The Ruckoff

Ok everyone else is too scared to say it obviously......Aisake can't play. Aisake won't make it. There is simply not a spot for him. He most certainly can't ruck ATM and I doubt ever will. He is a LONG way behind his brother for mine and his brother is going to make a career coming off the bench I think. Back up roles. Fill in ruckman. Big defender for the Kennedy and Petrie types. Pinch hit forward against a short backline. Nice to have. Aisake is a poor imitation IMO and you certainly don't need two of them.

Agree Hamo has to be there. Cloke and Acland to fight it out for a little while. If Hamo steps up quickly then they can both piss off. Setanta and Kreuzer (I've given up on the 'get Cotch' race) can pinch hit in there until Kreuzer develops.

I agree on 1 thing there. That Aisake won't be a ruckman but I believe he can make it as a floating forward or as the third tall down back. Aisake has come on leaps and bounds since his first extremely shaky training session and has a ton of improvement in him yet.

Reckon he has more natural talent than Setanta.

I actually think Acland has two massive problems: he is FAR too short (without an offsetting huge leap) AND he has a pathetic engine. His lack of running ability means that just getting to ruck contests takes all his energy and therefore leaves him without anything left to contribute around the ground.
Grant Thomas spoke at length about Ackland prior to the season starting and said he was one of the hardest players he had because he had to go and talk with him every day to make sure his head was in the right place.

Pagan doesn't strike me as the kind of coach to do this.
Ratts might.
FAR too short and no engine?
Explain how he out rucked Brogan and Laide, then Street and Darcy.........he can dot it. He has done it for the Saints........and at times for us........he just has to shift his brain into gear and it will happen (this gear shift is harder than it sounds though).

I'm not an Ackland fan because I think he should be able to get his own head right at this level, but if someone can get his head right he.......and Russell for that matter are two guys who could do so much more and help lift this team.:thumbsu:

I agree on 1 thing there. That Aisake won't be a ruckman but I believe he can make it as a floating forward or as the third tall down back. Aisake has come on leaps and bounds since his first extremely shaky training session and has a ton of improvement in him yet.

Reckon he has more natural talent than Setanta.

We just don't need any more floating forwards or third defenders. If that's all he projects as then he is going to be going in there with far less footy nous, far more 'clanger' possibilities and a much poorer read of the play than the guys he is up against. His athleticism and height just wont cut it. Third defender? not the guy I've seen. He will get killed. Floating forward? We just have too many of them.

I just don't see it. More talent than Setanta? I don't think so.

I actually think Acland has two massive problems: he is FAR too short (without an offsetting huge leap) AND he has a pathetic engine. His lack of running ability means that just getting to ruck contests takes all his energy and therefore leaves him without anything left to contribute around the ground.

There's nothing wrong with Ackland's height. He's big enough and athletic enough to compete with even the biggest rucks. His problem is his refusal to time his jumps, he hates people jumping into him so he jumps too early at every contest. Ruckmen who watch the ball leap at the appropriate time and fly over the top of him tapping the ball while Ackland is nearly back on the ground. Ackland's problems are all above the shoulders.

Cox is fairly agile, and I think we are taking Kreuzer for the same reason.

Ruck rovers were simply anyone who was roving the ruck, a term which has been abbreviated to rover. Rover was traditionally called simply on the ball.

But whatever gets your jollies.

Cox is fairly agile, and I think we are taking Kreuzer for the same reason.

Ruck rovers were simply anyone who was roving the ruck, a term which has been abbreviated to rover. Rover was traditionally called simply on the ball.

But whatever gets your jollies.
Thanks for the ridiculous explanation on rover and ruck rovers mate.....

Don't care how you defien teh position there is no way Cloke or Aisake are playing ruck rover any time soon in the AFL

Should make for some interesting viewing next season the RUCKOFF between Ackland, Cloke, Hampson, Aisake amd Kruezner.

With the best player in the league at their feet, who will stand up?
Cloke surprised many with his tapping b4 injury
Ackland is playing for his career
Hampson came in under Ratts and looked the goods
Aisake is the unknown
Kruezner is the best junior in the country

So whos it going to be?

Cloke and Hampson for me!

I'm hoping for Cloke/Hampson with Kreuzer to do an A.Rocca / Brad Ottens type role.

The Ruckoff