Tom Elliot withdraws

• Thread starter Thread starter gokangas

He was on 3AW at about 7:40pm. He said that he and his ticket didn't have enough time to get things organised and therefore he was withdrawing from the elections.

Where did you hear this?

it was on 3aw he spoke for about ten minutes and spoke well but its not tom elliot it is the whole sinns ticket ,appaerently not enough time even though it was confirmed maclure hadnt even been approached

Thanks for that. Looks like Smorgon and his Board will go through unchallenged

what ever happened to all the :

"you wait and see"

"I know something you dont know"

"if you knew what i knew you would listen to me "

"cant say anymore but something big is going to happen"

blah, blah , blah.

All i know is bring on 2007, 14 wins, cant friggin wait.

I suspect that the Sinn ticket have done some number crunching & found themselves coming up extremely short. Just doing a basic straw poll on BigFooty & TC would have clearly shown them that they did not have the support to mount a successful challenge.

The message, don't sell the members short. If you want to challenge the present board, put forward a viable alternative with no links to John Elliott & with upfront details of the funds that would immediately be brought to the club. None of these whispers of Pratt or Grollo or Fahour or even Brown tipping in funds. Concrete evidence that the challenge would be beneficial to the club, not just change for change sake.

If you want to challenge the present board, put forward a viable alternative with no links to John Elliott & with upfront details of the funds that would immediately be brought to the club.
Yep. SHOW ME THE MONEY!

"you wait and see"

blah, blah , blah.

Mate, could not have said it better myself... All this froth and dribble that is coming out of these challengers.. or should I say "supposed" challengers to the current board is kindergarden stuff.. Put up or shut up I say!
Whilst not a fan of quite a few of the policies and decisions that the current board have made, at least they are providing SOME leadership and making some decisions which can be debated to great length (and have been) on these forums. Sometimes a wrong decision made is better than making no decision at all.... at least with a wrong decision, people can LEARN from them and then put the process in place to rectify the decision.. The current board would be the first to admit that in hindsight(what a great thing to have) they would have done some things differently but thats life!! thats business and guess what... THATS FOOTBALL! Anyway, thats my poinjt of view and im going now to crack open another Jimmie can!!!!:o

Mate, could not have said it better myself... All this froth and dribble that is coming out of these challengers.. or should I say "supposed" challengers to the current board is kindergarden stuff.. Put up or shut up I say!
Whilst not a fan of quite a few of the policies and decisions that the current board have made, at least they are providing SOME leadership and making some decisions which can be debated to great length (and have been) on these forums. Sometimes a wrong decision made is better than making no decision at all.... at least with a wrong decision, people can LEARN from them and then put the process in place to rectify the decision.. The current board would be the first to admit that in hindsight(what a great thing to have) they would have done some things differently but thats life!! thats business and guess what... THATS FOOTBALL! Anyway, thats my poinjt of view and im going now to crack open another Jimmie can!!!!:o

Couldn't agree more. For months we have been told of the white knight coming to save us by THS and BT. However, when push came to shove, nothing has happened AGAIN. It's all good and well to talk it up and get members hopes up that something may be happening but having some hard evidence usually helps. Names have been given of big Carlton people who will come in but it would seem that most of these people either weren't spoken to or have no interest of actually standing. At least Smorgon is putting his cards on the table and offering something to follow, unlike Elliott and DeLutis who complain about not having enough time. The club has been is terrible shape for 5 years, HOW LONG DO YOU NEED if you're serious about it?

In fairness, I dare say somebody on those tickets has been feeding the info out. If they say they Maclure is onboard, they will be believed. Some of the stuff handed back to us though, suggested it was a done deal, when in actual fact nobody had firmly committed, even now.

There is the bringing forward of the AGM to blame, but then I can't help but feel that these posters might feel their sources have overstated things a touch and left them hanging out to dry.

Still a few days left, and Diggins is stirring the pot. What do you reckon about a combination of the two tickets throwing their hat in the ring on the 8th?

"you wait and see"

blah, blah , blah.

Speaking only for myself here (and I dont think I have used any of the above phrases previously) I think I have told you what has essentially been fact - not fiction. That being that there are certainly efforts underway to replace the current board and whom was involved.

It should be quite obvious to everyone now that the Elliot ticket has withdrawn that this cannot and should not be achieved in a matter of a few weeks of planning. Smorgon via his advice realised this and brought the AGM forward knowing quite well the people that were being spoken to and their movements throughout January.

If the AGM were in March as per usual Carlton practice there would certainly be a DeLutis ticket put forward.

By no means does this mean that Smorgon will remain President in the long term, it just delays the inevitable.

I am also looking forward to the games in 07 as I think we now have an exciting young list that will make watching the footy much more enjoyable.

In fairness, I dare say somebody on those tickets has been feeding the info out. If they say they Maclure is onboard, they will be believed. Some of the stuff handed back to us though, suggested it was a done deal, when in actual fact nobody had firmly committed, even now.

There is the bringing forward of the AGM to blame, but then I can't help but feel that these posters might feel their sources have overstated things a touch and left them hanging out to dry.

Still a few days left, and Diggins is stirring the pot. What do you reckon about a combination of the two tickets throwing their hat in the ring on the 8th?[/quot

Not sure about that one..... in my view that would reek of desperation... it would seem to be a very haphazard and knee jerk reaction.. I think Graeme Smorgon would be elated if that happened.. It would further de-stabilise any opposition he had and probably give the everyday supporters of the club (like me) a feeling that the combined ticket would be quiet factious in its make up and stability is something we are crying out for.. It would be like the English and French uniting to fight the Germans!!!! They would do it out of neccesity but really dont like each other much!!!!
Sometimes it is true that its better the devil you know..At least with Smorgons camp, they SEEM to be showing signs of unity..
As for Diggins, to say that the current board is run like a dictatorship is fine.. But did anyone ever think that Maybe, just maybe that is what was, or what is needed at this time to possibly right a sinking ship!!! All the board leaks, the split factions maybe neccesitated a "hard" line approach for a certain perios of time... As i have said on a previous post, it happens in life and we dont question it, it definately happens in business and we accept that so why not football!!!

Like i have said the whole time, the leaks are the most damaging thing, and that includes all the stuff posted by BT over the past few months. I'm sorry to tell you all this but if you encourage the sort leaking of 'insider' info and gossiping like what BT (and that complete and utter imbecile THS) has been doing recently, then you are also a part of the problem with the club at the moment.

BT i have nothing against you personally, by the way.

What annoys me about the date being brought forward excuse... Did they seriously think that Smorgan wouldn't attempt to subvert any sort of challenge by doing that. To me, they've already shown that they're not savvy enough to forsee an obvious political move and as such I will be far more sceptical when they put forth their eventual challenge, should it ever come. I understand you need more time to build a comprehensive business plan, but this should've been happening months ago.

I'm sick of all the 'wait and see' stuff. Money talks and bull**** walks. Lets see something tangible and then we might champion the latest 'saviour.'

If the AGM were in March as per usual Carlton practice there would certainly be a DeLutis ticket put forward.
It might be "usual" lately, but I seem to remember December (the week before christmas) as the usual time before that.