Croat tiger

10k Posts
HŠK Zrinjski Mostar
In hindsight it was the smartest move RFC made getting rid of him...he's prove to after this year he is our most overrated recruit ever IMO. I remember when he was just raw 18 year old kid watching him in a praccy match at princes park against the lions before 2005 season thinking him and lids were absolute guns.I was so excited I even text my late friend about how good he was...they both played like seasoned veterans kicking the ball around lace out and cutting the lions defence to ribbons...alas the was one the last few times I saw the him play well since that game....5 years of excuses and disappointment was enough. It was a big call to get rid of him at the time but it has proven to be the correct one, well done tiges!

good call, it was also a crab move by adelaide to go after tambling. I would have prefered Andrew Walker but that was going to be very diffcult after getting Sam Jacobs and not wanting to trade away our first round draft pick.

Most of us are prepared to wait for a full season under Sanderson before casting judgement on Tambling. If I had to call it now then it'd be a write-off, but I'm willing to wait.

Oh, and to say that we'd have been better off with Walker is just rubbish - we wouldn't have played him as our primary key forward and so wouldn't have seen the improvement that he showed at Carlton this year.

I think there are some topics we need to move on from. I really believed Tambling had something, and i can honestly say he has been one of the biggest disappointments i have seen at Richmond (and it has nothing to do with Franklin). Did we make an error in not giving him time on the ball as a mid? We are still debating that now with Lids.
I'm glad he's moved on, and i'm glad Adelaide supporters are trying to support him. It will be interesting to see what the compo pick brings.

Most of us are prepared to wait for a full season under Sanderson before casting judgement on Tambling. If I had to call it now then it'd be a write-off, but I'm willing to wait.

Oh, and to say that we'd have been better off with Walker is just rubbish - we wouldn't have played him as our primary key forward and so wouldn't have seen the improvement that he showed at Carlton this year.

This, I still hope he can turn it around, but he needs to play with more urgency and desire - has the tools but needs to get the heart

:thumbsu:As Turtle and Captain Blood said, time to move on.
Let's concentrate on who is actually at our club and who we are going to get to our club, not who's not.
I find it intriguing that when the media and former players bring up our so-called recruiting woes and highlight them we all go on the defensive and roll the eyes about it all being said before.
Yet we have people on here who constantly rehash the same stuff.
LET IT GO!

"he's prove to after this year he is our most overrated recruit ever IMO."

JON.

At least bling has played 100+ games, and could still be a 100+ player for Adelaide. Will be interesting to watch him this year under a new coach.

"he's prove to after this year he is our most overrated recruit ever IMO."

JON.

At least bling has played 100+ games, and could still be a 100+ player for Adelaide. Will be interesting to watch him this year under a new coach.

Richard Lounder.

pick 1. 4 games

Famously described as being built like a brick shithouse, and being almost as mobile as one.

Richard Lounder.

pick 1. 4 games

Famously described as being built like a brick shithouse, and being almost as mobile as one.

It's even better than that.

1st game - 6 kicks, 4 goals. Stood in the goalsquare and they couldn't move him.
Entire career - 9 kicks, 5 goals. Stood in the goalsquare and couldn't move himself.

Famously, Richmond sent a specialist conditioning trainer to improve his overall fitness. The trainer turned up at 10:00 Sunday morning and Lounder was ripping the top off his 2nd stubby, while watching World Of Sport replay with a bucket of KFC in his lap.

It's even better than that.

1st game - 6 kicks, 4 goals. Stood in the goalsquare and they couldn't move him.
Entire career - 9 kicks, 5 goals. Stood in the goalsquare and couldn't move himself.

Famously, Richmond sent a specialist conditioning trainer to improve his overall fitness. The trainer turned up at 10:00 Sunday morning and Lounder was ripping the top off his 2nd stubby, while watching World Of Sport replay with a bucket of KFC in his lap.

The breakfast of champions. I'm sure he was a champion in the country leagues/SANFL with that kind of preperation.

Back on topic, Tamblings a decent player. Clearly not worth the pick he went for, but if he'd been taken with pick 50+, everyone would be saying he was a bargain.

Not sure - I used to think that too. If he was taken Pick 50, he would have been given a set task - probably tagger or shutdown HBF. Maybe a run as a forward pocket. The only good games he played were as a loose man off half-back - he was given a chance there because he was Pick 4. Doubtful a Pick 50 showing as little as he showed would have been given as many chances.

