tico

does anyone believe that we were in any way accountable for our opposing players today......? it can be frustrating to watch regardless of some good performances of some players.
yes we should give constructive critisism BUT dion woods SH*TS me.

:mad:

The dockers did play very poorly but to loose by only 56 points is encouraging in a strange sort of way. The Dockers should have lost by alot more. Their worst game since 2001.

Backing yourself.

Against a lesser team players can peel off their opposition and run into the open, with the knowledge that a team mate will get the ball and kick it out to you. In the mean time their opponent is involved in a "pack" situation. This type of play makes some players who are loose (don't cover their opponent), look good.

In reality, how good are the Crows?.

Woods is not a defender, he's a wingman. He should never be played in the backline until he shows he has the courage to get in hard, stand in front of leading forwards and can hold marks.

The forward line was a positive I thought, given the players that were missing from it. If we had of kicked straight, our score would have been up near 110-120, certainly respectable. Browne in particular missed some deadset sitters.

But the bottom line is that the midfield was given a caning.

Some of our midfielders are lost and don't play accountable footy. The amount of times Adelaide found the open man and ran in waves was depressing.

Dont be too perturbed Tico, there were some positives in todays game for your lot.

1) Polac ( first time i've seen him live) very impressed with this kid!
2) Your forward line will be a lot better when your key forwards return (Croad, Longmuir, Waterhouse, Farmer with Medhurst is a pretty awesome combination)
3) Sandilands (SP??) will learn a lot from today
4) I reckon you will do a lot of damage esp. at home

and the Crows were hot today....

What really cost us in the midfield were the centre breaks, which I would think vastly favoured Adelaide and our skill mistakes when breaking along the wing and going into attack. It's all well and good to say that the Midfield are not accountable, but when you are running forward in numbers on the wing trying to drive the ball forward, any quick turnover or skill error is going to leave you exposed. I remember one incident when AJ got the ball when we had numbers on the right wing and decided to kick short to a contest at CHF, a bad decision and a bad kick lead to a quick turnover leaving adelaide with plenty of free players on the opposite side of the ground.

Bottom line: Skill errors and bad decisions were really evident today and when your playing against a top side like Adelaide, they're not going to give you too many second chances.

Originally posted by tico
yes we should give constructive critisism BUT dion woods SH*TS me.

:mad:

He made a few glaring errors in the 1st quarter but beleive me he had plenty of freinds out there

Bad luck guys! I wouldnt worry- alot of people are tipping freo to play finals so....we'll have to wait and see! Dont panic just yet though!

Hopefully we can bounce back next week but we will need an improved performance if we are going to win.

BTW, DJ BJ has set up a player of the year award if anyone hasn't seen it (it's a sticky topic)... need more people to vote :)

A disappointing display - although Adelaide look like the best side in the competition this year.

But Sydney were very good against Carlton (yes I know) - and
Fremantle will need to come up with a lot more to beat these guys.

Some of the Roos magic appears to be working with the non achievers of last year add this to the established players and they are now looking more formidable than in previous seasons.

Anyway I still think you guys will be there in the finals this year.

Originally posted by FreoDocker
What really cost us in the midfield were the centre breaks, which I would think vastly favoured Adelaide and our skill mistakes when breaking along the wing and going into attack. It's all well and good to say that the Midfield are not accountable, but when you are running forward in numbers on the wing trying to drive the ball forward, any quick turnover or skill error is going to leave you exposed. I remember one incident when AJ got the ball when we had numbers on the right wing and decided to kick short to a contest at CHF, a bad decision and a bad kick lead to a quick turnover leaving adelaide with plenty of free players on the opposite side of the ground.

Bottom line: Skill errors and bad decisions were really evident today and when your playing against a top side like Adelaide, they're not going to give you too many second chances.

Spot on there mate. I can recall several incidences where we kicked the ball short to contests which resulted in turnovers, making our players look unaccountable. Walker on the defensive 50 kicking to a contest involving Cook and Jones kicking 25 metres to a contest at centre half forward when we were all running forward are two incidences off the top of my head.

