Opinion Travis Varcoe

Assuming Varcoe is worth pick 10 in any draft, would you trade him?

• Yes

Votes: 48 39.7%
  • No

Votes: 30 24.8%
  • Get stuffed Meto

Votes: 43 35.5%

Would we entertain Yarran Pivo?....what's your thoughts on him?
We (as in Geelong) might look at Yarran if Varcoe was traded (which, I might add, seems unlikely).

Myself, I wouldn't look at Yarran.

Like Varcoe, Yarran's best is pretty damn good but I have concerns around his consistency and application.

Purely personal opinion.

But he doesn't hate Yarran.
I must admit this did perplex me as well.

They seem to be pretty similar players to my eyes.

Varcoe is 5? games back from a med term injury after being injured long-term

in form he is the most damaging run and carry player in the comp, the guy is as fast as Motlop with the kicking of Mackie and Chapman

2 time premiership player who is 25

Some of you need to watch the 2011 grand final again

even if he doesn't come back into form this year give him a full preseason next year and a good run with injuries and he is good to go

Varcoe was in smashing form prior to getting injured earlier in the year. Anyone who thinks we would have won against the Hawks first time around without him is....a meto or relative of. Sure he's out of form at the moment and needs to have a spell in the VFL. But he remains an important part of our line up. I really think it's between the ears with Travis - he clearly has little confidence in his body at the moment. Seems to be preoccupied with avoiding body contact as much as possible. I suppose given his extensive injury history that's understandable. Maybe he needs to see a sports psych?

I would be surprised if Varcoe is not shopped around at year's end. The only question is if he will have any takers (in Adelaide) with 1 year of a very large contract to run.

Not questioning the guys ability, love him as a player, but I understand he agitated to go home last year.

I would be keen to try and arrange something involving Yarran, if Carlton are moving him on, so we have a like for like replacement.

You've lost me with that one mate. You know the caricature of Varcoe as a soft, lazy player who drifts in and out of games and who is massively overrated? Yarran is that player.

His best is top 10, but he has never maintained it for long through inconsistency or injury it doesnt matter.

He may become very good or he may never improve, I think a fresh gamble on a top 10 would be better odds now though.

To be fair to Meto, I introduced Yarran into the discussion, not him. And it was in the context of Varcoe wanting to move.

If Varcoe wants to stay at Geelong and is happy to sign a contract extension I would keep him.

I just believe he will move and I think Yarran would be a good replacement.

Yarrans' played a quite a few good games and I don't mind his attack on the ball, think he's been played a little out of position at Carlton, has a lot of presence about him as well as talent.
Could see im pairing with Motlop nicely.:thumbsu:

You've lost me with that one mate. You know the caricature of Varcoe as a soft, lazy player who drifts in and out of games and who is massively overrated? Yarran is that player.

Soft, lazy, overrated??
That is seriously ridiculous.
Do you think CS, the player he was, the man he is , would tolerate a SOFT LAZY player in 2011, and this year?
He has already spoken about Varcoe being in that leadership group next year.
How would Motlop, Bundy, and Stokes feel, for starters, if their mate was traded?

Varcoe was in smashing form prior to getting injured earlier in the year. Anyone who thinks we would have won against the Hawks first time around without him is....a meto or relative of. Sure he's out of form at the moment and needs to have a spell in the VFL. But he remains an important part of our line up. I really think it's between the ears with Travis - he clearly has little confidence in his body at the moment. Seems to be preoccupied with avoiding body contact as much as possible. I suppose given his extensive injury history that's understandable. Maybe he needs to see a sports psych?

Sunshine, he got 13 possessions, one less than Rivers,...get a grip!

That has been replied to elsewhere. You could not be more biased if you tried, OR, you are a simple lover of possessions only, SIMPLE being the operative word.

Soft, lazy, overrated??
That is seriously ridiculous.
Do you think CS, the player he was, the man he is , would tolerate a SOFT LAZY player in 2011, and this year?
He has already spoken about Varcoe being in that leadership group next year.
How would Motlop, Bundy, and Stokes feel, for starters, if their mate was traded?

You may want to re-read my post, paying particular attention the use of the word 'caricature'.

