as a small defender and to a lesser extent midfielder? If so, why was he started in the forward line and why was a first gamer put in the centre square when the game was up for grabs in the 3rd quarter?

Perhaps because in the modern game of 'rebound football' the most important defenders on the field are those playing across half forward?

Because he's a smart footballer and extremely versatile :)

My understanding of SB was that he primarily played in the midfield in his junior footy......being bottom aged in '06 he played down back in the under 18 champs, and in '07, the strong WA midfield pushed him into a small defender role. He played well enough to be promoted to the WAFL seniors by the end of last year and again was 'forced into a small defender role. So basically he was a top line midfielder in Colts but either a combination of being bottom aged or breaking into strong teams has relegated him to playing back. For mine he is smart and versatile enough to play forward, back or midfield :thumbsu:

Steven Browne's debut