He got to 100+ games purely because TW and GM were trying hard to hide the shit that was the 2004 draft...all the excuses and all the BS was pure spin and the tigerheads sat and waited for what wasnt going to happen.
Its so ****ing obvious looking at who is left from the "fab 4", what a laugh, "fab 4"...They hid Meyer in the 2s forever and had Bling in the 1s putting him on a HBF to get touches, and were "impressed" by Patto's trying hard to look like he could cut it, but never was going to....
I will say it once again and for the last time, whatever went down in the 2004 draft ruined us for a decade. The excuse on why we didnt opt for Buddy was that they were worried about his mental capacity to apply himself to the game. And then we pick up someone that needed witch doctors brought in from the amazon to find a cure for his mental demons...nuff said...move on, the dude is a year from having his file stamped at the crows...his inclusion has coincided with their scintillating rise to the top...just like ours..;)

In hindsight it was the smartest move RFC made getting rid of him...he's prove to after this year he is our most overrated recruit ever IMO.

Pretty stupid comment when you consider Richmond are yet to use the compensation pick we received in return for Tambling.
Admittedly Tambling didn't come close to reaching the expectations placed on him at Tigerland as a result of his high draft place... but I personally would like to see him go on a play solid football for Adelaide. A new coach coupled with a full and injury-free pre-season, it is possible. History would suggest not likely, but it is possible all the same.

time to move on, but if anyone was to ask me - i'd have to say that RFC failed Tambling.

He clearly had the potential, the club at the time was the wrong one for him.

Thats what gets me though, how come we can't nurture the young talent as effectively as other clubs? Maybe buddy wouldn't be as good if we got him lol.

Pretty stupid comment when you consider Richmond are yet to use the compensation pick we received in return for Tambling.
Admittedly Tambling didn't come close to reaching the expectations placed on him at Tigerland as a result of his high draft place... but I personally would like to see him go on a play solid football for Adelaide. A new coach coupled with a full and injury-free pre-season, it is possible. History would suggest not likely, but it is possible all the same.

Why do you say that?...our recruiting department has improved heaps since 2004...stop being negative and have some faith that they'll use the pick wisely.

I am by no means being negative and suggesting that RFC won't use the pick wisely. Our most recent drafting would suggest that is exactly what we will do.
I just think until that time... the true value in trading Tambling won't be known until that trade is done and perhaps not until after that pick (or trade) has played a couple of seasons in the yellow and black. As well as how Tambling goes in that same period for the Crows.

I am by no means being negative and suggesting that RFC won't use the pick wisely. Our most recent drafting would suggest that is exactly what we will do.
I just think until that time... the true value in trading Tambling won't be known until that trade is done and perhaps not until after that pick (or trade) has played a couple of seasons in the yellow and black. As well as how Tambling goes in that same period for the Crows.

Believe me brah when I tell you not even tambling himself doesn't even care how he goes at his new club. I've always found him to be a very lazy disinterested footballer that likes $$$$$ more than actually playing the game.

Yeah I've seen him at training absolutely dazzle. He got himself to training 300km each way in the top end. Buddy could have been Angwin

I don't reckon it was a stupid decision to take him. Only in hindsight, in which case we probably should have taken James Hird when he went in the 100's.

I wish him well.

Tambling has and always had the talent, he's just had a series of issues. Inbetween his constant injuries (the only year where he had a full preseason was 09, and he absolutely shined), and the confidence issues he developed after the constant Buddy comparisons, he just never really got a chance to show what he could do.

Even with all of these problems, he still put his body on the line at every contest and tried his hard out for the team, and he deserves to be applauded for that.

He got to 100+ games purely because TW and GM were trying hard to hide the shit that was the 2004 draft...all the excuses and all the BS was pure spin and the tigerheads sat and waited for what wasnt going to happen.
Its so ****ing obvious looking at who is left from the "fab 4", what a laugh, "fab 4"...They hid Meyer in the 2s forever and had Bling in the 1s putting him on a HBF to get touches, and were "impressed" by Patto's trying hard to look like he could cut it, but never was going to....
I will say it once again and for the last time, whatever went down in the 2004 draft ruined us for a decade. The excuse on why we didnt opt for Buddy was that they were worried about his mental capacity to apply himself to the game. And then we pick up someone that needed witch doctors brought in from the amazon to find a cure for his mental demons...nuff said...move on, the dude is a year from having his file stamped at the crows...his inclusion has coincided with their scintillating rise to the top...just like ours..;)

lol well put , who gives a toss about mental capacity as long as they can get the ball and kick it.........

Yeah I've seen him at training absolutely dazzle. He got himself to training 300km each way in the top end. Buddy could have been Angwin

I don't reckon it was a stupid decision to take him. Only in hindsight, in which case we probably should have taken James Hird when he went in the 100's.

I wish him well.

Well said. Easy to be smart in hindsight I guess. Also you should change your sig after knocking off the gunners!

And he always seemed like a down to earth, all round nice guy. Wish him the best of luck. Not his fault that we picked him at 4 (like many other teams would have).