Sugar Kane

tigertime

Suspended
Oct 8, 2004
RICHMOND
Anyone like to guess why our fabulous leader, Kane Johnson wasnt on the footy show and Nathan Brown was taking all the heat in his place???

Its bad enough that he has given nothing in an onfield leadership capacity so far, but to give nothing off field as well is just mind boggling.

Two reasons:
1. He's not on contract with Nine
2. Nine didn't ask him to go along - it's up to them who appears

• Banned
1) Nice try.. If he doesnt have a contract with 9 and he is the captain of the RFC, why do you think that is.. Unless he wants it that way.
2) Pure speculation, I am sure they would have asked him.

turtle27 said:
Two reasons:
1. He's not on contract with Nine
2. Nine didn't ask him to go along - it's up to them who appears

tigertime said:
1) Nice try.. If he doesnt have a contract with 9 and he is the captain of the RFC, why do you think that is.. Unless he wants it that way.
They still have to ask him if he wants to appear, and if he says yes, they will contract him to appear on nine and only nine. They don't automatically contract every captain in the league, and don't automatically ask someone to appear even if they are captain.

Apart from that, I agree it would have been great to see our captain on there flying the flag, but let's give the guy more than the 8 days and 1 game he's been captain for to see how he goes. At least he hasn't burst into tears.

tigertime said:
I am with you on this one.I think highly of Kane as a player, but I had some serious reservations about the captaincy due mainly to the fact that you have outlined.Lets be honest the leader of the Richmond Footy Club isnT the position for someone who struggles under intense media pressure. Good point.

• Banned
Your right of course.

Its just a very dissapointing start to his captaincy. I find it distressing that we gave the captaincy to a 40 gamer who is media shy. The Captain is supposed to be a link to the supporters and the representative of the club and players. (another reason why campbell was a terrible captain).

Lets hope he improves. The only thing going for him in my opinion is that he barracked for the tigers as a kid.

turtle27 said:
They still have to ask him if he wants to appear, and if he says yes, they will contract him to appear on nine and only nine. They don't automatically contract every captain in the league, and don't automatically ask someone to appear even if they are captain.

Apart from that, I agree it would have been great to see our captain on there flying the flag, but let's give the guy more than the 8 days and 1 game he's been captain for to see how he goes. At least he hasn't burst into tears.

Fevola isn't captain, they have him on as the main Carlton representative
They've had Richo on plenty of times, he's not captain
Crawford isn't captain of Hawthorn this year, you can be sure they'll have him on over Vandenberg

Its not just captains they have on the panel

Kane isn't going to be the best captain but seriously we had no choice but to elect him. He was the only player up for election who had playerd 3 seasons of good footy consecutively (other than Brown - who is a person to have around when you want to have a party, but not when the chips are down).

I wonder if you would be starting threads about Bowden now if he got the captaincy. He played schit on the weekend and wouldn't have appeared on the footy show. Would you rip into him?

Also, remember there is a leadership group. Brown - VC, Bowden and Richo - DVC's.

The "captain" doesn't have to do everything. The leadership group should be combining to use their complimentary skills. If Brown is better at the media stuff, let him do the bulk of it. Its more impartant IMO that Kane leads by example on the field and training track.

tigertime said:
Anyone like to guess why our fabulous leader, Kane Johnson wasnt on the footy show and Nathan Brown was taking all the heat in his place???

Its bad enough that he has given nothing in an onfield leadership capacity so far, but to give nothing off field as well is just mind boggling.

jeez that is a stupid comment to make.

Why don't you stick the boots into the club good and proper like all good supporters should :rolleyes:

Big Punt said:
Also, remember there is a leadership group. Brown - VC, Bowden and Richo - DVC's.

The "captain" doesn't have to do everything. The leadership group should be combining to use their complimentary skills. If Brown is better at the media stuff, let him do the bulk of it. Its more impartant IMO that Kane leads by example on the field and training track.
That's a pretty fair call.

I reckon if Bowden was captain, he would have had a good game.

I am sure he is still stinging from being pumped up the a$$ over this and patrick not coming to the club.

I wouldnt be trying too hard if I was him either.

Lets johnno fall flat on his face or prove that he is up to the captaincy. So far, he has given nothing.

JohnF said:
Kane isn't going to be the best captain but seriously we had no choice but to elect him. He was the only player up for election who had playerd 3 seasons of good footy consecutively (other than Brown - who is a person to have around when you want to have a party, but not when the chips are down).

I wonder if you would be starting threads about Bowden now if he got the captaincy. He played schit on the weekend and wouldn't have appeared on the footy show. Would you rip into him?

tigertime said:

I am sure he is still stinging from being pumped up the a$$ over this and patrick not coming to the club.

Lets johnno fall flat on his face or prove that he is up to the captaincy. So far, he has given nothing.

If Bowden really wanted to show that he is captaincy material he should have stuck it up Wallace this game by playing his heart out, not by having a sook about it and refusing to play well.

If that was the mentality he took into the game then I'm glad he didn't get the captaincy.

I just think he had a bad day. It's not unheard of, prior to the second half of last year he had plenty of bad days - whihc is another reason why you don't give someone the captaincy off the backing of one good year.

tigertime said:

we have heard your crying a thousand times and its getting boring.

Bowden's heart < than size of a pea.

Sugar Kane