Cars & Transportation Thinking about cars.

• Thread starter Thread starter RU_

At school recently, everyone has been speaking about there cars that they have bought, I don't get my L's until June next year and the people who have there car's already aren't getting there L's till August, however I would like to do what they're doing and get a car and start adding parts to it.

My question is; I will be getting a trade (Plumber is the likely job.) Should I buy a cheapo ute, and buy parts for it over the course of the next 10 months, (I have a job and I recieve $110 p/w) so I can afford to buy parts after saving up (I hope..), or should I just save up and buy a ute already made?

Pre-made is obviously easier but it's not really your ute is it? I mean, it's not your creation and you've missed the joy of creating something unique and emblematic of your particular style and taste.

watermark.php

Hm. My parents have said if my grades keep up they will buy me one, and I will be working with dad (Plumber, plan on apprenticeship). So I could ask if we could get that within the next three months, than I can buy extra add-ons. :D

My mum and dad matched me $ for $ when i was saving up to buy a car. But if they're going to buy one for you, you're on easy street

Don't really need a done up car too young anyway. Thats how i blew my money when i was younger. Better off getting a basic ute, and saving up to buy a house and set yourself up for life. The big boys toys can come later

I bought my Lancer 2002 model (second hand) about 6mths before getting my P's, and basically just took it for a drive once every 2 weeks to blow out the cobwebs before being able to drive it solo. Just used my parents' cars to clock up the hours in (better than my car).

There would have been no chance of me getting my car at that time if a) I didn't get it off a family friend and, b) got it at the normal rate. I got mine for $7k and it had mag wheels, a done up stereo system, nicely tinted windows plus it was regularly serviced with nothing of major concern.

Cut a long story short, I'd wait closer to your driving test because: a) prices may drop and, b) rego will last a little longer. If money is not of concern, disregard!

PS: 100% owned by my good self too. Nothing better than knowing you have put in the hard yards for your prized asset.

Don't really need a done up car too young anyway. Thats how i blew my money when i was younger. Better off getting a basic ute, and saving up to buy a house and set yourself up for life. The big boys toys can come later

You are right but come on, you're talking to a presumably under 16 year old.

What do you think he's gonna do?:p

So I could ask if we could get that within the next three months, than I can buy extra add-ons. :D

Better check with your insurer; some of those add ons can increase your premium.

Think of it as a way of getting around for now. They are more expensive than you likely know. Wait till your a little better off before you start making personality statements with your vehicles.

Wasting your money. No need to have a car until you have you P's, you will be paying for rego and insurance for something you cant use often enough to justify the cost and by the time you can drive it the value of the car would of further depreciated.

Lol ^.

You guy's got me thinking, I am going to leave it until I am closer to getting my P's. Didn't think about Rego or anything like that, I am also 16 next year. How much is rego these day's?

Rego in Victoria is about $600, not sure what CTP insurance is worth these days. Not much change out of $1000.

I reckon buy an old ute. Never understood why these tradies buy these brand new XR6/8 utes just to get a massive dent in them, which appears to be inevitable.

I'm not sure about your state, but over here the rego cost depends on whether the engine is 4cyl, 6, or 8, and there is also another category for commercial vehicles, which includes utes.

I'm curious what "parts" you plan on putting on your car. You need to realise that aftermarket parts such as big exhausts, spoilers, stickers, etc. attract the attention of the cops, especially on a car with P-plates. The last thing you want is to get your car defected. It happened to me when I was on my Ps, and in the end it was cheaper just to sell the car with the defect notice on it and start again with another car. It's a very expensive exercise. I realise you're young and probably into all of that kind of stuff, but consider leaving it as standard in appearance as possible, maybe just get a nice stereo for it instead.

I reckon buy an old ute. Never understood why these tradies buy these brand new XR6/8 utes just to get a massive dent in them, which appears to be inevitable.

You'd think tradies would go the standard trap top every time. They're much cheaper, and you wouldn't be freaking out about getting them scratched or dented anytime you had them on a worksite or transported stuff with them.

Ah the joy of being young and stupid an wasting money on a car because you think it defines your coolness.

In his defence, in the post directly above yours he's said that he's just wanting a stereo, no big exhaust. Sounds like he's got little bit more sense than your average teenage boy. Nothing wrong with wanting a nice sounding stereo, there's nothing juvenile about wanting decent sounding music from an aftermarket stereo.