Ytoojae

LA Angels, Blazers, Patriots
I know there's a thread dedicated to the injury already (torn ACL). However, I received a phone call a few moments ago from someone that I know at the club (the one who told me about the sponsorship deal still being on a month before it was officially announced as being done).

It appears that Fish is certainly considering retirement after this injury. Results of the medical stuff will determine that.

In case it is, I'd like to say -- Thanks Brad.

I could see how much effort he had put into the game over the off-season and there was no doubt that he was in for a big season. He appeared to have regained that extra something that he didn't appear to have last season.

So rather than talking of the injury, allow this thread to be the thread where you input your memories of Brad.

I remember the game back in 2003 (I think it was) against the Eagles. IIRC it was the same game that he did his knee the first time in. However, the marking and courage that he displayed in that game made him one of my favorite Blues for the time. One of the few times that I've cried when a non-star player was injured because at that point he appeared he could be anything and would be a crucial part of our rebuilding.

What are your memories of the often underrated Fisher?

He certainly took some great marks hitting the pack from the side. A great pair of hands at times. I always hoped for him to produce more goals but unfortunately he is limited with distance. Still been a good journey for the man and if this rumour is true, thanks Fish and good luck !

Brad's 3 late 3rd quarter goals got us on top of Sydney in round 16 2009 after a very ordinary first half. We hadn't beaten the Swans since round 8 of 2000.

In this particular play, Fish presents as a link up coming out of defense and then keeps running to present and take a mark in the forward line, and the best part -for everyone who says he can't kick over 30 meters:

[YOUTUBE]zYDe-paMdI4[/YOUTUBE]

There was a goal where an unmarked Fisher just ran in and slammed it through from post high from 30 to put the nail in the coffin of a side.

Love those goals. :)

The Richmond free against Fiora is the one I will remember.

Frawley said he was shocked that Fisher was 192 cms and tall enough to outmark Fiora.

What a coach. :o

I just feel so sorry for him. He was busting his arse at training and IMO was equal BOG with Bower before he hurt his knee. I truly hope it's not as bad as it seems and he can somehow salvage his career.

I echo your sentiments, Toad. He appeared to be on his way to a helluva season if he could've kept that play up. Was one of the few on the ground who looked like a man possessed.

premature...

Exactly.

I would really love to see Fisher run out in the Navy Blues once again. He looked to be in great shape and had a very solid preseason. Wish him the best on recovery.

I think that honestly if he requires a knee reconstruction then Fisher will most likely pull the pin on his career ...

At his age (and history of injury problems) he has to also think about his quality of life after football, a lot of footy players who suffered chronic knee problems throughout their career (IE Royce Hart) later on suffer from Arthritis and other painful medical conditions ...

10 years ago he probably would have tried to go on, but now players these days are much more ready to face life after football, and Fish has to take into account how his body can hold up anymore, especially with his outside footy interests (IE studying for university degree and/or running his own business) and more importantly if/when he has kids, will he be able to pick them up and play with them like any other father ???

Footy and chronic injuries do have long-lasting repurcussions on the players, and it should be up to Fisher and his Doctor's to decide what's the best outcome ...
But if it is the end, well he does deserve our warmest thanks for giving the club years of good service, even though the dark times.

The sad truth is that if he needs a full reco, his career is already over. Even sadder is that he's marooned on 98 games.

Hopefully it's only a minor injury and he can get those two games he needs to get his name on the #14 locker.

Even if he can't get to 100 games, I still believe Fish deserves to get Life Membership from the club (if he hasn't already)

If he hasn't already got it then he should for damn sure.

How many injuries has he overcome? How many more games would he have played had he not been injured? Easily more than the two necessary for the 100-game club.

I think the truth is that he was fighting for his position past this season and the only thing that would have saved him is if he had a ripper of a season. This injury potentially eliminates any possibility of that.

I'd rather he bow out with an injury than to read the dreaded headline "Fisher delisted despite rehabilitating his injury". It doesn't reflect well on the club to delist a player who is rehabbing from injury. I remember when we got Japo from the Saints years back a lot of Saints fans didn't forgive the club for that one for years afterward. While Fish isn't as good as Japo was he's a popular guy around the club.

It will be a great shame for fish to bow out in this fashion after helping the club through the difficult patch.

If he does bow out, I hope that the club will go out of their way to give him a life membership for services rendered.

50888738.jpg

How good were his hands for a skinny marking forward?

It's arguable that his knee reconstruction cost him any pace and running ability that he had pre-injury.

Fisher was very good as a lead up forward in the year that he kicked 39 goals.

I don't think he can come back from another knee reconstruction.

Definitely deserves life membership after you count pre-season games and injuries that cost him at least a year of his career.

Was continuing on from his (I must say unexpected) great pre-season form. With the lack of targets up forward I was beginning to think that he might just be able to prove many of us wrong and have a fairly productive season up forward - alas, not to be! Reckon it's too early to say he'll retire - he's still relatively young, but the fact that he's now done the same knee twice may be the deciding factor.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/fisher-faces-new-reconstruction-20100221-onvr.html

CARLTON fears Brad Fisher will need another knee reconstruction and miss the season after he tore his anterior cruciate ligament during Saturday night's NAB Cup loss to Sydney.

Another problem is that I believe Fish is out of contract at the end of the season, and Fish has always been a great clubman, but I really think that we're probably seen the last of Fisher in a Carlton jumper, because as I said before, he also has to think about his quality of life after football (as I say, players in the past who suffered multiple knee injuries suffered great pain after they retired, RE Royce Hart)

Regardless, I wish nothing but Fish all the best for the future, and It would be just so terrible that he never got to 100 games.

I wonder if the Malceski solution would work for him? If he's a candidate, it might get him back by mid-year.

This may be the only way for him. If he decides the traditional way is best I think he might just be done. But if can get back before the season's end and perhaps play a couple of decent games it may well just save is career.