Synopsis of Last Nights Disaster

Jun 1, 2004
the lodge
Essendon Bombers
Played absolutely disgraceful last night, against (lets face it) a pretty poor team. Below are my thoughts on the how each player went:

Murphy - best game he has played for us, great game
McPhee - will be the next Hird, perhaps better? Showed he is good, very good.
Allan - played well w/o any useful help in the ruck.
Fletcher - He's back, very solid game.
Misiti- Showed he still can play, had a solid game (one of his best games this year)
Bolton - one of our best last night, gives and gives and gives. Stepped up to cover Wellman.
JJ - Played a serviceable game.
Richards - Looked good. Deserves another game.
Dyson - Is probably the best of our draft picks from '03 but didn't get a great deal of game time
Stanton - Go back to the VFL. Not ready.
Haynes - Didn't do much, but wasn't one of our worst.
HENNEMAN - What can I say. Got towelled up by Sav, played the whole game and had a whopping 5 possesions. Please drop him!!!
HILLE - If its possible worst than Henneman. 7 HO (1 which went straight to a Bomber), and 1 tackle. Must be dropped.
Hird - Insipid, unaccountable performance. He's a great player, but no matter how good you are you must man up on your opponent. Though it must be said Hirdy looks flat, can't sprint and struggling to get a kick. Is he carrying an injury, or is playing for 200 games and considering retiring? Maybe give him a few weeks off.
MJ - Struggled for most of the year. Hard done by inconsistant Sh^%$eads A.K.A umpires. Played poorly, and isn't going in as hard as used to. For 2nd year in a row, provided the turning point.
Lucas - Had a dog of a game. Also unassisted by poor delivery.
Lloyd - Had a dog of a game. Also unassisted by poor delivery. Also, its a bit hard when you've got 6 blokes standing in front of you, blocking your space.
McVeigh - Didn't do much. Can shut down his opponent, but isn't hurting the opposition.
Peverill - Was alright. Should have played on the ball, but did a decent job on Harvey.
Rama - Needs to go back to the VFL. Struggling to keep up with the game, and played out of position. In 2000-01 he was an up and coming superstar (According to Bruce and DErmie). We desperately need him to fire up.
Solomon - Struggled. towellled up by Wells.
Welsh - Played quite well.

We need to drop Hille, Henneman, MJ and Rama. Aswell as Stanton.

Then we need to bring in some players from Bendigo, who are hungry.

This means, Hunt, Laycock, Walsh (pacey), NLM and Watson/Alvey/Adrian Wilson.

Hunt - In form and 10x the player Henners is.
Laycock - More agile than Hille, and can ruck. Exciting mark and athletic. Also doesn't hear as many footsteps as Hille does.
Walsh - Give him a go. Can't be worse than who's there at the moment.
NLM - can crumb, mark, and run.
Watson - The next Misiti
Alvey - Although he thinks he's better than he is, he may be alright.
Wilson - He is a gun. Strong, quick and talented.

Really missing Wellman and Rioli.

Finally, we played crap last night, there is no doubt about that. however, to avoid it happening again, we need to send the message to the senior players who believe it is their self given right to play for Essendon, rather than a privellage. As a result of this we will be 9th at the end of this round and with WCE, PTA and STK coming up, we're in trouble if we don't pull out our finger. Also, give Hird a week off, let him re-energize and just think about football, because he is lacking hunger and looks extremely tired.

Well i think our main problems are that we need three big men for CHF,CHB and the ruck, and we need more heart and less arogance.

This is a thing thats been happening for well over ten years at essendon, when the bombers are well infront and controlling the game most of the players go to sleep and the coach either rests some of the "top players" on the bench or makes some strange changes - fletcher going to the forward line late in the 3rd qrtr.

I will probably get abused for this, but i dont like the idea of lucas,Bolten and henneman as CHB. For me, i would really like to see lucas play like he did in 98 when he kicked about 50 goals for us. If he can only kick atleast 2 goals a game and keep pumping in the ball then he will have done his job. For me, he is a waste at chb even though he gets alot of the ball, he never will be good in the defencive part of his game.
Bolten was very good last night and has alot of heart, but he is probably best suited as a flanker or playing on less stronger ChF.
Hunt might be a good person to look forward to palying CHB.

The forward line is dissapointing as well, llyod is the only guy who is performing, but its difficult for him because he gets double tagged because we have no other dangerous forwards. When the bombers were in their prime one of their main strenghts was the even spread of goal kickers. I guess thats why the injury to cupido is really hurting us. I really think hird should spend more time in the halfforward line, as well as lucas.

