Tattoos

Storm, Spurs, Socceroos
I'm a bit of a fan of Tattoos, depending on the art, and I'm wondering if others out there are getting or have stuff done.

I have one of my own, which a few guys here have seen(a Hawk on the ribs), and know that quite a few posters here have ink of their own already as a tribute to the 2008 GF.

Feel free to add pics of your work, or stuff that you like.

It's worth remembering though....
tattoo-map.jpg

And as a cautionary and hilarious adjunct to the OP, check out our own wild man's account of removing his own tattoos. Thanks Noosa, you are truly unique.

Noosa's tale of pain and longnecks.

Now, back on topic and on with the show.

I have the traditional Basque swastika, the lauburu, on my shoulder.

I'm thinking about some other things to get, but haven't got around to it yet

I have a couple of tribute tatts so far, one for my kids, which I need to add the new additions name to, and one for my old man who passed away a few years ago.
Visited High Voltage Tattoos (LA Ink) in West Hollywood last year and was lucky enough to meet and talk to Kat Van D for about 10 minutes, she was very cool and hot as hell.
Will definitely be adding to the collection this year.
I will be following this thread with interest and hope to see some of our BF Hawks ink work soon.

That's a nice bit of work there Bradway.

What studio?

I have a sleeve in the works. It's a theme, and the artist has agreed to do it. I'm looking at a good sized fee just for him to draw it up though, and from there the real money starts to get sucked.
I really like his stuff though, he has a really unique style, and I guess the waiting time shows I'm not on my own.
l_449ab95c370148f0a101e875ecfc833e.jpg

Justin Acca - Devils Ink studio, Newport, Vic.

G man that is definitely one of the best sleeves I have ever seen.
All the images are clear and defined and the colors are awesome, unlike most sleeves where the images just blur into each other and are almost unrecognisable.
That is a seriously beautiful tattoo which now has me rethinking the tatt I was going to get this year.

I had mine done at Down to Earth in North Essendon.
I had the back and my right arm done in one day over nine hours.
The one on the arm I barely flinched, the one the back hurt a lot.

Yeah, my first and only tatt is on my ribs.
Bad choice, pain-wise.

I can understand your change of thoughts after seeing his work. I had a similar feeling about what I wanted after seeing the colour and dynamics in his work.
Check out his site. He's got some seriously good stuff in his folio.

This piece is actually on the arm of the studios receptionist.
l_77f230f589044b758d3d228d72f4b1db.jpg

Is this the tat you have on your back ga-loooooon?
Nah, mine looks like this.

25143_370558645718_662470718_4867221_1408526_n.jpg

Only with shading and colour, which has since been added.

I have the old 80s power hawk top left arm. Looks good, but I never wear a singlet so yellow has stayed in good nick.

I want to get something for my son. I was going to get him to write his name on me (where suggestions?) or was looking getting his name done as a band on my arm. Am unsure but very very keen. Price not really worried about. I aren't one for picture tatts of him

Also for a great Hawk tatt look at Furns pic on Big Footy. It looks mean :thumbsu:

Ah, you're all a bunch of Dayne Beams wannabe's....

Guess I can expect a card for that, right?

Seriously, I just don't get the bogan stickers...whatever works for ya, I guess.
The only difference between a tattooed person and a person who isn't tattooed is that a tattooed person doesn't judge if you're tattooed or not.

Nice.:thumbsu:

Although you could insert the word 'chlamydia' for tattoo and it still works.

Anyhoos, I'm outa here before Noosa awakens and kicks my arse.....

Good call Taita...don't think I want Noosa after me.

Galon - not judging mate, just figured someone should present a contrary point of view...and really, Collingwood players are bringing the reputation of tattoos down so far that I felt it my duty to remind you of the company you are keeping...yeah, ok, I'll shut up now.

Dane Swans art is actually pretty good stuff.

Beams, to my eyes, is just a bunch of random symbols and overused themes thrown together with some flames.

Dane Swans art is actually pretty good stuff.

Beams, to my eyes, is just a bunch of random symbols and overused themes thrown together with some flames.

Now this part, I can agree with.

The part about tatts I've never understood is, no matter how good the art - why would you want to wear the same piece every day?

Its simply a concept I don't understand.

Strangely enough, I kinda felt the same about having kids until I had my own (could never understand why anyone would want to, to be honest) but now i love it - maybe its that same with tatts!

Getting back to tatts - taking the brown & gold glasses off for a second, what do you think of Buddy's tatts?

I'm in two minds about them, personally.

On the positive side, they seem to be original designs and hold significance personally to Buddy, but on the negative side, the overall effect is minimal. What I mean by that is, when you look at Buddy, you don't really see the images he has tattooed on his forearm, you simply see a lot of green-ish ink that really, could be pretty much anything.

Overall though - I'm not sure the tatt's either improve his appearance or detract, but I guess as a hetro bloke I'm probably not in a position to judge.

Each to his or her own.

I have this disturbing image of nursing homes in 30 years time being filled with men and woman with generic celtic band tatts... saggy skin...

Now this part, I can agree with.

The part about tatts I've never understood is, no matter how good the art - why would you want to wear the same piece every day?

Its simply a concept I don't understand.

Strangely enough, I kinda felt the same about having kids until I had my own (could never understand why anyone would want to, to be honest) but now i love it - maybe its that same with tatts!

S'pose the difference is that your attitudes and beliefs evolve over time (ie: having children) but your art cannot.

Truth be known, even old mate Noosa has bought a tattoo removal laser and is charging plenty for the service.

What seems really right for you now may not be how you want to be 'branded' or even 'believe in', in twenty years - Hawks tatts aside of course.

Getting back to tatts - taking the brown & gold glasses off for a second, what do you think of Buddy's tatts?

I'm in two minds about them, personally.

On the positive side, they seem to be original designs and hold significance personally to Buddy, but on the negative side, the overall effect is minimal. What I mean by that is, when you look at Buddy, you don't really see the images he has tattooed on his forearm, you simply see a lot of green-ish ink that really, could be pretty much anything.

Overall though - I'm not sure the tatt's either improve his appearance or detract, but I guess as a hetro bloke I'm probably not in a position to judge.
Honestly, I think Buds tatt is fantastic, as it's a tribute to his ancestry and is pretty unique as well.
It certainly makes more sense than some of the guys who get full oriental pieces, when they're Caucasian and in no way involved in Asian customs or way of life. That's just my opinion though.

I don't think it matters what it looks like to those from afar though, as it's the actual piece and the style in which it's been compiled that gives it it's charm.

If it's unique, and it's 'you', then it's not really something that can be viewed as disposable like a shirt, so it doesn't really come down to 'wearing', it's more of an extension of yourself or a part of who you are. I mean, they literally become a part of you.

Of course, people may grow out of the idea they once thought was brilliant, but I reckon that's more to do with the sort of tatts that are picked out off the studio wall on a whim on a Sat'd arvo, than the 'themed' ones that you see.

In saying that though, they'll always be trends, and there does seem to be some pretty average ideas getting rehashed on quite a few teens who are just old enough to get ink done. Chest pieces on girls and the current trend of 'bows' for example...I just don't get.

laced-up-bow-tattoos.jpg

bow-tattoos.jpg

I mean seriously....WTF? Someone needed to tell these girls below that the ink is permanent.
game-of-life-tattoo-1.jpg

tattoo.jpg

Chest-Tattoo-Design-2011.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: