Time to put a roof over the MCG

Million not billion

According to Google, its $100-200m USD for an NFL or soccer stadium retractable roof. I reckon double it for a large oval like the G

$80 million sounds closer to the mark, the center court at the US Open cost $150 million

$80m pounds is something like $136,494,973.44

The cost to re-engineer the support structures of the G to accommodate a roof weighing tens/hundreds of tons could be far too expensive to implement. If you think it's simply a matter of slapping a roof on thinking she'll be right, civil engineering isn't your forte

Keep,the MCG

Demolish Etihad

And build a 70,0000 seat indoor dome shaped ground that has totally retractable roof that lets more Sh light in so the grass grows ...use this ground for all night games and use MCG for day games and finals

Don't build it on a car park ....

The cost to re-engineer the support structures of the G to accommodate a roof weighing tens/hundreds of tons could be far too expensive to implement. If you think it's simply a matter of slapping a roof on thinking she'll be right, civil engineering isn't your forte
tbh, doesn't take an engineer to work out that the idea of putting a roof on the MCG is just silly.

No, but silliness goes hand in hand with main board threads

Good idea.

Time to end this outdated concept of weather influence on the game.

As the city of Montreal found out im the 1970s, putting a roof over a large stadium is actually quite a simple and inexpensive matter when you come right down to it. To this day it remains an eminently well-patronised and functional venue.

Think this post would have gone over the head of your average Big Footy poster.

I heard it took the city of Montreal over 30 years to pay off the debt from of this and the 1976 Olympic Fiasco.

https://www.theguardian.com/cities/...over-1976-olympic-games-broke-montreal-canada

The Big Owe did finally get a roof - unfortunately they lost their baseball team, the Expos, to Washington DC.

As for stadiums being built underground, Dodger Stadium in LA is built into the side of a hill in Chavez Ravine, and many stadiums have multiple levels of infrastructure built underground beneath them. Totally underground would be way too expensive, and unsafe - imagine trying to evacuate the stadium in an emergency.

Think this post would have gone over the head of your average Big Footy poster.

I heard it took the city of Montreal over 30 years to pay off the debt from of this and the 1976 Olympic Fiasco.

https://www.theguardian.com/cities/...over-1976-olympic-games-broke-montreal-canada

The Big Owe did finally get a roof - unfortunately they lost their baseball team, the Expos, to Washington DC.

As for stadiums being built underground, Dodger Stadium in LA is built into the side of a hill in Chavez Ravine, and many stadiums have multiple levels of infrastructure built underground beneath them. Totally underground would be way too expensive, and unsafe - imagine trying to evacuate the stadium in an emergency.

So what you're saying is that a roof on the MCG will allow Melbourne to win a bid for the Olympics?

I'm sold.

LOL nothing to do with being scared of change, due to how the ground is build, it would take a massive amount of work and expensive, the center court at the U.S open was covered at a cost of $150 million so just image the cost of an MCG roof, you would have to reconstruct several stands as they are all different heights and as others have pointed out we would lose access to the ground for a few years.

Not afraid of change but just not necessary.

Just lol if you think the MCG couldn't afford to do it.

If a roof over the U.S Open center court is reported to have cost up to $500 million although CNN said it was something like $150 million, the MCG could be looking at a price tag of over a billion, if that is right then I image they will need to run up debt which might cause them more trouble than any benefit of a roof because it sometimes rains.

image.jpg

Cost isn't an object in Victoria. We have so much money that we can pay $1 billion to not build something.

With the amount of successful events held at the mcg as well as the consistent revenue the afl provides for he mcg, it's easily feasible. Considering the Victorian government doesn't really spend much on the mcg it's definitely worth considering

Earlier I wrote that I doubt would ever happen but the only real issue is the financials, if they could be made to work then it isn't a bad idea but it will cost a fair bit, there isn't a shortage of capital but the question mark is how to make it an attractive investment for that capital.

Ridiculous idea, football is an outdoor sport. Closing a roof takes the elements out of it, we're supposed to be excited over wet weather footy.

The only person that would love this idea is Brad Scott and he'll be sacked before it gets built anyway.

Considering the cost involved, that money might well be better spent on local sports clubs.