Tokyo watching?

• Thread starter Thread starter Adebisi

Anyone have any idea where I may be able to watch this weeks game in Tokyo?
Havn’t found much online...
Hobgoblin in Roppongi will show it for sure. You could ask someone on the Tokyo Goannas FB page too for other options.

Yep Hobgoblin/Legends there is also another Aussie bar in Roppongi quest http://www.barquest.tokyo/ Have watched the footy here before.. you can email them to check they are pretty quick with replies... if you struggle to find somewhere PM me..am in Tokyo

Anyone have any idea where I may be able to watch this weeks game in Tokyo?
Havn’t found much online...

I’m off to Tokyo next week. Will want to watch Carlton v Adelaide at a minimum, which will be a 1.10pm start, Tokyo time. How did the above bars turn out for you?

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yep Hobgoblin/Legends there is also another Aussie bar in Roppongi quest http://www.barquest.tokyo/ Have watched the footy here before.. you can email them to check they are pretty quick with replies... if you struggle to find somewhere PM me..am in Tokyo

Hey mate. Unrelated to the topic, but hope you might be able to help. I’ll have a JR Pass for the first part of my trip which will get me from airport to Tokyo, Tokyo to Fuji and back and Tokyo to Kyoto and back. The last 4 days or so, my JR Pass will no longer be valid. We’re staying only a stop or two from Shinjuku/Shibuya, but I’m also keen to explore other regions/suburbs at least one or two of those days.

Do you know if there is an all-encompassing daily ticket that allows you to board any/all trains or trains and buses?

Cheers

I’m off to Tokyo next week. Will want to watch Carlton v Adelaide at a minimum, which will be a 1.10pm start, Tokyo time. How did the above bars turn out for you?

I think there is one Aussie Sports Bar in Tokyo when I googled there
I was off to find it but got side tracked by depachika and then Restaurant/Chef street and just got updates on my phone
It was hard as none of the hotels I stayed in had Australia Network

Hey mate. Unrelated to the topic, but hope you might be able to help. I’ll have a JR Pass for the first part of my trip which will get me from airport to Tokyo, Tokyo to Fuji and back and Tokyo to Kyoto and back. The last 4 days or so, my JR Pass will no longer be valid. We’re staying only a stop or two from Shinjuku/Shibuya, but I’m also keen to explore other regions/suburbs at least one or two of those days.

Do you know if there is an all-encompassing daily ticket that allows you to board any/all trains or trains and buses?

Cheers

Don't worry about buses, the subway is really efficient and with Google maps, you'll not have to walk more than 10 minutes to get anywhere of interest.

The Tokyo Metro day pass is the best value if taking multiple trips but if doing the Shibuya/Harajuku/Omotesando or Ueno/Asakusa area, you'll walk between each.

Great time to be there, enjoy

Hey, yep all the recommendations were good. Most reliable that showed the games was Bar Quest in roppongi. Quite a funny experience sitting in a bar in tokyo watching an afl game.

Don't worry about buses, the subway is really efficient and with Google maps, you'll not have to walk more than 10 minutes to get anywhere of interest.

The Tokyo Metro day pass is the best value if taking multiple trips but if doing the Shibuya/Harajuku/Omotesando or Ueno/Asakusa area, you'll walk between each.

Great time to be there, enjoy

Hey, yep all the recommendations were good. Most reliable that showed the games was Bar Quest in roppongi. Quite a funny experience sitting in a bar in tokyo watching an afl game.

Thanks for the advice guys. All very useful!

I’m so excited. If you have any tips for unique places to see/things to do (esp outside of tourist hotspots), I’m all ears. Am going with my gf. Pretty keen to try out my Japanese.

It’s only a quick trip - about 7 days in Tokyo, a night on Fuji-san (pumped for Fuji) and 3 nights in Kyoto.

Cheers [emoji846]

Thanks for the advice guys. All very useful!

I’m so excited. If you have any tips for unique places to see/things to do (esp outside of tourist hotspots), I’m all ears. Am going with my gf. Pretty keen to try out my Japanese.

It’s only a quick trip - about 7 days in Tokyo, a night on Fuji-san (pumped for Fuji) and 3 nights in Kyoto.

Cheers [emoji846]

Wear comfortable shoes.
Ive never walked so much in my life
Google maps are great for trains times, platforms,and exits from the station to get to your destination.
They struggle with walking directions (for me I had no idea where I was going trying to follow them on foot ????)

You dont need to book a seat on the Shinkansen to get to Kyoto or Fuji,if you get to Tokyo station, thats the end of the line and if you line up early enough about 15/20 minutes on the platform, you can watch the precision clean and seat spin team in action and get on an unreserved carriage, with a window seat facing Fuji near the back so you can store your luggage behind the last seats.
Ask someone or read where the unreserved carriages are on the platform, theres heaps of them. (if you catch it from another station I would reserve)
Reserve for going back from Kyoto to Tokyo as its not the first stop and the train will be fullish

Make sure you give yourself time to get your ekiben