Show stopper
richmondfc.com.au
Sebastian Hassett
5:02 PM Wed 09 April, 2008

THE YOUNG defender on many people’s lips might be Collingwood’s Nathan Brown, but Richmond’s Will Thursfield is already staking his own claim for being one of the most promising young defenders in the competition.

Thursfield has been played on the likes of Brendan Fevola, Nathan Thompson and Anthony Rocca in the first three matches of the year, arguably coming out on top on each occasion.

While each week appears to be a case of ‘Who’s he getting next?’ for Brown, Thursfield, by contrast, is hardly getting the headlines. But he’s getting just as many big roles, and could well be the man identified by coach Terry Wallace to take on Fremantle superstar Matthew Pavlich this Sunday.

“[Pavlich] won them the game last week; he’s just an awesome player,” Thursfield told afl.com.au on Wednesday afternoon.

“I could be in the mix to play on him. I’m not sure about the match-ups this week. I might be an option.”

Some might be overawed by the prospect of taking on the game’s elite forwards, but Thursfield remains unperturbed at the thought of going one-out with the best.

“They’re pretty good players, so it’s a little bit scary at first, but once you do your homework and get your head around it, I find it pretty exciting and personally I enjoy the responsibility of having to play on those fellas,” he said, upbeat at the idea of facing Scott Welsh, Lance Franklin and Nick Riewoldt over the next month.

“Hopefully I can continue to keep going like the way I have been, because things have been going pretty well for me lately.”

The optimism is justified, but it wasn’t always the case. Thursfield, still only 21, has had more than his fair share of obstacles to overcome on the path to an AFL career.

He started football life with the uncertainty of the Tigers’ rookie list, before earning a promotion in 2005 alongside another star in the making, Nathan Foley. But while Foley would make an immediate impression in 2006, Thursfield lasted one game before succumbing to a knee injury.

“At the time it was shattering because I was starting to get a game and establish myself and right at the start of the year, to have that happen, I was pretty disappointed,” Thursfield recalled.

“But I was only 19, and they say it’s better to do it when you’re young and it can heal better. It was pretty bad at the time, but I can look at it all now as an experience.

“I’ve had a few injuries and things like that. They make life a lot harder but I’m enjoying being fit, having a pre-season and I reckon that helps a lot to be injury-free so you can show your stuff.”

Thursfield’s form has largely been overshadowed by the prospect of club icon Joel Bowden being demoted from the senior team – and from losses incurred in the Eureka and Rivalry Round matches against North Melbourne and Collingwood.

“Obviously the end results haven’t been too good, but it’s always enjoyable playing at the MCG in those big games, so it was good from that point of view. But obviously we haven’t played well enough to get the results we needed,” Thursfield said.

“It was a good effort in round one, but the poor starts in our past two games have been really costly for us.

“We’ve been able to break even in the second half for both of those games, but we’re giving away too much of a head start. It’s what we need to work on, and if we can start games the way we finish them, we’ll be playing a lot better.”

Thursfield is adamant training on the maligned Punt Road surface isn’t a huge problem for the players, but acknowledges they’d much prefer to be training over the hill.

“I don’t find Punt Road to be too much of a problem, but it would be nice to train a bit more on the ‘G,” he said.

“It’s getting better as we speak, they seem to be doing a bit more work on it, but we love getting a run on the MCG.”

In light of the Bowden debate, it’s interesting to note Thursfield lists his biggest in-house teachers to be players who were criticised toward the end of their careers, lending weight to the belief that experienced players can sometimes be equally important as mentors for younger players.

”Definitely Darren Gaspar when he was here a huge influence, we got on really well and he taught me everything,” Thursfield said.

“He’d be the one I’ve learned the most of, and I still keep in touch with him.”

“Another one in my first year was Mark Graham, who came over from Hawthorn. He was only there for one year, but he taught me a hell of a lot, and it’s those two who I’ve mainly tried to play like.”

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/6301/Default.aspx?newsId=57638

Keep it up Will!!!:thumbsu:

The backline need another stopper like Thurstfield. I was hoping that moore would become a stopper/tagger instead of loose rebounder given his size and pace. Maybe they can move tambling or delidio down back in that role. The backline is too loose at the moment.

Gotta love him, if everyone could play with the determination and grit as him we would be on top of the ladder, he will be a fantastic Backman for us for many, many years.