I'm not sure what the stats were for clearances, but we were thrashed in this area. We had 33 hitouts to their 27, which shows our midfielders' inability to go in and get first hands to the ball off the hands of the ruckmen. Last year we were 16th in the league for clearances and Adelaide were first. At the moment it doesn't appear that we have improved in this area, which is a worry.

This may sound harsh, but it's good that players such as Cunningham aren't getting an automatic place in our top 22. The sooner this happens to players such as Walker and McManus (unskillful, unaccountable midfielders) the better IMO. With the development of Polak (and Haddrill) this season, I can't see how Jones will be of much use for us next season either. At the end of the year I reckon we should take another harsh look at our list.

Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
Spot on there mate. I can recall several incidences when we kicked the ball short to contests which resulted in turnovers, making our players look unaccountable. Walker on the defensive 50 kicking to a contest involving Cook and Jones kicking 25 metres to a contest at centre half forward when we were all running forward are two incidences off the top of my head.

I'm not sure what the stats were for clearances, but we were thrashed in this area. We had 33 hitouts to their 27, which shows our midfielders' inability to go in and get first hands to the ball off the hands of the ruckmen. Last year we were 16th in the league for clearances and Adelaide were first. At the moment it doesn't appear that we have improved in this area, which is a worry.

This may sound harsh, but it's good that players such as Cunningham aren't getting an automatic place in our top 22. The sooner this happens to players such as Walker and McManus (unskilful, unaccountable midfielders) the better IMO. With the development of Polak (and Haddrill) this season, I can't see how Jones will be of much use to use for next season either. At the end of the year I reckon we should take another harsh look at our list.

Agree about Cunningham, Walker and McManus. We can't keep accepting poor performances. Cook seems to be struggling too. I'd rather give games to Haines, Browne, Schammer, and some of our new rookies because we might turn them into good players. The other players have had a few years in the system and they havn't really shown they can cut it amongst the best. We need players that can win us premierships and unless they show improvement this year, I don't think it's worth keeping them on the list. And yeah, when McPharlin and Parker are back, can't see Jones getting a game.

Anyone think it might be a good idea playing Koops in the midfield when he comes back and gains fitness, rather than down back?

Originally posted by Carlyp
Bad luck guys! I wouldnt worry- alot of people are tipping freo to play finals so....we'll have to wait and see! Dont panic just yet though!

Having a neutral perspective, do YOU think we will make the finals this year? Most Freo supporters are confident we'll make the eight. I'm tipping us to be around the mark (6 - 10).

Originally posted by Kenny_01
BTW, DJ BJ has set up a player of the year award if anyone hasn't seen it (it's a sticky topic)... need more people to vote :)

Yes, at the moment only four people have voted. We need more people to vote, but please vote for every game if you want to be a part of it. Supporters of other clubs are welcome to vote as long as they vote consistently throughout the year. Also, don't forget to name your rising star nominee if you think a player warrants it. Several posters have included players eligible to recieve a rising star nomination in their votes without stating who they wish to nominate. For this round I'll assume that voters who include players eligible (for the BF rising star award) in their top five wish to nominate these players for the BF rising star award. Make your nominations more tangible in future rounds though.

Cheers.

Settle down it is round 1, Walker & Macca were by no means our worst players especcially macca was one of our best.

The problem was we had too many boys and they had nearly all men. Just put it down as a learning curve (Polly wont have any one as good as Carey next week & Clarke is one of the best tap ruckmen in the Comp and the crows midfield is as good as Brisbanes).

The midfied will have to practise roving to the Ogres taps this week and all will be well.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Settle down it is round 1, Walker & Macca were by no means our worst players especcially macca was one of our best.

I agree Macca played OK today, but do you really think he will be able to help us win a premiership one day? After all, that is all that matters in the long run.

