The Cotchin-Caddy Paradox

Jono_Hain97

Dec 25, 2014
Trent Cotchin has been back to his brilliant best this year and I put it down (mostly) to the arrival of Josh caddy! Fans have expressed disappointment at Caddy's output so far, as he hasn't set the world on fire (at least as far as possessions go).

But he is a strong-bodied player, who attracts two or three tacklers any time he picks up the ball! He also is monitored closely at stoppages, and his inside work, has given Cotchin more freedom.

He is now relishing the space afforded to him, and as a result his disposal once again has become incredibly damaging (to the opposition)!

Caddy's numbers may not be great, but his impact certainly has been. I'd much rather Cotchin get 25-30 effective disposals per game and caddy only get 10-15, than the other way around!

I know they are professionals but they are humans too. Changing Clubs has it's mental demands and from all reports Caddy is a bit if a different cat. I'm not expecting huge things of Caddy this season and thank goodness he has an old mate in Prestia. Fitting in and getting through the different levels of respect every Club has takes time. He'll still feel a little out of his comfort zone I'd suggest.

Was always going to be an asset to release Cotchin

I know they are professionals but they are humans too. Changing Clubs has it's mental demands and from all reports Caddy is a bit if a different cat. I'm not expecting huge things of Caddy this season and thank goodness he has an old mate in Prestia. Fitting in and getting through the different levels of respect every Club has takes time. He'll still feel a little out of his comfort zone I'd suggest.

Was always going to be an asset to release Cotchin

Good news if he is.

Richmond is full of "different" cats, I think our footy club is fairly to a few others in terms of recreational culture.

As a supporter, & as a person I love that Richmond has a very inclusive culture.

Good news if he is.

Richmond is full of "different" cats, I think our footy club is fairly to a few others in terms of recreational culture.

As a supporter, & as a person I love that Richmond has a very inclusive culture.

Think Rance and Houli drive the inclusiveness culture as much as anyone, but you can be as inclusive as you want and still some will struggle to fit in, and it will be as much as who they are as how they are accepted - it's plain group dynamics.

Jumping into a new group of 50 blokes takes time for some, and it's easy as pie for others. Caddy is on his third Club culture change, and I know he struggled a bit at Gold Coast (know a little from a couple of ex players there). Noises coming from Geelong sounded similar. He's matured a bit more and will approach this a bit differently I suspect.

Caddy doesn't have to be great. He just has to be a good quality substitute for Cotch/Dusty inside of forward. He does that. So rather than Cotch doing the grunt work, he gets freedom to dominate. When Caddy goes forward he must be marked closely. That frees up other players and causes the opposition to work to our structure. Depth in quality can make your top end look so much better - because they are freed up to do the good stuff.

he's shown enough for me to think he might become very good. But he is not at the level of Cotch ()or Dusty) He is though, a better quality than Miles. That's the key

I rewatched the game last night. It's amazing how much more you pick up on television than live. The only thing of note I noticed about Caddy live on Saturday was the clean pick up of the ball in the fourth quarter, which did get me out of my seat, it was awesome to see, but after watching the replay, man he was actually really really good in the last quarter. I feel like Caddy is really going to come into his own in the shit weather. Looking forward to seeing it.

Caddy doesn't have to be great. He just has to be a good quality substitute for Cotch/Dusty inside of forward. He does that. So rather than Cotch doing the grunt work, he gets freedom to dominate. When Caddy goes forward he must be marked closely. That frees up other players and causes the opposition to work to our structure. Depth in quality can make your top end look so much better - because they are freed up to do the good stuff.

he's shown enough for me to think he might become very good. But he is not at the level of Cotch ()or Dusty) He is though, a better quality than Miles. That's the key

This. Last week I think it was a mark Jack took almost uncontested 10-15 metres in front of goal, as caddy did an awesome job keeping his man away from the contest. 6 points to Jack. No stat to Caddy but that's what he's there for.

I rewatched the game last night. It's amazing how much more you pick up on television than live. The only thing of note I noticed about Caddy live on Saturday was the clean pick up of the ball in the fourth quarter, which did get me out of my seat, it was awesome to see, but after watching the replay, man he was actually really really good in the last quarter. I feel like Caddy is really going to come into his own in the shit weather. Looking forward to seeing it.

I think he will be a bit like Daniel Jackson. You don't really realise the work they do until they are not there.

I agree with you. Even when he doesn't get a lot of stats Caddy makes our team look so much better.

No doubt he's making an impact. He just needs to start finding more of the pill which I think he will once they get used to playing with each other. He makes the opposition nervous when he goes forward and his spurts through the midfield have been about imposing his physicality. It means Cotch doesn't have to do it as often and can be more damaging on the outside. All trending in the right direction so far I reckon

Whilst l understand and dont doubt the impact Caddy has had on Cotchin and our coaching staff to be more flexible, he needs to lift - because there will come a point where the opposition will find him not as relevant.

He needs to stop being lazy, ie he runs far much forward of the ball (some would say cheat). He chose Richmond because he wanted to be recognised for his "midfield" ability, which he wasnt getting at Geelong. Yet, he has been slow to prove a point. I certainly wouldnt trust him in the centre square from the efforts he's put in... which is a worry as Conca - who, through all the criticism from Tigers supporters and the injuries... he's going past him.

There is an argument to say that its Conca helping Cotchin become more effective than Josh.

I dont want to be overly critical... but it just comes down to working harder. He's at his 3rd club now and time is ticking... we need him to grow up quickly.

The biggest upgrade has been the best-friend improvement.

Lambert & Marcon to Prestia & Caddy..

Hyundai's to muscle cars.
Georgie and the butler might have something to say about that

Think Rance and Houli drive the inclusiveness culture as much as anyone, but you can be as inclusive as you want and still some will struggle to fit in, and it will be as much as who they are as how they are accepted - it's plain group dynamics.

Jumping into a new group of 50 blokes takes time for some, and it's easy as pie for others. Caddy is on his third Club culture change, and I know he struggled a bit at Gold Coast (know a little from a couple of ex players there). Noises coming from Geelong sounded similar. He's matured a bit more and will approach this a bit differently I suspect.
what do you mean? struggle to fit in? or to make friends?

Between 2011 and last season, Cotchin’s average contested possessions per game ranged from 11.5 to 12.3 – pretty consistent over more than 100 games. This season so far, it’s jumped to 14.7. http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-richmond-tigers--trent-cotchin?advv=Y

I’d say Cotchin is benefitting from Cotchin winning more inside footy, rather than Caddy helping him out.

The Cotchin-Caddy Paradox