Tambling, finally...

• Thread starter Thread starter Tiger666

With what he did in the Wizard Cup as well as the Indigenous game its obviously a question of how his injuries come up rather than whether he is ready for a big game in terms of skills and occassion. This kid excites me enough to drink Sth Australian beer! If he is 100% ....he plays.

Well OK I lied about the beer...lets say a shedfulla Cascade or Boags

Bentleigh said:
I reckon Richmond has a stronger list at the current. People are talking about us getting over 5 1/2 wins whilst the questions are being raised will Hawthorn go 0-22.

I belive we are at very similar stages of our rebuilding. Both team have some top class youths but both would like 1 more influx of kids. In terms of hood young, long term rebulding we'd be about even.

Ive watched both Hawthorn games and though Everitt, Crawford & Barker were near your best 3 each game. At 31 year old for each this has got to be a big worry. I relise Richo has just turned 30 but playing out of the goal square he should have several years left.

You know what Bentleigh, I may just agree with you on something! You're chances of registering those wins is a whole lot better than ours, but what you have to think about is the fact that our whole club has had a transformation and the people that have come in are vastly less experienced than that at your mob. So they need to be given more time. (I am talking about the coaching staff, etc.)

I agree with the middle paragraph. We will get our one more influx of kids this year as I do believe we will finish either 15th or 16th. We need one more KPP and a ruckman and some speedy classy midfielders to complement our plethora of tall mobile KPP. We have taken a different road to you in terms of recruiting in that we have recruited tall where as you have gone small and fast. I envy a few of your players who would slip into the Hawk outfit quite nicely, Tambling, Deledio, Meyer, Raines, Jackson. But I also think that you need to draft a few more KPP as you are thin in that area. Have doubts on McGuane and maybe Limbach but he looks alright to me.

Secondly, You were obviously not watching out game against Sydney very well because Barker didn't play. Crawford mucked around with it and Everitt played the majority of the game up forward (limiting his output) Bateman and Ladson were the ones to impress.
I agree, we rely to heavily on Everitt, Crawford and Barker, but Mitchell, Bateman, Ladson, Lewis, Franklin, Boyle and Roughead will eventually take the heat off at least two of these players. The only thing I can't find at the moment is a replacement for Everitt. (He might have to ruck untill he's 50.)

Slick said:
You know what Bentleigh, I may just agree with you on something! You're chances of registering those wins is a whole lot better than ours, but what you have to think about is the fact that our whole club has had a transformation and the people that have come in are vastly less experienced than that at your mob. So they need to be given more time. (I am talking about the coaching staff, etc.)

I agree with the middle paragraph. We will get our one more influx of kids this year as I do believe we will finish either 15th or 16th. We need one more KPP and a ruckman and some speedy classy midfielders to complement our plethora of tall mobile KPP. We have taken a different road to you in terms of recruiting in that we have recruited tall where as you have gone small and fast. I envy a few of your players who would slip into the Hawk outfit quite nicely, Tambling, Deledio, Meyer, Raines, Jackson. But I also think that you need to draft a few more KPP as you are thin in that area. Have doubts on McGuane and maybe Limbach but he looks alright to me.

Secondly, You were obviously not watching out game against Sydney very well because Barker didn't play. Crawford mucked around with it and Everitt played the majority of the game up forward (limiting his output) Bateman and Ladson were the ones to impress.
I agree, we rely to heavily on Everitt, Crawford and Barker, but Mitchell, Bateman, Ladson, Lewis, Franklin, Boyle and Roughead will eventually take the heat off at least two of these players. The only thing I can't find at the moment is a replacement for Everitt. (He might have to ruck untill he's 50.)

Good post, just thought id say, besides Everitt, Bateman has been the best Hawk so far this year, i think hes starting to take some responsibility...

Back to the Tambling issue....

Am I the only one who is a little concerned that he has had injections? I assume they are for his back and not just painkillers for his toe.

nineteen eighty said:
Back to the Tambling issue....

Am I the only one who is a little concerned that he has had injections? I assume they are for his back and not just painkillers for his toe.

Anyone's guess sadly mate. Its bloody scary that they have become an accepted part of footy these days. Makes me feel sorry for them for when they get to my age and wonder why they can barely feed themselves because of all the injuries that were masekd by painkillers etc during their footy days.

To find out exactly what is wrong with a player in terms of injuries is harder than Chinese arithmetic!

Just on Wallace's "wins are not a priority at the moment" comment, I don't think these players (Chaff and Tivva) will be dropped. Wallace said that he will need until round 8 to get a better idea of where the list is at. I think he'll give these blokes more of a chance to hang themselves, before he drops them for the sake of it. However, there won't be too many more chances if these duds continue to fail (and I'm sure they will).