Jones had two (ineffective) kicks and gave away two free kicks and Troy Longmuir & Dion Woods were disappointing after solid pre-seasons.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Agree about Cunningham, Walker and McManus. We can't keep accepting poor performances. Cook seems to be struggling too. I'd rather give games to Haines, Browne, Schammer, and some of our new rookies because we might turn them into good players.

Haines played quite well I thought. He had 16 possessions and 7 tackles without spending the entire game on the ground. Last year Cook was our leading tackler with 111 and our second highest were Hasleby and Koops with 54 each. We were 14th in the league in tackles last year IIRC so it's good that Haines is helping in this area (as well as with the other facets of his game such as poise, skill and courage). I agree that guys such as Browne, Schammer, Edgecumbe and Crowley should be given more game time if Walker and Cook continue to struggle. From the AFL media guide, Browne was 174cm and 73kg last year but has bulked up to 79kg this season suggesting he won't be at much of a risk playing against fully developed men. I believe Schammer also spent lots of the pre-season at the gym but he is listed at only 175cm and 71kg. He's still very raw and whilst he should be given some game time to improve and adapt to playing against larger opponents, we shouldn't be expecting too much of him this season.

dont worry freo supporters yas might of been canned in the midfield today but most ppl around the afl rate Adelaide's midfield the best in the comp even ahead of Brissy so dont worry it was a very good effort to only lose by 56 points as mentioned could have and probably should have lost by a lot more and i thought Polak did pretty well on Carey although he did kick 4 goals. Whoever played on Goodwin did well for yas hardly saw him all day, PAVLICH what can i say about the boy SUPERSTAR, what about that goal he kicked, MAGIC. your forward line is gonna b brutal when everyone is fit, your midfield is good, but your defense i think is your weak link, i thought Sandilands showed a bit today looks like he could be very good in the future.

Well i think yas will make the 8 this year prolly 6 to 8.

and remember its only round 1.

CYAS.

The plus for Freo today was their effort - I thought they never chucked it in at any stage of the game although outclassed. Any team that never gives in can hold its head up high.

Your forward line was very weakened through injury before the game and only got worse after Farmer copped his corky. Medhurst was your one clear winner on the ground - class act this lad. Polak was beaten by Carey but really showed something - a real player of the future.

Adelaide's strength is it's midfield, and it really fired today irrespective of who got the tap. I thought our mid-field carved Freo up and that really was the story of the game.

If Freo can get it's full side on the ground it will be a good side.

Any players likely to come back this week??

Thanks for the comments guys.

This week, Longmuir will probably be back and Parker might be in there with a chance. Croad will be back Round 3, McPharlin probably Round 4 or 5. Koops could be back soon but will probably get suspended for apparently striking someone in the WAFL... a mate of mine reckons it looked pretty bad.

The koops report was from a clothesline, koops went for a tackle and got the bloke high. He then fell to the ground and hit his head pretty heavily. My first instinct was that there shouldn't have been a report, but only a free kick.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
The problem was we had too many boys and they had nearly all men.

Precisely. That, and the fact that we were playing the form side of the competition at home (where we've never beaten them) effectively sans our starting spine. That said, we had a full strength midfield and they were made to look second rate by a top flight on-ball divison. My biggest concern though is (and this is in no way influenced by that Hardie chap's article in the Sunday Times today) our tackling. When our guys got hit today they stayed hit, but too often - and this was a problem last year too - our tackles were shrugged off with consummate ease by the opposition. Positives were Pavlich - his two goals, particularly the first, were ripsnorters and just gets closer to superstardom. Sadly, he wasn't given a whole lot of support but Haze and Bell were serviceable if not spectacular. Our inexperienced back line can hold their heads high considering the express service the Adelaide forwards were getting, and I thought Medhurst did pretty well too.

Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
Having a neutral perspective, do YOU think we will make the finals this year? Most Freo supporters are confident we'll make the eight. I'm tipping us to be around the mark (6 - 10).

Yes if you guys get your midfield game running i think u'll make the eight. If u get the best out of headland you'll go VERY close to making the eight!