I didnt like the attitude of hird last night, he really didnt look like he wanted to be out there, but this is not the first time he has acted like that. I have noticed at time times when he even goes for a shot at goal, it seems like he dosnt care and blazes away. I know he is human etc but it was really dissapointing seeing him act like that last night.

We also need "real" midfielders who can play all day, I love jason Jhonson but he cant run all day. Last night he had a excellent first qtr with about 13 possesions, an ok second qrt, but then faded away.

If most of our senior players still keep playing poorly i think we should send some back to the twos (eg solomem,hille) and play some young guys like dyson,haynes etc, they need much more game time. Bullen is a good example, last year he really did progress rather well, but this year spending so much time on the bench has really stopped him being a better palyer.

And finally, i was very dissapointed to see that Richards only played about one quarter. Fair enough maybe he was injured, but if he wasnt then its a reall disgrace the way sheedy coached last night.
If lucas and hird cant play in the forward line then Richards would be a good choice at chf in my opinion.

Originally posted by bomaz

Laycock - More agile than Hille, and can ruck. Exciting mark and athletic. Also doesn't hear as many footsteps as Hille does.
Watson - The next Misiti

Hunt - yes, subject to how he plays this weekend of course. But he certainly deserves a shot ahead of Henneman.

Laycock - I'm don't think he's more agile than Hille but Hille's form can't be allowed to continue in the seniors.

NLM - we'll see. I don't rate his crumbing ability. Got most of his goals from marks and handball receives. He gave us something though, and I'd like to see him continue to improve.

Watson - isn't fit, needs a number of games before he can be considered surely. Not a knock on his potential just his readiness

Alvey - needs to do more but he's always going to be thereabouts when it comes to selection

Walsh - quite simply no. If there was a Bendigo seconds he'd be in it. Struggling.

Wilson - unless someone goes down with a season ender you won't be seeing him

Walsh - quite simply no. If there was a Bendigo seconds he'd be in it. Struggling.

walsh yes should be given as much opportunity as licha and stants the games i have seen in the seconds he has done no worse plus he has poise and great kicking skills something licha and Stanton have to work on

Plus I think it would help for banfield to give the kid a break and play him for a whole game and not take him on and of every 5 minutes

we need kids with poise as well as pace.

but that said licha walsh and stants all need areas of improvement before they are regular senior 22 players

alvey, dyson, bradley, hunt and richards are the blokes who we should concerntrate on for the rest of 2004

licha walsh and stanton are 2005 prospects with full pre seasons inder there belts should be pushing realisticly next year.

Originally posted by chasing Amy
walsh yes should be given as much opportunity as licha and stants the games i have seen in the seconds he has done no worse plus he has poise and great kicking skills something licha and Stanton have to work on

Plus I think it would help for banfield to give the kid a break and play him for a whole game and not take him on and of every 5 minutes

He'd be averaging one disposal a game for the year, based off the games I've seen.

Poise is one thing he doesn't have, particularly if he's being tackled. He struggles with the physicality of VFL football, that's not going to get any easier in the AFL.

I liked Walsh last year. I don't have a vendetta against him, so this is not personal but Banfield would be annoyed that the alignment with Essendon means that he has to play Walsh regardless of form.

I'd like to see him come good, but he doesn't deserve an opportunity at the seniors. He had glandular in the pre-season which is a mitigating factor.

Winderlich, now that he's started playing well again (was out of it in the early part of the season ) and Stanton are the proverbial country mile ahead of him.

Stanton are the proverbial country mile ahead of him.

stanton is a mile overated IMO kicking is a shocker and he is no faster than most of the kids struggling to get a game.

but each to there own.

Im a walsh fan has a bit of class about him, his year has been ****ed up by having glandular fever yes, and yes he probably does not deserve a senior game but he has been kicking a goal most weeks in the twos with very very little game time.

I have seen him play a couple of servicable games this year but he is struggling to back it up with a string of them together, I think its fatigue, often a side affect of GF.

yes he gets tackled easily but so does licha stanton dyson etc etc its because they still dont weigh that much yet.

I really look forward to seeing what walsh can do after a uninterupted pre season.

Im not giving up on him yet I'd like to see him get another year before i go chucking him out.

Originally posted by chasing Amy

but each to there own.

damn straight, and I'll take the kid whose been a key member of the Bendigo midfield since his first game and would be averaging nearly 20 touches a game (not with the best disposal admittedly) vs the guy aver. 3-4 disposals a game of which 2 would be handballs while being tackled that go straight to the opposition.

