nut

I agree in principle in giving Gaspar the shove to allow our younger defenders more game time to improve, but maybe it sent a strong message right throught the side:
Even though you are young we will carry you even though you are not worthy of your spot in the side.
This not aimed at the defenders but every young kid on the list.

We have 40 odd players on the list. Every player MUST earn his spot, earn the right to wear the Jumper, if one player gets a free ride then this sends the wrong message to those who are busting thier guts. Gaspar is not Richmonds future but he should not be replaced until someone positivley proves they are better than him.

Moore and Mcgaune will be handy players but they need more time around experienced players. We still would have lost by heaps with gaspar, but atleast he would have been able to marshall the defence and encourage the cubs.

Wallace has pretty much done a back spin. First he was happy Proping up the list to protect the youngsters with older bodies, now he seems happy to release the kids to the wolves. I think after yesterday I would prefer to finnish 9th Again.

I agree in principle in giving Gaspar the shove to allow our younger defenders more game time to improve, but maybe it sent a strong message right throught the side:
Even though you are young we will carry you even though you are not worthy of your spot in the side.
This not aimed at the defenders but every young kid on the list.

We have 40 odd players on the list. Every player MUST earn his spot, earn the right to wear the Jumper, if one player gets a free ride then this sends the wrong message to those who are busting thier guts. Gaspar is not Richmonds future but he should not be replaced until someone positivley proves they are better than him.

Moore and Mcgaune will be handy players but they need more time around experienced players. We still would have lost by heaps with gaspar, but atleast he would have been able to marshall the defence and encourage the cubs.

Wallace has pretty much done a back spin. First he was happy Proping up the list to protect the youngsters with older bodies, now he seems happy to release the kids to the wolves. I think after yesterday I would prefer to finnish 9th Again.

You're right.

But better a coach that changes tact when things are not going to plan, than one that does a Frawley.

There's no doubt wallace wanted to avoid these kind of losses in his first couple of seasons by easing in new talent alongside senior players that would wear their share of the load.

But they didnt. Gaspar didnt play a lot games last year, and when he did, didnt make a difference.

So he's done a Clarkson later than he should have. Better he did it than stuck to a losing plan. Sign of a good coach that has more than one dimension

Better he did it than stuck to a losing plan. Sign of a good coach that has more than one dimension

Just hope it wont have a negative effect on the young players. It seems the easy way out to me, play kids and blame them.

We may as well drop everyone over 25.

i'm sorry, but last night didnt happen because the kids didn't have one stronger bodied backman - or because the kids were taking it easy - something is not right down there - this match was disturbing

between that absoloute NO effort performance - on the back of gaspar pretty much walking out - hall being suspended - and polo being droped to the coburg 2nds - there is something seriously going on in the playing group - what exactly? who knows - but maybe its time to trade away our senior group at seasons end - i have been a big believer in not dumping our boys - but their is some serious mental issues with this group, which seems to be past down from the senior group to the youth every era since 83:(

i'm sorry, but last night didnt happen because the kids didn't have one stronger bodied backman - or because the kids were taking it easy - something is not right down there - this match was disturbing

between that absoloute NO effort performance - on the back of gaspar pretty much walking out - hall being suspended - and polo being droped to the coburg 2nds - there is something seriously going on in the playing group - what exactly? who knows - but maybe its time to trade away our senior group at seasons end - i have been a big believer in not dumping our boys - but their is some serious mental issues with this group, which seems to be past down from the senior group to the youth every era since 83:(

Questions must be asked about our senior players for sure. Richo, Bowden, Johnson etc........ They have been here long enough. They would should know if it's to do with our culture or not

i will agree on that

Maybe there has been something wrong ... not maybe , we all know there has .... for over twenty years ... and Plough has finally drawn a line in the sand with the playing group like no-one else ever has .

Me and a mate of mine have always said that ST. Kilda have inherent problems that lie culturally with them that have always seen them snatch mediocrity from the jaws of success ... magnified by the talent that they have had on thier list at times .

Problems that have stemmed from the Tail wagging the dog .

Players like Gaspar have been great ... there is no doubting that guys ability up until the last two/three years of his tenure at the club . But look at his career as a whole entity .

Jumped ship from Sydney in pretty ordinary circumstances , if people cast thier minds back we were investigated for draft tampering . Not sure what that says about his character ... played himself into a position where he had us over a barrell and could demand a kings ransom and he knew it ...so we had to fess up dollars , on more than one occasion .

Now .... when you are paying a bloke of his apparent "ilk" that sort of coin ... you would be entitled to think you would get the whole package .... leadership/captain etc . .... but did we ?

