The 'Home Brew' Thread

Yes, it is here, the homebrew thread for Hawks and others.

I am interested, who out of our crazy hawks supporters 'brews'?

There are a number of home brew forums that I can include here depending on the number of people interesting in brewing, perhaps we can share what you are brewing, i.e. Beer, Spirits or Wine and types of brew.

For example, I am brewing beer. For those who know me, home brew will save me a fortune given the daily intake of beer for me.

I have recently started brewing but have been meaning to for a couple of years.

My first batch which I bottled last week was a Lager similar to Crown Lager.

My second batch is an American Pale Ale, which I have bottled. It'll be about a month before I can taste how good it is.

My third batch is an IPA.

I can share my favourite American brewers and Australian, as I spent some time in the US and have travelled extensively around Australia. Whereever I travelled I visited the local Microbrewery, and gees is beer cheaper over there! where a pint of beer is around $3 USD and here is more than $8 for a Carlton Draught....enough ranting.

So who is brewing?

Yeah, not brewed myself (yet) GH but my best mate is into it big time as his hobby - the first lesson quickly learned was that you need two brews on the go at all times, it's a long time between drinks.

I'd suggest you consider three.:D

yep I brew :) Have done for maybe 7 years...

Got sick of bottling ages ago, beer goes straight into 19L kegs, gas it up with CO2, away we go.

Make a lot of diff beers, tried all-grain but dont have the time or patience.

Use a few different goop cans, with light dried malt instead of sugars, and always use different hops and yeasts to get the proper results.

I make clones of Stella, James Squire Amber Ale, IPA's, Stout, Irish Red, Hoegaarten, Bavarian Wheat.

All yummy beery goodness :)

There are good forums for info at aussiehomebrewer.com and also the sub-forum on overclockers.com.au

Happy to provide any advice...

Ah, nice thread Gohawks.

I'm in the tropical wilds of Indonesia right now. In fact, on a clear day I can see Bali, but will rejoin the rat race after the queen has her pretend birthday. And when I do I'll be getting a mad brewing mate of mine to start posting. He's picked up medals and trophies at the recent craft brewing awards, both at state and national level. Top bloke, top brewer, funny as frack, but a magpie supporter. You'll like the lad. And he does a mean line in pale ales and Pilseners.

Settle big fella

Do you want to bloody contribute to a thread for once?

Lets include everything. Including moonshine/ grapa for those from Europe.

I'll include all my sources when I get some time.

Good to see some interest, and Grizz, look forwrad to hearing from your mate.

I'll confess, I've been brewing for about 10 years now. It started out as a hobby and to save me money, now I do it because most commercial beer is garbage. There are some excellent homebrewing forums out there for anyone who is interested....also some great homebrewing clubs too!

Hey mate, hear you, last night I went to 2brothers in Moorabin, nice little brewery in an industrial area. Could not believe they did not have a pale ale. But, they make good beer. Good to support the little men out there.

Do you mind posting the forums you know?

Mine (quickly are):

Forums
http://pint.com.au/brewforum/viewforum.php?f=22&sid=8ff1c1979808f623eace79647231b5bb

http://homebrewandbeer.com/

Shops

http://www.onestopbarshop.com.au/

http://www.esbrewing.com.au/

http://www.aussiebrewer.com.au

http://liquorcraft.com.au

Sorry these were pasted from bookmarks on my computer.

Hey mate, hear you, last night I went to 2brothers in Moorabin, nice little brewery in an industrial area. Could not believe they did not have a pale ale. But, they make good beer. Good to support the little men out there.

Do you mind posting the forums you know?

Mine (quickly are):

Forums
http://pint.com.au/brewforum/viewforum.php?f=22&sid=8ff1c1979808f623eace79647231b5bb

http://homebrewandbeer.com/

Shops

http://www.onestopbarshop.com.au/

http://www.esbrewing.com.au/

http://www.aussiebrewer.com.au

http://liquorcraft.com.au

Sorry these were pasted from bookmarks on my computer.