We will and should do everything possible to run Travis back into form.
He is in a slump at the moment but we all know the damage that he is capable of inflicting when he's up and about - the Club will do everything possible to rediscover that form.
He has game breaking pace , sublime skills , kicks goals and can generate heaps of defensive pressure.
If Travis gets it 15 or more times per game I'll put my left knacker on the line and say we win more than 80% of the time , he is pure quality and they don't grow on trees. ;)

You really are making a proper arse of yourself now.

Fact are facts dude, deal in real! They were his stats round 1!:rolleyes:

I reckon given the latitude and positive role afforded to Varcoe at Geelong, Chris Yarran could be a big asset running with Motlop next season.
As far as the midfield goes though, I hope we size upwards like Fremantle, I like Kade Koldasanij in the upcoming draft stands at 188cm and is a ball magnet another Tassie kid.

We saw v North in R2 just how valuable Varcoe is, and can still be. Admittedly his form since returning from injury has been ordinary, but I am optimistic he will improve.

No way would Varcoe even get a first round pick I highly doubt it. Let alone 10-20, Motlop maybe but not Trav.

I don't know why Meto expects Varcoe to get 30 odd disposals because he isn't that.

And never will be.

He's an outside runner with good footskills, the type of player that doesn't bomb it into fwd 50 like 99% the rest of the team which hurts our fwd 50 entries.

He hasn't played a whole lot of footy in the last couple of years so he is out of form, but he is in a group that is providing little right now and it's hurting us.

If he can get back to his best, then yup he's best 22. At the moment though, he isn't and should be considered in the VFL.

No way would Varcoe even get a first round pick I highly doubt it. Let alone 10-20, Motlop maybe but not Trav.

I don't know why Meto expects Varcoe to get 30 odd disposals because he isn't that.

And never will be.

He's an outside runner with good footskills, the type of player that doesn't bomb it into fwd 50 like 99% the rest of the team which hurts our fwd 50 entries.

He hasn't played a whole lot of footy in the last couple of years so he is out of form, but he is in a group that is providing little right now and it's hurting us.

If he can get back to his best, then yup he's best 22. At the moment though, he isn't and should be considered in the VFL.

99%...............is that right!o_O.....he gotta get first, do you understand English????:rolleyes:

It's a figure of speech.

Anyway read the rest of my post.

Besides what is you whole argument? He doesn't get enough ball for your sake?

Guess what? The MC think he is good enough to get selected every week, even last year he was rushed back and again this year so I will take their selection well ahead of yours.

Here's an idea, if you don't like him enough why don't you tweet the coach and ask him why he gets selected week in week out?

It's a figure of speech.

Anyway read the rest of my post.

Besides what is you whole argument? He doesn't get enough ball for your sake?

Guess what? The MC think he is good enough to get selected every week, even last year he was rushed back and again this year so I will take their selection well ahead of yours.

Here's an idea, if you don't like him enough why don't you tweet the coach and ask him why he gets selected week in week out?

You've obviously used it as a figure of speech..... but I'm dealing with straight out facts, not trying to insult you but trying to make you see my point,......"that's right" he doesn't get it enough, and not by a long shot given the pseudos.
13 possessons and that was a good one!
Rather a player like Yarran if you want like for like, but then I'd say Yarran is much harder at the ball!

Yarran is extremely inconsistent, lazy and so, so overrated. Do not want.

If he was 50% as good as he thinks he is I'd have him in a heartbeat, until then no way.

Why are we discussing trading Varcoe anyway? He hasn't given any indication that he wants to leave and the club hasn't given any indication they don't want him in our future. This is only proven in the fact that the MC keep selecting him in the team regardless of form.

Just a hypothetical exercise I believe, after the faith the MC have shown in him over quite a few years there's virtually no chance of him being shown the door.

I'll admit to not being as big a fan as many on here, but at his very best he's a valuable member of the team, just have to hope he reaches something near that form over the next four weeks.

Of course the real reason he won't be traded is due to the fact that a certain poster on here (not mentioning names) would have his post count drop by around 98%, and we don't want to deprive him of his main (only?) reason for hanging around the place. ;)

I think anyone wanting to trade him can get stuffed.was a big part in us getting 2011 flag we geelong dont trade them players thats why we are a great club stick together