Votes: 19 90.5%

Caesar

Ex-Huckleberry
You're stopped waiting to turn right into a driveway on a busy four lane road. Oncoming traffic is banked up in the centre lane, but still flowing freely in the outside lane.

The banked-up traffic starts to move, and one of the cars intentionally waits and creates a gap for you. He checks his wing mirror and waves you through, the implication being that he's assuring you the outside lane is clear.

What do you do?

You wait until both lanes are stopped. I actually saw this happen last week and it nearly caused a massive crash. Very lucky for those involved.

I've sat in the back seat of a car that did this and got cleaned up. Not much fun.

e7e8b0ea39807cc75ac345be380361e9a449e0cca25758975da37818dd3ec1f2.jpg

Continue going to the next intersection and do a u-turn there.

Stuff waiting for clear gap over 4 lanes and risking an accident.

Yeh creep and then have a look at the other lane. Personally I don't think the other guy is saying the lane next to him is free. He's just saying that he is letting you through
Most accidents I reckon are from idiots assuming the path is clear

The main danger with 'creeping' like that is the right lane beginning to move again and the left lane also still moving. You'll be lampooned blocking the road and people won't be too happy.

The creep is tempting in these situations, however.

You're stopped waiting to turn right into a driveway on a busy four lane road. Oncoming traffic is banked up in the centre lane, but still flowing freely in the outside lane.

The banked-up traffic starts to move, and one of the cars intentionally waits and creates a gap for you. He checks his wing mirror and waves you through, the implication being that he's assuring you the outside lane is clear.

What do you do?

You don't live in Deer Park, do you?

This kind of traffic is a daily thing near home and there's been more than a few accidents from people trying to get in or out of the streets that run off Station Rd.

I wouldn't ever be trusting some random's wave. Have had people trying to wave me through when you can clearly see a truck coming.

Seriously? Did not know that.
99% sure it's illegal in NSW in basically all situations. Victorians getting pinged for it just over the border by NSW coppers is apparently rather common.

The reason I ask is because this happens to me at least once or twice a week on the way home from work, and people get really offended when I decline to turn. I was wondering if I was being unreasonable by preferring to wait and make sure the coast was clear myself.

Continue going to the next intersection and do a u-turn there.
As Doss noted, I'm in NSW and this is illegal. Probably should have mentioned that in my first post.

Stuff waiting for clear gap over 4 lanes and risking an accident.
When I say four lanes, I mean two in each direction. Breaks of traffic are pretty regular, it's just I'm near a level crossing and when the gates are down the traffic banks up quickly for a short period.

Personally I don't think the other guy is saying the lane next to him is free. He's just saying that he is letting you through
Most of the time it is pretty clear they are checking their wing mirror. The other day I had a full five second silent argument with a bloke who was clearly upset I wouldn't take his word for it. I mean, sure, it was probably safe. But I just hate the idea of turning without being able to see for myself.

No, just wait. Have been in a car that was T-boned due to this exact scenario. Considering how many idiots there are on the roads, I don't trust people in general to have the spatial awareness or to judge the speed of an oncoming car from checking their side mirror.

This brings up something that shits me on the roads, people being too polite or courteous to the point of risking safety. Just ****ing go mate, I'm happy to wait.

The reason I ask is because this happens to me at least once or twice a week on the way home from work, and people get really offended when I decline to turn. I was wondering if I was being unreasonable by preferring to wait and make sure the coast was clear myself.

Generally people are idiots and you should never trust them

Seriously? Did not know that.

Well this is more likely to happen when you can't see:

Saw an accident exactly like that the other day, except the left lane was a bus lane so, in theory, should not have a had a car in it. Not sure whose fault it would have been. The car turning right, flew round the corner, barely slowing to see if it was safe. The car in left/bus lane was also flying down the bus lane, using it to bypass the banked up traffic to get to the next intersection. both doing the wrong thing in my opinion.

its kind of ******ed to think people actually wouldn't look though, im shocked its a question

you creep, you check, you go

if you hold up the other guy, he'll know better than to help out next time

For Perthites I'm pretty sure an accident like this is a daily occurence at the Berwick St entrance to South Perth Maccas