Hope he doesn't bring in tambo too early. He seems to have had a couple of little niggles here and there. Would rather him 100% in every way (fitness, match fitness, confidence), before being thrown into the depths of senior AFL footy.

Nightwolf_69 said:
But so was Franklin, Hodge and Mitchell...

Mitchells been class. Hodge hasn't overly impressed. Good/average player for mine thus far. Franklin was shyte Round 1.

Bentleigh said:
Mitchells been class. Hodge hasn't overly impressed. Good/average player for mine thus far. Franklin was shyte Round 1.

Yes but because you said Barker, i decided to put the others in too..... Hodge was pretty damn good on the weekend....

Slick said:

For the 19th time - yes. Both clubs are happy with they path thus far. :)

Richmond are happy with the 'smalls' they got (Tambling is 6 foot, Deledio 6'2). Richmond beleived they were the best 2 players avabile thus picked them when had the chance. Im sure Wallace relises problems with KPP's and that will be adressed next draft (sposed to be some gun talls) - similar to you and ruckman/class mids.

Aftering looking at our midfeild on Sunday you can understand why Plough went Lids, Bling, Meyer. After ours A grade mids we fall away badly - Chaffy/Tivendale :(

Nightwolf_69 said:
Yes but because you said Barker, i decided to put the others in too..... Hodge was pretty damn good on the weekend....

I said Barker because he looks a important Cog to your side. Take him out (ie. Sydney) and your forward line looks sub-standard for VFL level.

Hopefully the injections fix the problem. I've got sciatica in my back and have had two injections which still haven't fixed the problem fully....

I've been told that I won't be able to play footy this season, hopefully Tambo's back problems aren't as severe...

Bentleigh said:
"At least we are not Hawthorn"

:)

:D very true!

I can't wait to see Tambling play...i gotta put him in my dream team now or at least make him an emergency :)

we struggle with his type. if he played, I reckon he would kick a few. We are trying to train macmahon as BP for these types, with mixed success so far.

If Tambling does play who is going out for him? IMO i think it'll be Jackson. I know all of you will say Tivendale, but i don't think TW will drop him yet. He didnt get much game time on sunday so you cant say he had a really bad game. Maybe a game in the 2's for Tivendale would be good like it was for Bowden last year.

Chaffey hopefully.

sante said:
If Tambling does play who is going out for him? IMO i think it'll be Jackson. I know all of you will say Tivendale, but i don't think TW will drop him yet. He didnt get much game time on sunday so you cant say he had a really bad game. Maybe a game in the 2's for Tivendale would be good like it was for Bowden last year.

Tambling hobbled off Punt Road today after suffering some sort of injury to his knee or back. Not sure. As he walked towards the player's race, he kicked one of the nearby footballs in frustration it seemed. I really feel for the kid. Hasn't even had his AFL debut, and is already struggling just to get fit. Shame. :(

metallichris said:
Tambling hobbled off Punt Road today after suffering some sort of injury to his knee or back. Not sure. As he walked towards the player's race, he kicked one of the nearby footballs in frustration it seemed. I really feel for the kid. Hasn't even had his AFL debut, and is already struggling just to get fit. Shame. :(

You serious? Thtas some damn bad luck...

metallichris said:

Not good.

metallichris said:
Wallace just said on WLF that he might be out for up to 4 weeks. Not overly concerned but due to the nature of the injury wants to take the cautious approach. Good call i'd say the kids only very light so they'd be mad not to ease him in,his body hasn't stood up so far so time for the cotton wool. At his age and with his frame it's a real worry,hope he gets over it quickly but at 18 he's got loads of time.

arrrrrgggggggghhhhhhhh! im getting annoyed! but i certainly dont want TW rushing him. hopefully he has a speedy recovery. carn Tambo! :cool:

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/fo...5E19742,00.html

PRIZE Richmond draft pick Richard Tambling failed to finish training yesterday, ruling him out of a long-awaited debut on Sunday.

Tambling's back injury flared when tackled late in the session and the Tigers are poised to rest him for at least another week.

At best, the exciting 18-year-old will ease his way in through the VFL this weekend. But the worst-case scenario is two to three weeks on the sidelines.

"We'll see how he is , but judging by what happened today he'd be unlikely (to play)," football manager Paul Armstrong said last night. "We've always said we'd wait until he is 100 per cent right."

with Mark Stevens

well that settles it

give the kid a month off to get over his back complaint and after that if his back is fine bring him back through Coburg for match experience.

True Rodney.
The signs are there.
Another injury prone star ???

I think we'd all love to see Tambling sooner than later but as a few have said, he's 18. Adjusting to the rigours of AFL and a pre-season would be tough for anyone, so lets not call him injury prone just yet. Absence make the heart grow fonder they say, the Tiger faithful will be in an absolute frenzy by the time he debuts in about Round 8. :)