Toothpick Vic

Manchester City, West Perth Falcons
Thought this might be a good opportunity for us frustrated, demoralised, shattered fed up tigers to throw a bit of a vent towards something other than the club and all involved with it......

It was already tough enough watching todays game but how much harder was it when we were stuck listening to Tony Shaw?? Seriously it was actually beyond laughable how biased he was today.... Anytime the umps blew the whistle against the Suns he would try and mount a case as to why it wasn't a free or how unlucky the suns player was..... And he even had that moron Lynch doing the same thing. "Awwwwww cmon umpire!!'

Worst commentary I've heard all season to top off another lovely performance from the boys in yellow and black......

Anyway tigers, just treat this thread like one of those 'whack me dolls' for when your felling a bit stressed.... Go nuts..

The worst comment to come out of Shaw's mouth was when he accused Jack of diving/staging... It was clearly a push and he didn't even say "My bad" or "I was wrong". The guy is a complete joke and Collingwood cra, ck licker!

Yep the blatant cheering going on in that commentary box was laughable, Lynch was the worst of them all imo, we played like shit today but that commentary team just made it worse.

Was about to start a thread on this myself. I was more frustrated with Shaw than some of the passengers in yellow and black for much of the day. I just couldn't fathom how he gets paid to dribble that BS.

Absolute disgrace he was, accusing Jack of diving, whinging about that Lynch holding the ball when he sat on it and didn't make an attempt, and his disgust when it looked like Foley was gunna take the free kick from the point post incident. Disgrace.

It was so irritating, as if I wasn't going through enough watching that crap... they were openly barracking for the Suns.

They were also shown to be wrong so many times on replay I lost count. Their initial reaction to everything was in the GC's favour.

Yeah, I agree. He talks to much and he needs to shut up. The commentators went on about how White kicked a point yet the replay showed it hit the behind post. Collingwood W4NKER

No one annoys me more than Blight though, that Carlton game was painful enough without his stupid remarks. In one instance he claimed that we got a lucky call, when in fact, the replay showed the umpire was correct. But he kept harping on about it. He even says it 'I don't wanna harp on about it' but he still does.

I had to shake my head when he made a massive thing out of when he thought Ablett had been knocked over behind the play after he'd got rid of it in the middle of the ground.... After going back to the vision, Ablett didn't even go to ground and left Shaw looking like the buffoon he is....

Haha... Nice one. I think we have come to the conclusion that the guy is a complete media Puppet. I'm surprised we don't see the strings pulling this clown around.

Yeah, I agree. He talks to much and he needs to shut up. The commentators went on about how White kicked a point yet the replay showed it hit the behind post. Collingwood W4NKER

No one annoys me more than Blight though, that Carlton game was painful enough without his stupid remarks. In one instance he claimed that we got a lucky call, when in fact, the replay showed the umpire was correct. But he kept harping on about it. He even says it 'I don't wanna harp on about it' but he still does.

Yeah blight is one of the worst...but he lost touch with reality 15 years ago, he's just another psycho commentator.

Robert Walls would've looked like an angel today... Oh well, Richmond need to pull their finger out..

Admittedly, I didn't see the first half of the Carlton game but I actually thought Walls was pretty measured in his comments, and even got the feeling he felt genuinely bad for the Tigers, or at least for the fans, when we said (after the umpteenth Carlton goal) something along the lines of "This is very disappointing for the Tigers because they've shown some signs this year".

As far the Suns are concerned, I'm not sure how many times you guys have watched them during the year (I've watched them quite a bit because they seem to be on the TV every second week up here) but every time I've watched them the commentators have been rooting for them like hell - normally because they're getting absolutely hammered and they probably don't want people to turn the thing off because it's no contest. The fact that it was not like that against the Tigers is squarely the fault of the Tigers. The commentators, if anything, are guilty only of assuming that Tigers are a decent outfit - capable of beating a side in its first year.

Thought this might be a good opportunity for us frustrated, demoralised, shattered fed up tigers to throw a bit of a vent towards something other than the club and all involved with it......

It was already tough enough watching todays game but how much harder was it when we were stuck listening to Tony Shaw?? Seriously it was actually beyond laughable how biased he was today.... Anytime the umps blew the whistle against the Suns he would try and mount a case as to why it wasn't a free or how unlucky the suns player was..... And he even had that moron Lynch doing the same thing. "Awwwwww cmon umpire!!'

Worst commentary I've heard all season to top off another lovely performance from the boys in yellow and black......

Anyway tigers, just treat this thread like one of those 'whack me dolls' for when your felling a bit stressed.... Go nuts..

Actually, without appearing like I am sucking his .... I thought shaw was spot on. Don't know why, maybe because it was our home game , but we where in their favour like no other for the last 20 years.

Shaw leaves Walls for dead, no comparison!!!:cool:

Actually, without appearing like I am sucking his .... I thought shaw was spot on. Don't know why, maybe because it was our home game , but we where in their favour like no other for the last 20 years.

No commentator should show the sort of bias he was showing today.... It was almost like they'd pulled some half cut Suns mug from the crowd and said 'look we're a man down in the comm box, could you please jump in there for a couple of hours and call the game??'

I do agree though that we got the rub of the green with the umps but the way Shaw and Lynch were carrying on was cringeworthy..

completly disagree about walls
tony shaw isnt the flog commentator walls is

once my sick 5yo daughter fell asleep and i sneakily flicked over, the bias in their commentary was obvious from the first minute... every single time a GCS player stepped around a tigers player, or did something half decent they were applauding the efforts like star struck 12 year old girls.

sure, the comments themselves may be spot on, errors etc etc, but the sheer blatant fawning that Shaw does to anyone not wearing yellow & black is pretty frikkin sickening.

absolute disgrace today even my dons mate was messaging me saying it was shit.

My favourite part was when a gc defender got away with a blatant arm chop and the idiots actually praised him for getting away with it

hahaha, i am so glad there is a post about this, makes me realise i am not just being a sook about how much i cant stand him!

From the first 2 minutes of the game, i remember saying to the Mrs (who doesnt really have an interest in footy but was sitting on the chair..so vented on her) ... I CANT STAND THIS BLOKE!!! etc etc... seriously, evertime he opened his mouth i had to cover my ears , i mean... the dude is such a dick he runs into a tree and breaks his own nose!

One of his calls was when the suns were not paid a mark in the foward line, they showed a replay and he goes "thats a mark everyday of the week", I have a tivo so i went back to the replay a million times and you can clearly see the ball hits the ground before he marks it...

and everytime we were paid a free kick... it was like the umpires were wearing a Richmond jumper..

I honestly cant beleive how he has a job, He has a very annoying voice, and then when you see him on camera... he has a head like a smashed crab!

Thankgod Ch10 wont be covering the footy next year, I seriously doubt any TV station is going to give this old hack a job!

Yeah it was terribly biased commentary. Not just biased but also just very poor all-round.