Strange Bedfellows

• Thread starter Thread starter Cactus_

I’ve been a Tiges fan since about Grade 3 so that’s ... well it is closer to 40 years than 30.

Now after the Tiges the teams I didn’t mind were:
The Roos - I grew up near Arden St and I can remember going the to see the Krakour brothers play.
The Cat - my mum’s team.
The Dogs - my godfather’s team.

All the other teams I pretty much despised. Especially Carlton. “Despised” too go a word for Carlton.

Things have changed a bit over the years. The Roos probably have had a single player I’ve admired since the Krakours ... but in the last 12 months and with us winning the flag I feel things have changed a fair bit.

#lolnorf have confirmed themselves as a universal laughing stock ... but they got themselves so completely bent out of shape over the Dusty thing that hating us and envying is seems to be a way of life for most of their supporters. It would be pitiable. If it wasn’t so contempable.

Early 2017 Port supporters we acting like we were their second most hated rivals all because of ... nope, I actually can’t even remember what they had their knickers in a knot about. Fast forward a few months, we beat the the gloriously overconfident Crows in the grannie and next thing all is forgiven and Port supporters are acting like we’re their new best friends.

The Cats who I really expected better from stage one of the biggest hissy fits this side of ... this side of norf Melbourne and months later they are still crapping on about how we, and the AFL, ruined their lives. How can anyone like or respect them anymore?

The Hawks, because they hate the cats I guess, seem to have become our other new best mates. Maybe it’s the Clarko / Hardwick connection too? Anyway I often see Hawks supporters saying nice stuff about us.

And weirdest of all ... the Blues. I’ve seem heaps of Blues supporters giving praise where it is due to the 2017 Tiges team. It is a disconcerting feeling when Carlton supporters say nice things about your team. Anyway I’ll take it. Thanks Blues, your not my most hated team any more. You’re my second most hated just behind the DiveBombers.

I always thought that the Demons were our poor cousins that we only invited to Xmas not to upset nanna.
Yeah. Except they are a bunch of entitle, born to rule, silver-tails. Let’s forget to invite them next Xmas.

If Carlton ever crawl off the bottom of the ladder there is no doubt in my mind they will become our most despised team again.
True. Here’s hoping I’ve been dead for 140 years before that happens.

More likely Princess Park gets raized to the ground and replaced by overpriced plasterboard appartments. That would be a fitting end to Carlton. Flogging off their spiritual home to some fly by night property developers.

Or Princess Park gets demolished to make way for a Bunnings Warehouse.

The Brown Paper Bag Apartments..located behind a big statue of a Pigs Arse...

If any other supporter gives us praise I piss off, as deep down I know they’re envious as well as all the backstabbing and crap they’ve given out in the past.
The in laws are Bomber fans, but they’ve never said a bad word about Richmond in my 26 years of marriage and they were the first to call me and congratulate me after each final. They’ve almost become Tigers in this time as they’re appreciative of what Sheedy did to their club. The father inlaw still says he turned Essendon into Richmond.

Dad and younger brother cats supporters. Mum born and bred in Footscray. They are the only other clubs I have any time for (except when they play us). Everyone else veers between supreme indifference to utter contempt.

There is a good deal of grudging respect for several of them.

Dad and younger brother cats supporters. Mum born and bred in Footscray. They are the only other clubs I have any time for (except when they play us). Everyone else veers between supreme indifference to utter contempt.

You’re a lucky chap Hoosy celebrating two flags in two years ;)

With that pedigree how did you end up on the righteous path?

Believe it or not, when I was a little tacker my favourite animals were tigers. That's it.

I was at both games too...but they were not the same.
Whenever I see your name in my like box I will now think of you as back to back Hoosy.
I do see your point though , but I did have a Doggy lady client come over a couple of months ago and when we shared each other’s stories you could see the joy in her face as if it happened the day before.

Whenever I see your name in my like box I will now think of you as back to back Hoosy.
I do see your point though , but I did have a Doggy lady client come over a couple of months ago and when we shared each other’s stories you could see the joy in her face as if it happened the day before.
I remember being incredibly jealous of the dogs fans as I was watching the outpouring of emotion during the last few minutes of the 2016 GF. I actually bought the ticket for my mum, but she didn't want to go on her own.

Took Peggy and Brendan to unite the tribe and now we will be unstoppable. The sleeping giant has awoken.

I think that’s gilding the lily a bit. During the recent board challenges all factions were trying to recruit Balme to the club and at least one of the rival bids was planning to give Hardwick one more year while cleaning out the assistants. The existing board deserves some credit, but it was the performance of the football department under Balme and Hardwick that “united the tribe”.

Dogs fans also seem to be our mates now too. Think they grew tired of everyone saying their flag was an arse (what a hilarious notion), and can identify with what everyone is saying about us.
Fancy it happening not only once but twice in a row!!!

It’s funny how you go through periods of hating one team then softening on them. I’ve always taken the Cats side in the Cats/Hawks rivalry but that’s pretty much flipped since we won the flag. Same with Port and the Crows. Dogs fans are cool now too.

These sort of things can change very quickly over pretty much nothing. Remember in late 2014 when West Coast supporters wanted us dead due to the Vickery hit on Cox and the series of unfortunate events that occurred afterwards? They mellowed a bit after they made the GF in 2015 but now our “unearned” Home GF has them salty again.

These kind of things are always driven by insecurity and feeling threatened.

It’s funny how you go through periods of hating one team then softening on them. I’ve always taken the Cats side in the Cats/Hawks rivalry but that’s pretty much flipped since we won the flag. Same with Port and the Crows. Dogs fans are cool now too.

These sort of things can change very quickly over pretty much nothing. Remember in late 2014 when West Coast supporters wanted us dead due to the Vickery hit on Cox and the series of unfortunate events that occurred afterwards? They mellowed a bit after they made the GF in 2015 but now our “unearned” Home GF has them salty again.

These kind of things are always driven by insecurity and feeling threatened.
Dont forget the Eugene McGregor AA full back disaster.

I think that’s gilding the lily a bit. During the recent board challenges all factions were trying to recruit Balme to the club and at least one of the rival bids was planning to give Hardwick one more year while cleaning out the assistants. The existing board deserves some credit, but it was the performance of the football department under Balme and Hardwick that “united the tribe”.

Doesn’t happen without the decisions made. And the review was all Gale. I think handing credit to focus on footy is way off the mark