ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
Hi all, dropped into training this morning, and scribbled down a few notes. This is by no means comprehensive, but might give you all something to think about...

Peake - bulked up, bigger in the arms, but still quite thin in the legs. Looks good.
Pav - looks fine. Took part in almost all training drills. Did some individual work on tackling and being bumped on his shoulder. Was last one off the track at the end.
Medhurst - much thinner in the lower body. Calves no longer look like Christmas hams and thighs are no longer tree trunks.
Browne - trained with the main group.
Murphy - huge, enthusiastic, appeared to be working his butt off. Looks a likely sort for plenty of game time in 2006.
Josh - looked very, very sharp.
Ibbotson - looks big and hard for 17 years old. Good skills.
Longmuir - not there.
Grover - the standout! Ran hard, tackled hard, bounced up, ran some more, seemed to be pushing himself really, really hard... he obviously knows his position is up for grabs and he wants it!
Dunn - worked hard and got a fair bit of the ball during the drills and set-play practices. Faster than I would have thought.
Polly - trained mostly with the forward group, but was also playing as a CHB during set-play practices. Didn't look out of place in either. He looks taller (true) and much bulkier in the upper body.
Stribling and Macca are almost identical from a distance.

IP great work. Please keep us updated if you can as I can never get down there:thumbsu:

Good to hear about Murphs size. A KP awaits in 2006

would love to hear how Crowley, Schammer and Headland are going, can anyone please help me out, cheers.

Should have mentioned Schammer. He, too, has bulked up a bit and was very busy today. Will be included in the leadership group within the next couple of years is my prediction. Always talking and encouraging others. Crowley's improvement - in all aspects of his game - over the last 12 months has been sensational. This time last year he was a nobody, today he was running hard and was pretty vocal on the track. I reckon he has put on a couple of kgs also. It looks like he feels belongs. Headland... didn't really notice him.

Kapow!!! said:
I'd like to see Peake grow around the legs in particular the thighs. He has the potential to be a Judd type player breaking tackles with great acceleration and strength.

One thing that impressed me about Peake today was that every kick hit its target - whether he was just jogging in a skills drill, or running flat tack during set-plays. Every kick on goal went sailing thorugh the middle, every pass hit the next bloke on the chest. Hard to believe he was playing G-grade amateurs a few years back, and that a fair few "educated" footy people were saying he was only drafted cos of his name.

Go "Ultimate"... ;)

:thumbsu:

ImperialPurple said:
One thing that impressed me about Peake today was that every kick hit its target - whether he was just jogging in a skills drill, or running flat tack during set-plays. Every kick on goal went sailing thorugh the middle, every pass hit the next bloke on the chest. Hard to believe he was playing G-grade amateurs a few years back, and that a fair few "educated" footy people were saying he was only drafted cos of his name.

Go "Ultimate"... ;)

Great just what we need. Another player spent all his good fortune during the pre-season instead of when we need it :( :p

wehavethepassion said:
Is peake, crowley, Schammer going to push Dj for a spot in the side?

I don't know - what do you think? You were there today also weren't you? I'm sure I saw you! (I was in my car - staying well hidden..! ;) )?

ImperialPurple said:
Grover - the standout! Ran hard, tackled hard, bounced up, ran some more, seemed to be pushing himself really, really hard... he obviously knows his position is up for grabs and he wants it!

I think at this time last year, Grover's career looked like it was on the downward turn. He really put in the hard yards last year and I would have thought that the cement was almost dry on his position in the back half. Anyway if he is showing he is hungry, that is great because it shows he wants to get better.

Saw Polly and Peake on tv, yep they have bulked up nicely.

Yes IP at this time last year I was questioning the future of young Peake. I know I wasn't an orphan on that matter, but good on him for putting his head down and taking his opportunity with both hands.

Let's just hope that we are not seeing some players suffering from the Bandy Syndrome (stars in January, duds in May). With that comment I just touched a hunk of wood ..........

Originally posted by masai
I think at this time last year, Grover's career looked like it was on the downward turn. He really put in the hard yards last year and I would have thought that the cement was almost dry on his position in the back half. Anyway if he is showing he is hungry, that is great because it shows he wants to get better.

Yeah, I agree he certainly did the hard yards last year, but it's a new year, and he's no Pav / Bellie / Hase / McPharlap / Parker who'll get picked each week if they are fit. He probably knows there are a number of guys waiting for anyone from (say) player 10 - player 22 to slip up or have a drop in form, in order to get given a go. I reckon he's dead keen to make sure he's up to scratch. He looks good.

