The Chopper

Blackpool FC Perth Glory FC
Mayne hasn't got his own thread in the wash up after the match against Hawthorn.

Surely he has earnt a selection for the next match?

was very impressed with Mayne.. hoping he plays against the budgies next week :thumbsu:

he ran around like a headless chook at times but thats to be expected

he's very similar to dale thomas

a real utility with excellent agression and defensive qualities, and a bit of flair when he's going forward

i'm excited :thumbsu:

One of the highlights of the coverage was when they showed how nervous his Mum was as he was lining up for his first shot at goal and then how excited she was after he kicked it.

She looked like a bit of a milf from what I could see too.

He seemed to spend a fair bit of time on the bench, but I loved his work when he was on. Would've been nice to see him back himself and shoot from long range when he was charging into the 50 in the first quarter instead of trying to handball over to an out of position Purple Jesus, but I guess that just comes with experience.

I think he's suited to playing as a specialist half forward, and I'd much rather see us play him on one of the flanks rather than picking an extra midfielder and trying to fit them in on one of the flanks.

Apart from the piece of play where he open enough a ping from 50 (instead of handballing off), I thought he did well. Looks like he could be a Brett Burton type forward

I like the comparison to Dayle Thomas, he has the flair, hair and abit of excitement.

I liked the confidence he showed last night, despite fluffing a kick early on ending with Farmer kicking it out. I like the fact he was going for it. He learnt abit from that, was abit quicker all round after that.

He had a great game, good kick, quick and was very classy. Hes going to be something very good. We've missed someone like Mayne and was an inspired pick, thus far anyway.

I was more impressed with Palmer but that doesnt mean Chopper wasnt any good. He was very impressive and showed he deserved to stay in the 22.

Mayne was good i thought. palmer was the most impressive of the youngsters, but i guess that was always to be expected.

i guess on a day when there wasnt really much to be happy about. palmer, mayne and ibbotson were pluses although ibbo made a few mistakes.

I found his hunger for the ball something exciting to see. Some regular players could learn from his willingness to go for the ball.

Slightly off topic, he looks like he is doing the job that Crowley was doing in our run in 2006. I can't see why Crowley is in the back line.

Do you reckon he has the height to develop into a fully fledged KPP?

I reckon with Palmer, Ibbo & Foster and also O'Brien & Hinkley we really do have some promising midfielders coming through.

But it appears as though Drum is the only "tall" player we have waiting in the wings at the moment.

If Mayne can develop into a serious target up forward, he could really be something. I really like the look of him. His debut was good, and his performance in the scratchie against North impressed me heaps.