Good article. Sometimes footballers come off as arrogant or overwhelmed in pieces like this, but I think he acknowledges he is playing on some of the best players in the game and they are beatable.

Interesting how everyone says we cant develop talent when, Thursfield, Foley and King came through the Rookie list
We can't develop talent that is already there, these guys came from nowhere to be good, players who are already good seem to be the problem for us.

I think he do well with rookie picks because of Greg Miller.

He gets to know the less talented players and finds some kind of mental strength that will allow them to succeed at AFL level.

We'd have to be one of the best clubs in the AFL at bringing in good players with late picks/rookies over the past 4 years.

Could it be that we struggle to control the egos of the first round draft pics? The good thing with guys coming off the rookie list is that they seem to want to make a point and will usually do anything the coach tells them, whereas it seems that some of our first round picks think they have it made already.

We can't develop talent that is already there, these guys came from nowhere to be good, players who are already good seem to be the problem for us.

I think they just got the time to develop properly without the massive expectations if foley had been a 1st draft pick we would be saying he has come on as expected but could do a lot better as we would be comparing him to Judd.

We have a bunch of later draft picks and rookies playing lots of games at VFL level at the moment that are being given the time to develop properly not just thrown into the hard world of AFL footy were some float straight away like thursty and some sink for a while before emerging but then with massive expectations on them.

Maybe this is the reason our players do flounder once brought in, we see it in so many teams that these young kids come in and are great straight away.

If you play someone at VFL level too long they will get used to that style of play and game, VFL is so far off AFL it isn't funny, if you throw a player straight into the senior side they don't get the mediocrity of the VFL.

Rioli, Palmer, Dale Thomas, Marc Murphy and many others get thrown in to the seniors(Thrown to the wolves if you like) and they come out without a scratch and eventually start getting the praises, nominations and what not, whereas our players spend numerous weeks in the VFL which can dumb your ability and skills down then to get thrown into the seniors and be completely out of place in terms of speed, skill, smarts and ability.

Full stops, man. I feel like I have sprinted 2 km after reading that.
There you go, but I thought comma's were meant to slow you down, take a breath at each comma.

I always though they were just a momentary pause. Ah well, sorry to sound like an english teacher.
From what I remember from having to learn to write in school you put a comma in to take a breath and slow it down, otherwise they would die reading.:p

The head stone could read

Died a tragic death whilst reading a bigfooty thread that had no commas fullstops or paragraph breaks the thread contained numerouse refrences to Terry Wallace and the playing list of the Richmond football club it focused on areas such as player development coaching staff JON terrys tan the lack of heart supposedly displayed by the team there toilet training training facilities the hardness of punt road and tambnlings ability to not be over shadowed by franklin in this long ongoing debate about draft picks I mean what the hell were they thinking getting midfielders into a team that had no developing ones RIP

Maybe this is the reason our players do flounder once brought in, we see it in so many teams that these young kids come in and are great straight away.

If you play someone at VFL level too long they will get used to that style of play and game, VFL is so far off AFL it isn't funny, if you throw a player straight into the senior side they don't get the mediocrity of the VFL.

Rioli, Palmer, Dale Thomas, Marc Murphy and many others get thrown in to the seniors(Thrown to the wolves if you like) and they come out without a scratch and eventually start getting the praises, nominations and what not, whereas our players spend numerous weeks in the VFL which can dumb your ability and skills down then to get thrown into the seniors and be completely out of place in terms of speed, skill, smarts and ability.

Damned if you do damned if you dont, you have to have a vacant spot for them though.

There would be as many examples of players who have benefited from time in the VFL as those that have benefited from being put straight into the AFL

Damned if you do damned if you dont, you have to have a vacant spot for them though.

There would be as many examples of players who have benefited from time in the VFL as those that have benefited from being put straight into the AFL
Except Richmond players...

Not that I don't necessarily agree with your logic, but there aren't many examples where a player makes an impact instantly then goes back to the ressies for an extended period, then comes back and dominates again, usually they taper off, there are a heap of examples of that(Especially Richmond players).

Let collingwood spruik brown all they like. Will has been excellent so far this year but before going and doing interviews he should speak to his rookie mate Jake King about the dangers of doing so.

Fevola will towel up brown this week and pav might do the same...these guys need to realise they are one week away from a nightmare...so at rd 3 please no more interviews will...