Great to hear from fellow brewers and Hawks fans!
You've covered quite a few of the ones that I frequent. Some of the others include:

http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com (probably the biggest HB forum in aust)

http://www.homebrewtalk.com

http://www.grainandgrape.com.au

I also go to http://www.ratebeer.com to get heaps of info on beers from all around the world. It's quite an addictive site (much like bigfooty)

Hey mate hope you don't mind me infiltrating your corner here but a Hawks mod told me about this thread and said i should post.

Not all of us Dee's fans are at the snow paying $11 for a crap Crowny thinking they are king shit. Some of us are in our garages cracking grain, heating our mash and relaxing at the end of the day watching the replay from the game we WENT to with a cold beer poured from our own bar :D

I'm pretty obsessed some would say and I brew all grain on a 3V system and have a 5 tap kegerator at home to serve all but the stronger Belgian beers that get bottle conditioned in Champa's bottles. Footy nights at our place are pretty popular and don't mind putting in the extra effort to make it from scratch. The Mrs doesn't even mind the stir plate etc on the kitchen bench that is constantly cranking to cultivate the yeasts for brewing the fridge full of vials and hops :)

LOTS more brewers popping up these days and people making the switch be it kits/extract or all grain. I just love having total control on my beer but I like most started with kits and made some great beers with them too.

Haven't met another Demons fan brewer just yet though :thumbsd:

A big footy home brew night would be bloody awesome! Imagine a night filled with drinking, talking beer and talking footy! What else is there to discuss anyway?:confused::p

Any Q's shoot as at first found the homebrew forums a little intimidating and there can be a bit of snobbery in the hobby. For the most part brewers love to share and a great bunch though. Sounds like there is already a few here with the right answers judging by the posts above and good luck. Cheers Hawks fans and thanks for last night and the chance to put the Demons back in the 8 :thumbsu:

Hey mate hope you don't mind me infiltrating your corner here but a Hawks mod told me about this thread and said i should post.

Everyone is welcome here and on the Hawthorn mainboard mate - it's the ********s who think they can come over and score points by trolling that give all team boards that 'inward looking' reputation.

I look forward to hearing more from you.

Everyone is welcome here and on the Hawthorn mainboard mate - it's the ********s who think they can come over and score points by trolling that give all team boards that 'inward looking' reputation.

I look forward to hearing more from you.

Yep, trolls get no patience or mercy. Everyone else is welcome.

I recently started home brewing, I had intended to try for years. I live in the Netherlands where the beer is almost cheaper at the store (around $13 for a crate of Grolsch or heineken). I am still doing kit brewing but I wanted to recommend a kit called Woodfordes Wherry, it's an english bitter. Everyone that has come around and had a try has remarked at how good it is.

Hi folks. Bit of a bump. Want to do my own home brew for a significant birthday coming up to mark the occasion but a first timer. The initial beginner kit from a home brew shop the way to go or are there smarter (cheaper) ways to do it rather than be a tourist and get ripped off.

Hmmm and I just realised I am a Geelong supporter posting on the Hawthorn board. The search thing didn't tell me that.

the search thing is currently a little unreliable

Hi folks. Bit of a bump. Want to do my own home brew for a significant birthday coming up to mark the occasion but a first timer. The initial beginner kit from a home brew shop the way to go or are there smarter (cheaper) ways to do it rather than be a tourist and get ripped off.

No dont go to brew shop, the easiest way to get into it is buying a kit from BigW or same so you get the bottles, fermenter, can of goop, yeast, instructions all in 1 go.

The keys are keeping all the bits and pieces clean and disinfected, and keeping the temp stable during fermentation. Try to aim for 20deg for a week to 10 days. Once bottled TRY to wait for 2-4 weeks before cracking open.

I started this way and have progressed to all-grain brewing with a Grainfather and kegging my beer.

Good luck! :thumbsu::beermug::beercheers:

I concur with Dinsdale. For a first time, you just want to go for a basic Cooper's kit. Then build from there—you can use most of it as you progress. The brew process is all about being methodical and following instructions, so starting with the basic kit helps you get on top of it.