The Equation is.....

• Thread starter Thread starter mattys123

People need to chill and take a deep breath.
It was always going to be difficult to beat WCE in Perth with the players we had missing and the way we have played the last couple of weeks.
But we have been written off before and have responded accordingly.
We WILL beat Essendon next week, make no mistakes about it.
WCE will struggle to beat the hawks at the G, so probability wise, they are more likely to lose that win.

If we finish 4th, we are a better chance of making a GF than those placed 5-8, it's basic math.
I have no doubt that if we play our best footy we can beat everyone between 2-8 (excluding ourselves), Hawthorn on the other hand is a bit of an unknown on that front.

PS: Thanks for hijacking my thread Matty. ;)

Haha, I didn't see your thread, and as you can see I added the "please merge" comment in the OP.

Anyway, cmon Hawks, 2 finals at the MCG, even if we lose both of them is better then nothing, especially after the season from hell we've had on and off the field.

Haha, I didn't see your thread, and as you can see I added the "please merge" comment in the OP.

Anyway, cmon Hawks, 2 finals at the MCG, even if we lose both of them is better then nothing, especially after the season from hell we've had on and off the field.
I have no doubt that we can beat 6 of the other 7 teams in the 8 if we play our best.
Go Pies!!!!

Essendon this Saturday night could be the perfect tonic for our finals campaign, we will win, Essendon are physically and mentally gone. This is something we haven't done in a while (going into the finals off a win) so hopefully it re-instills some confidence in the boys.

Going into the finals, I'm confident we can beat anyone. The main concern is Hawthorn, if we are slightly down we will lose. However (presuming we play them first week of the finals) a finals atmosphere and the fact we will be underdogs can do amazing things to the mind!

West Coast with Jolly, Maxy and Krak in Melbourne will be a totally different affair. I'm still confident of making a grand final, whether we win or not is another matter.

Should we beat the Bombers and Hawthorn roll WCE, odds are we'll get rolled by Hawthorn in the QF, then play WCE or Freo at the G for a shot at Swans or Crows in a PF.

After round 3 I'd have taken that in a heartbeat. Hawthorn also likely to get Geelong in their PF.

Granted our form has been ordinary but if I gave up hope, I would see little reason to come on here anymore until trade week. :(

... when Essendon were spanked by Carlton and Richmond in consecutive weeks. They're shot. Gone. Kaput. Your vfl reserves side would take care of them...

You obviously haven't been following Collingwood's VFL team :)

Alanis Morissett had a song about what could happen over the next two weeks.

Hawks beat West Coast (saving our position in the top 4)
Pies nail the Bombers (gaining much needed confidence)
Pies upset the Hawks in the Qualifying Final (re-opening the wounds from last year)

Isn't it ironic, don't you think?

With one week to play, it is still technically possible for us to finish equal top of the table (but fifth on percentage)

It'd happen if we beat Essendon (likely), West Coast beat Hawthorn (possible), Geelong at home beat Swans (likely) and Adelaide ends up W1 L1 v Melbourne and Suns (Yeah, that one is unlikely)

But how crazy is that? :eek:

It has been a very even season. Unfortunately its other teams that are peaking at the end of the season when we're spluttering.

Sounds familiar. :mad:

In other news, we now have like 30 AFL experienced players to play next year and should get Keeffe and Ball back which will be good!
This year has been a let down, but hey - new coach, 4 ACL's, heaps of other injuries, etc. to make top 5 has been awesome.

Bucks will have the team fit and firing for what looks to be a promising 2013 campaign. If Cloke leaves that gives us a spare $600,000 that could be offered to another great player. We don't need an amazing CHF and/or FF to win flags. Geelong had so much success just with Mooney as their main man.
Let's just get some perspective - Cloke can not be paid more than $600,000 based on his year. $500,000 is even to much.

Let's move on and start supporting the Melbourne Stars! (20/20 cricket!)

In other news, we now have like 30 AFL experienced players to play next year and should get Keeffe and Ball back which will be good!
This year has been a let down, but hey - new coach, 4 ACL's, heaps of other injuries, etc. to make top 5 has been awesome.