What we got was a quiet introverted character who on face value offered very little in the way of on field leadership ...IMHO ... he was a selfish player who did not bring other players into the game or inspire those around him . He worried about his job in shutting his opponent down and very little else .. and when you are only worrying about your job alone and forgetting about team/leadership things , it makes your job a lot easier ;) .. and lets not forget to mention some of those many "efforts"(non) Gas has put in over the recent years .... that is the direction and leadership we have seen our youth get from a bloke who has earned 6-700k a year for the best part of his career

This is but one example ... i suspect that this has had a fair bit to do with Ploughs decision to wave him on .

Once Dale Weightman retired , our on field leadership in that period since , has been close to zero . We had a little bloke called Tony Free who had all the ingredients , but we all know what happened to him , Chris Bond was great , IMHO and i don`t think that it was any coincidence that we had our best 18 - 24 months on field in 20 years when those two were playing , Knighta and Cambo tried , but due to a lack of support and options , were consistently monstered out of games when the blow torch was applied and just did not ever have any real physical presence (see Libba episode:rolleyes: )

So i don`t know ... posted a thread last night .."What is inherently wrong with our club" ... trying to find an answer ? "F..k knows ... i`m sure plough is currently trying to dredge through all his reserves of football experience and knowledge to find that answer .... but one thing i truelly believe is that our leadership issues are pretty close to the core of it ... and i reckon Terry has decided it has to bred out ... going to lead to a bit more pain but what choice do we have ... ?

Absolute disgrace what Richmond did to Gaspar when he had still been doing enough to earn a spot in the side compared with other players. The youth policy excuse was a joke. And while he may have been feeling sorry for his teamates copping a belting against Geelong, he would have been laughing up his sleeve at the people who had a hand in his demise!

dumbest thing tigers ever did was let gasper go

look at this ...

Daniel Jackson. Height: 188 Weight: 90

Kelvin Moore. Height: 190 Weight: 86

Luke McGuane Height: 190 Weight: 76

Will Thursfield Height: 190 Weight: 78

DARREN GASPER HEIGHT: 193 WEIGHT: 90

the four men above gasper are who terry wallace

said would be the contenders of who would replace darren gasper as our full back

now just hearing that scares me

imaging them on the likes of llyod, hall, gherig, pavlich.

[/B]the four men above gasper are who terry wallace

said would be the contenders of who would replace darren gasper as our full back

... ian perrie. :)

Just kidding ... just kidding.

dumbest thing tigers ever did was let gasper go

look at this ...

Daniel Jackson. Height: 188 Weight: 90

Kelvin Moore. Height: 190 Weight: 86

Luke McGuane Height: 190 Weight: 76

Will Thursfield Height: 190 Weight: 78

DARREN GASPER HEIGHT: 193 WEIGHT: 90

the four men above gasper are who terry wallace

yep wallace has got a few things wrong. one of them has been ignoring the kpd problems we have had since well before he came to the club. his refusal to recruit big bodied proven kids is another. there have been a few who have lamented this fact and it is biting us on the arse. another thing he got wrong was hanging onto underperforming duds like gaspar. the bloke cant kick cant run cant make a sound decision and has absolutely no leadership qualities. i suppose 2yrs 5 games late is better than not at all.
also lets look at all the genuine kdp options we have at the club.

hall - 196cm 96kg chb imo a dud but best option at chb atm.
mcguane 191 - 86. chb / fb/ ff atm a third tall option only. in time will become a genuine kpp if he can put some more weight on.
polak - 194 - 93.chb/chf not a backman imo. will play back out of necesity atm.
riewoldt 192 - 86.chb/chf genuinely capable of playing both ends of ground.wont hold down a key position for a couple of yrs at least.
schulz 193 - 95. ff/ fb imo wont make the grade. one of the few on the list with the body type to play fb. should be tried there we have nothing to lose.
thursfield 191 - 83. chb/fb see mcguane.
have not included jackson moore or the bowdens not one is a genuine kdp.

looking at this a big strong fb in the glass mold is a must also a big strong rebounding chb in the mcguire mold is required as well. its also a must we get a high quality ruckman as well. as much as i hate knobels lack of an all round game this yr has shown he is very much needed in the team atm.perhaps we could play knobel on ball and simmonds in the hole down back to help out our undersized backmen atm.

finally wallace is right in getting rid of gaspar theres no place in our team for unskilled rabbits in the spotlight. the gaspars of this world are the cause of our problems not the answer.