I'm not blind to Stantons disposal, I haven't said anywhere that I think it's great at the moment. I just like the fact that he gives his all and wins the ball. I also haven't said anywhere that I think Stanton should be a walk up start for the seniors. But he certainly deserves to be close to the head of the cue.

Played absolutely disgraceful last night, against (lets face it) a pretty poor team.

Yes, a poor team indeed. So poor that only bad kicking prevented a 10-goal win

McPhee - will be the next Hird, perhaps better?

Should have stopped reading there. Yes, very good player, but better than Hird? Get you hand off it.

Has that kicking/tripping/kneeing action down pat - yep he's back

Misiti- Showed he still can play, had a solid game (one of his best games this year)

Please don't tell your supporters your pinning your hopes on Smokin' to go to much further

MJ - Struggled for most of the year. Hard done by inconsistant Sh^%$eads A.K.A umpires. Played poorly, and isn't going in as hard as used to. For 2nd year in a row, provided the turning point.

Agree on one thing - he has lost

loyd - Had a dog of a game. Also unassisted by poor delivery. Also, its a bit hard when you've got 6 blokes standing in front of you, blocking your space.

You big sook. It's called football, wasn't the first and certainly wont be the last time defenders drop back into the 'Lloyds Hole'. Still if North got 6 defenders back and still had 30 scoring shots of their own, I hope they do it every week

McVeigh - Didn't do much. Can shut down his opponent, but isn't hurting the opposition. Solomon - Struggled. towellled up by Wells.

Were these guys playing?

In summary, don't go handing out the 'poor' jibes when you haven't had a win over us for a while and you serve up the crap that you did last night.

Time to get to the back of the line Bummers.

Played absolutely disgraceful last night, against (lets face it) a pretty poor team.

A pretty poor team? You've only one one more game than us!

The truth of the matter is that North did their homework on you guys.

So far this season you have good 1st and 3rd quarters.
Your 2nd and 4th quarters have been woeful (even Hawthorn kicks higher scores on average in final quarters than Essendon).

Laidley studied this and devised his game plan on those statistics, so watch out cos' the other coaches if they didn't take notice before certainly will now.

Roos fans: I wouldn't get carried away with that win. Not to say that you are, of course. We were terrible - the skill errors we made even when not under significant pressure were unforgivable.

The Roos were definitely a much better side, but you can't say that were very convincing in the way that they played. For us to get 25 points up in the third quarter whilst playing mediocre football says something about both teams. Never mind the fact that you had plenty of scoring shots - bad kicking is bad football.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that the only reason that the Roos won was because we didn't play as well as we could and should have. Like Roofus said, the Roos obviously did their homework. Their midfield was good, their defence very solid (Colbert is a very underrated player), and Sav's 5 goals were invaluable. But I think both teams weren't any better than mediocre.

Originally posted by Bartholin Juice
Roos fans: I wouldn't get carried away with that win. Not to say that you are, of course. We were terrible - the skill errors we made even when not under significant pressure were unforgivable.

The Roos were definitely a much better side, but you can't say that were very convincing in the way that they played. For us to get 25 points up in the third quarter whilst playing mediocre football says something about both teams. Never mind the fact that you had plenty of scoring shots - bad kicking is bad football.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that the only reason that the Roos won was because we didn't play as well as we could and should have. Like Roofus said, the Roos obviously did their homework. Their midfield was good, their defence very solid (Colbert is a very underrated player), and Sav's 5 goals were invaluable. But I think both teams weren't any better than mediocre.

Your response is spot on.

What gets me upset is the fact the starter of this thread said you were playing a very poor team, if that was the case then Essendon is not much better.

It's always good to beat Essendon, are we getting carried away with ourselves? don't think so, we know we still have a long way to go to be a top 4 side.

I am , sadly, going to agree with the bombers fans. I think we are acting a bit over the top. Theres no way any team would gain respect from the game on friday. It was extremely poor play for both sides, and painful for a roos supporter, even though we won.

I can't see how essendon could have lost that unless they played as poorly as they possibly could, which they did. The roos were pathetic...