ImperialPurple said:
I don't know - what do you think? You were there today also weren't you? I'm sure I saw you! (I was in my car - staying well hidden..! ;) )?
No IP unfortunately after 7 monbths off on Long service leave I'm back at work.

I would luv to see DJ and any other high profile player get a gentle reminder during the pre season that he(they) ain't a walk up start.

Went down to training a few times now. Whole group looks really good but Peake and Ibbotson really impressed me most. Peake has got some real "tow" about him and ran it from the goal square once and kicked a goal.

Ibbotson has great skills and is going to be a real gun.

More important to all the CC knockers out there. He has got it right, the right man to lead the club. He has built a great squad with real depth now. Freo is going to be real force in 2006 and a top two finish.

Dwayo said:
Ibbotson has great skills and is going to be a real gun.

Man! No pressure. lol.

Of course I hope you're spot on. I was quite excited when they took him. It made me think that they knew something about him that others didn't. They have been watching him for awhile, and rate him highly. This draft we are probably going to be reminded that we didn't take Swallow. It won't matter that no other team took him until the later rounds. The Bott becoming a good player will be the best answer to that that we have.

Does anyone have any views on how far off playing seniors the Bott may be? I've never seen him. Fast? Will he play NAB?

I heard CC last year talking about our KPP stocks, and was asked if we needed to recruit more. His response was that maybe we did, but that it wasn't just about having lots on your list, it was about their quality, and that "all of ours are good". I feel with our smaller players we have a couple of very exciting prospects developing. If we wound the clock forward and a few years and had players like Scahmmer, Crowley, Peake and the Bott playing as the regulars, it provides a fair contrast in pace to our current crew.

Not exactly the same roles of course, but interesting. We've been hammered over the pace issue, but they seem to be addressing it pretty well.

Just out of interest what made Ibbotson stand out?

He was abit of a suprise pick, I know one club didnt even have him on their list at all and thought he needed another year of underage footy.

Phil Smart did say he would be a development prospect and probly not play for 2-3yrs.

theorangeapple said:
Just out of interest what made Ibbotson stand out?

He has a mature body for a 17 year old. Skills appear good too. He seems to be working very hard - possibly being the youngest player on the list he attracts attention. People always want to see what the new recruits are doing, and he certainly looks perfectly capable among the guys on the track, and is more advanced in terms of size and clean skills than what most would have thought.

I've only made it to one pre season training session IP, and I was pleasantly surprised with what i saw of Warnock.
Not sure if this was because of lack of expectation, but his enthusiasm was superb and his mobility and strong hands were a feature.

What are your thoughts on him after seeing quite a few sessions?

I wouldn't be surprised if he spends most, if not all of the season in the West Perth firsts, which after seeing his light frame for the first time I would of thought was not a chance.

theGav56 said:
Does anyone have any views on how far off playing seniors the Bott may be? I've never seen him. Fast? Will he play NAB?

Haven't seen him but my cousin has played against him last year and he told me that agility/speed was his most impressive attribute, so I guess speed is a facet of his game.

Ulikely that he will play NAB given that CC said he would again try to field his best side possible during that competition.

Scham said:
, but his enthusiasm was superb and his mobility and strong hands were a feature.

yes to all of the above! And also very clean below his knees also, which considering he stands at 205cm, is pretty cool stuff! He's no slowpoke either by the looks of things.

I hope he is able to play some good footy for the Joondies league side. He definitely needs a kilo or 30, but I don't think he was a bad choice, even though he was a rather surprising one.

Funny story - just before the school hols, I was walking through Freo one afternoon just near the markets. It was just after the Family Christmas Party, and my son recognised him walking along South Tce, and asked if he could go say hello. Next thing my three kiddies are chasing him down the street to say "g'day, welcome to Freo." He'd probably been here about a week and a half at that stage, and the grin on his face was as wide as he is tall!

I could imagine him calling his folks that night, telling them how he'd been recognised in the streets of Freo! At that stage he said he was happy to be here, everyone was making him feel welcome and he only had 6cm and 40kg to catch up to Sandi! Told them his main priority for the next year or two was to put on weight.

Satan311 said:
So have they been sighted yet? I'm mainly keen to know if Jack's put on a little weight yet

Aah Perf supporter?? ;)

JJ looks about the same, I have to say. Drummie is a great pick up for you - mature body, a hard worker and lots of confidence and enthusiasm. My prediction is that it will translate to a very good WAFL player for at least some of this year (until he gets his opportunity in the Big Time).

Whatever happened to Kiwi Campbell's attempted transfer from the Joondies to Perf?