Bucks will have the team fit and firing for what looks to be a promising 2013 campaign. If Cloke leaves that gives us a spare $600,000 that could be offered to another great player. We don't need an amazing CHF and/or FF to win flags. Geelong had so much success just with Mooney as their main man.
Let's just get some perspective - Cloke can not be paid more than $600,000 based on his year. $500,000 is even to much.

Maybe we could use that Cloke cash to recruit Buddy.... ;)

Guys, we just never know what will happen. Form is a week to week basis thing. I was gutted last night, but still have some hope. Finals are a new kettle of fish and lets hope Bucks has a few strings up his sleeves. You just never know...

We have all the star players who love finals. Wouldn't it be amazing if we won the flag from here?

Guys, we just never know what will happen. Form is a week to week basis thing. I was gutted last night, but still have some hope. Finals are a new kettle of fish and lets hope Bucks has a few strings up his sleeves. You just never know...

We have all the star players who love finals. Wouldn't it be amazing if we won the flag from here?
I remember 2002 like it was yesterday...;)

Just for some perspective, here was our formline going into that 02 finals series:
Rd 15: Lost to Geelong by 28 (they finished 9th)
Rd 16: Beat Richmond by 40 (14th)
Rd 17: Lost to West Coast by 58 (8th)
Rd 18: Beat Carlton by 108 (16th)
Rd 19: Lost to Hawthorn by 8 (10th)
Rd 20: Lost to Essendon by 51 (5th)
Rd 21: Beat St Kilda by 11 (15th)
Rd 22: Lost to Bulldogs by 41 (12th)

So we went 3-5 from the last 8, 2-4 from the last 6 and 1-3 from the last 4.

Port Adelaide had won 18 of their last 20 going into the QF and we had to travel.

We won that and came a couple of umpiring decisions from beating one of the greatest sides of all time and winning a flag.

There is hope. ;)

I remember 2002 like it was yesterday...;)

Just for some perspective, here was our formline going into that 02 finals series:
Rd 15: Lost to Geelong by 28 (they finished 9th)
Rd 16: Beat Richmond by 40 (14th)
Rd 17: Lost to West Coast by 58 (8th)
Rd 18: Beat Carlton by 108 (16th)
Rd 19: Lost to Hawthorn by 8 (10th)
Rd 20: Lost to Essendon by 51 (5th)
Rd 21: Beat St Kilda by 11 (15th)
Rd 22: Lost to Bulldogs by 41 (12th)

So we went 3-5 from the last 8, 2-4 from the last 6 and 1-3 from the last 4.

Port Adelaide had won 18 of their last 20 going into the QF and we had to travel.

We won that and came a couple of umpiring decisions from beating one of the greatest sides of all time and winning a flag.

There is hope. ;)

Always!

:mad: RENEGADES FTW! :D

With one week to play, it is still technically possible for us to finish equal top of the table (but fifth on percentage)

It'd happen if we beat Essendon (likely), West Coast beat Hawthorn (possible), Geelong at home beat Swans (likely) and Adelaide ends up W1 L1 v Melbourne and Suns (Yeah, that one is unlikely)

But how crazy is that? :eek:

It has been a very even season. Unfortunately its other teams that are peaking at the end of the season when we're spluttering.

Sounds familiar. :mad:
After watching the Suns game last night (was there watching the scum suffer) they could quite easily give Adelaide a good run for their money! Especially after the way the crows played against the Lions last week.

If we can snare 4th with a win over Eesendon and a Hawthorn win over WCE, even if we lose to Hawthorn in week 1 on the Friday night most likely, we'll get WCE or Freo off a 6 day break and a brutal derby and they have to travel. We'll be coming off a 7 day break.

Don't mean to intrude buy why are you guys writing off the QF as a loss against Hawthorn should it happen. I still believe yor best is as good as if not better than our best. It's jsut you have no forwards at the moment .If Cloke or Dawes can find form then you would be faouite for the flag imo

because most of our board are a bunch of downies, and it drowns out the rest who are optimistic!

Mate, nobody can go past your mob as flag faves at the moment.
Looking very good at the moment.