Steven Salopek

He is no dud.

Like many young players once they return home they become better players.

Worth the punt with a second round draft pick.

PAFC2004 said:
Someone who has obviously never seen him play.
A player is not a dud if they have had injuries.

What's he done?

Convince me (without using the word "potential") why a club would give up a 1st round pick for him.

Funkalicous said:
What's he done?

Convince me (without using the word "potential") why a club would give up a 1st round pick for him.

No one ever said anything about first round. He has shown that he has a lot of talent in the games he has played. If you haven't seen him play, don't comment.

saw him play 3 years ago in tac cup, n absolutely loved him. Not overly quick though does not stop running...absolute work horse who gives you first use of the pill...i remember asking people who played tac cup at the time n they felt he was better than goddard who went no.1...good player. If you say he is a dud it means you have never seen or followed him.

He's a good player. Has been ill and injured ever since he got over there remember so he really hasnt had a decent crack at the top level without being ill or injured. Would love him at the Blues - would fit in nicely with our young guys and complement Kouta, Stevens, Scotland, etc. He's a ready-made player to slot straight into our midfield.

If he wants to leave Port we might have the upper hand in the trade or PSD. Having said this Port will probably do anything to keep him from going to Carlton in the PSD, like Nick Stevens. Hope the Blues are onto him. What do you guys think he's worth in a trade? Camporeale, Sporn, pick 20, 30 or what?

Could we trade Houlihan for Salopek?
Both are underperforming at their respective sides and could need a change.
Houlihan is proven talent but crap under Pagan whilst Salopek wants to come home and has had his value lowered by recent injury problems.

av76 said:
Houlihan is proven talent but crap under Pagan whilst Salopek wants to come home and has had his value lowered by recent injury problems.

Good call mate, id definitely do that swap. I like Houlihan but do get a bit annoyed at how he goes about his footy at times. I'll take Salopek, I think Port might be interested in something like.

av76 said:
I'd take that trade in a second.

av76 said:

Urrrrrrrr snap you have yourself a deal.

Get the kid!!

Worth a low 20s pick i reckon but houlihan sounds good to me or even better...camporeale

igt22265 said:
How about,
Salopek to Carlton,
Houlihan to Essendon,
Mark Bullen to Port (Port have shown interest)
in one of those 3 way deals.
Sheedy seems to like our duds, (Allan, Murphy).

Bullen for Salopek? I dont think Port want that one. Probably take Camporeale and Houla to get Salopek.

igt22265 said:
Ok, just had the third coffee,
and here we go.

Salopek to Carlton,
Houlihan and Davies to Essendon,
Mark Bullen, and draft pick to Port (Port have shown interest)

That looks a lot better. Much more realistic. I really cannot see why Port are interested in Bullen. I also read that they are and Mark Johnson. All 3 clubs need the same thing. Midfielders so for Port to give Salopek up then they would want a replacement for him.
Essendon wont trade Johnson for Salopek but if I was them this is exactly the sort of trade I would be looking at to get young talent.

Salopek to Essendon and there first round pick (10 to 12) for Mark Johnson and Bullen.

say we do a trade with port for salopek. do you guys think we are a real chance to pick up bartel in the psd? that would give us salopek and bartel in the midfield, not bad!

Paddy Hicks said:
say we do a trade with port for salopek. do you guys think we are a real chance to pick up bartel in the psd? that would give us salopek and bartel in the midfield, not bad!

Salopek lacks speed and so does Bartel. If we drafted Ellis and Murphy this year then it would be fne but if we got Hurn, Bartel and Salopek then that is an awful lot of salary cap in the future and not much flexability there.
I think the need for a tall defender and 2 midfielders is paramount this draft.
We can try and turn a KPP player into one also. I am liking Drum even more as I think about it. Would be extremely happy to get him with a pick from 8 to 10. Trading Lance might get that. I see Drum as a replacement for Teague. Quicker, taller and with better hands and skills. Then move into the midfield after doing a few years down back.