Played absolutely disgraceful last night, against (lets face it) a pretty poor team. Below are my thoughts on the how each player went:

Murphy - best game he has played for us, great game
McPhee - will be the next Hird, perhaps better? Showed he is good, very good.
Allan - played well w/o any useful help in the ruck.
Bolton - one of our best last night, gives and gives and gives. Stepped up to cover Wellman.
JJ - Played a serviceable game.
Richards - Looked good. Deserves another game.
Dyson - Is probably the best of our draft picks from '03 but didn't get a great deal of game time
Stanton - Go back to the VFL. Not ready.
Haynes - Didn't do much, but wasn't one of our worst.
HENNEMAN - What can I say. Got towelled up by Sav, played the whole game and had a whopping 5 possesions. Please drop him!!!
HILLE - If its possible worst than Henneman. 7 HO (1 which went straight to a Bomber), and 1 tackle. Must be dropped.
Hird - Insipid, unaccountable performance. He's a great player, but no matter how good you are you must man up on your opponent. Though it must be said Hirdy looks flat, can't sprint and struggling to get a kick. Is he carrying an injury, or is playing for 200 games and considering retiring? Maybe give him a few weeks off.
Lucas - Had a dog of a game. Also unassisted by poor delivery.
Lloyd - Had a dog of a game. Also unassisted by poor delivery. Also, its a bit hard when you've got 6 blokes standing in front of you, blocking your space.
McVeigh - Didn't do much. Can shut down his opponent, but isn't hurting the opposition.
Peverill - Was alright. Should have played on the ball, but did a decent job on Harvey.
Rama - Needs to go back to the VFL. Struggling to keep up with the game, and played out of position. In 2000-01 he was an up and coming superstar (According to Bruce and DErmie). We desperately need him to fire up.
Solomon - Struggled. towellled up by Wells.
Welsh - Played quite well.

We need to drop Hille, Henneman, MJ and Rama. Aswell as Stanton.

Then we need to bring in some players from Bendigo, who are hungry.

Watson - The next Misiti

Really missing Wellman and Rioli.

Finally, we played crap last night, there is no doubt about that. however, to avoid it happening again, we need to send the message to the senior players who believe it is their self given right to play for Essendon, rather than a privellage. As a result of this we will be 9th at the end of this round and with WCE, PTA and STK coming up, we're in trouble if we don't pull out our finger. Also, give Hird a week off, let him re-energize and just think about football, because he is lacking hunger and looks extremely tired.

Pretty poor team, **** you.

Missing Fat Guts Rioli, You are ****ing joking mate. You even classify him as a footballer, he is only getting a game cause of his name. He should join the cue with Leon Davis and Rhyce Shaw.

Get your hand off it

Re: Re: Synopsis of Last Nights Disaster

Originally posted by Wild Kangaroo
Missing Fat Guts Rioli, You are ****ing joking mate. You even classify him as a footballer, he is only getting a game cause of his name. He should join the cue with Leon Davis and Rhyce Shaw.

Except that he's been one of our best players this year. And was one of our best last year too.

We so missed Rioli on Friday, when every midfielder fumbled the ball at ground level, when if it's Rioli, he would've gobbled them up with one hand.

We so missed Rioli on Friday, when every midfielder kept giving hospital passes inside 50, when Rioli would've always drilled it into someone's chest.

There's a reason why we went sh*tehouse ever since Rioli got injured halfway through the Brisbane match, we miss his silky skills in the midfield.

Don't disagree too much with Essendin fans in this thread.

North were ordinary. Harvey was poor, McPhee blasted Simmo, Petrie was poor, Stevens was poor, Sinclair was rubbish. Our structures were dodgy, we were not at all clean with the footy and our centre bounce work until the last quarter was horrid.

But, Laidley had the confidence to rest up influential players until the last quarter. Sheeds tried, but you can't make Soloman, the johnsons or Misiti run any quicker.

Crap game.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
Don't disagree too much with Essendin fans in this thread.

North were ordinary. Harvey was poor, McPhee blasted Simmo, Petrie was poor, Stevens was poor, Sinclair was rubbish. Our structures were dodgy, we were not at all clean with the footy and our centre bounce work until the last quarter was horrid.

But, Laidley had the confidence to rest up influential players until the last quarter. Sheeds tried, but you can't make Soloman, the johnsons or Misiti run any quicker.

Crap game.

Pretty fair assesment ...

You weren't too good but we were worse .....:(

Originally posted by Cooldude
We so missed Rioli on Friday, when every midfielder fumbled the ball at ground level, when if it's Rioli, he would've gobbled them up with one hand.

We so missed Rioli on Friday, when every midfielder kept giving hospital passes inside 50, when Rioli would've always drilled it into someone's chest.

There's a reason why we went sh*tehouse ever since Rioli got injured halfway through the Brisbane match, we miss his silky skills in the midfield.

Yep, we miss him more than most realise.

Synopsis of Last Nights Disaster