Trent Cotchin to debut this week!

• Thread starter Thread starter Roar

Even I am looking forward to seeing him debut.
Looks a talent, and I'd be sad to see him become plagued by injuries.

He has had a bad run with injuries over the past year or two, but none of them seem to reflect any particular weakness or recurring/degenerative problems, just bad luck, so hopefully it'll be something he's past now. As others have said though, it's a risk with any player, but it doesn't seem the risk is any greater with him.

:thumbsu:Herald Sun article today would suggest he is another week away from debuting...

He may or may not play but that article was pretty misleading.

They made it sound like there would be no changes. The quote from Greg Miller said there won's be heaps of changes but possibly a couple, so it could be a matter of who gets picked and him saying not all of them will get a spot.

Should Greg Miller make quotes about team changes ?

I think its time for Greg Miller to move on !

Did'nt Greg Miller ( his time with North ) want the club to play as many games out of Sydney ?

Is there a new club coming out of west Sydney ?

Times up !

Who's thinks the same as me ?

I reckon Jackson is in trouble. Was hopeless against the aints. Gave us nothing. Out Jackon, in either bowden, tivendale, or the cotchmeister. :thumbsu:

Did'nt Greg Miller ( his time with North ) want the club to play as many games out of Sydney ?

Times up !

Since when did they allow big footy access at school?

Times up !

Ill-informed folk.

This is a footy forum . Should Greg Miller make quotes about team changes ?

I was asking a question ! ( benny_furs )

And for Greg Miller , yes i do think his time is up at Punt Road !

Ill-informed folk ? What do you mean ......................... Do Sheady and Miller get along ?

Every other AFL club has officials with a much lower profile than Greg who make comments about team changes.

Your opinion is unfair. Forget the past, the question is did Greg's comments have a negative influence on the club in this circumstance and the answer is clearly no.

He has changed his role at the club. No longer the recruiting officer and will no longer be on the board.

In a way he was sacked and re-hired.

This is a footy forum . Should Greg Miller make quotes about team changes ?

And for Greg Miller , yes i do think his time is up at Punt Road !

Ill-informed folk ? What do you mean ......................... Do Sheady and Miller get along ?

Come back when you learn to spell the name of one of the club greats.

So sorry .

Kevin Sheedy played 251 games and kicked 88 goals for Richmond between 1967 and 1979.

He was a Victorian representative in 1969,70,71,72,74 and 1977 and was in the Richmond premiership sides of 1969,73, and 1974.

Kevin was the captain of Richmond in 1978 and won Richmonds b and f award in 1976.

:( just sad i was 2 years old when he left

So sorry .

Kevin Sheedy played 251 games and kicked 88 goals for Richmond between 1967 and 1979.

He was a Victorian representative in 1969,70,71,72,74 and 1977 and was in the Richmond premiership sides of 1969,73, and 1974.

Kevin was the captain of Richmond in 1978 and won Richmonds b and f award in 1976.

:( just sad i was 2 years old when he left

Its amazing what you can find on Google.

It even corrects your spelling. Kevin Sheady....HAHAHA.

SHOCKING

I reckon Jackson is in trouble. Was hopeless against the aints. Gave us nothing.

He spent a lot of time on the bench IITB, and in his only full quarter (the last) he picked up 8 possessions which were all good.

Far more importantly, at the time our mids who had played far more gametime were getting tired, he was the man laying the tackles (five of them) and doing the grunt work which prevented the Saints from breaking away at the stoppages. In such a close game, you can't underestimate the work he did on the ball which was keeping us competitive.

He's had a string of knocks and injuries since he copped a caning against the Blues in rd.1 (and played very well). As our leaving him out from the Burgers on the weekend indicates, he's not quite right, but when he is, he's an important young player for us.

White had one more possession and made one more error than Jackson. For every flashy run White made, Jackson was at the bottom of a pack fighting hard.

I don't see anyone knocking White's game, just Jackson's very similar effort was much less noticeable for most.

If he has as much talent as everyone says, then playing in the lower leagues will be of no benefit to him. Get him into the ones asap.

It's a benefit to him playing with Coburg when he's a fair way off genuine AFL fitness Crum.

I'd rather see the kid come in and have belief in his ability to cut it at top level from the day he debuts than not be fit enough to compete with those who are older and stronger.

That said, a swap between he and Edwards for the Dreamtime match would do neither of them or us any harm - as long as Cotchin plays forward and we bench him when he's knackered from doing the hard chasing all our small forwards are now (finally) expected to do.

listening to tuesdays with terry my assumption would be that he won't play, especially the last line of 'get down to the g early to see mark coughlan play and have a look at trent cotchin...if he is not selected in the seniors.'

i think he is still one week off.

Hope he plays, i dreamt that he did on sunday night. How many possies do u reckon hes averaging a week at coburg?

It's a benefit to him playing with Coburg when he's a fair way off genuine AFL fitness Crum.

I'd rather see the kid come in and have belief in his ability to cut it at top level from the day he debuts than not be fit enough to compete with those who are older and stronger.
Fitness would be the only reason to keep him down there. I don't underestimate how huge an impact missing a preseason can be. Hopefully youthfull enthusiasm will make up for it when he gets a gig. But I don't think he needs to spend a lot of games in the magoos to 'show he's ready'. They already saw that before they drafted him.

But I think Brooksy is right. It sounded very much from Tuesdays with Terry that he won't be playing this week.

dont think he should be played yet. no hurry teams doing alright and he needs more game time. wont be long now. Hes a coming to a venue near you!!!!!!!!

listening to tuesdays with terry my assumption would be that he won't play, especially the last line of 'get down to the g early to see mark coughlan play and have a look at trent cotchin...if he is not selected in the seniors.'

i think he is still one week off.

Spot on Brooksy.

My personal opinion is that he will be brought in next week.

However having said that...if in the off chance we upset Geelong he might not get the opportunity to get into the team. (i know its wishful thinking but weirder things have happened! ;))

I would rather see Cotchin debut against Essendon in the Dreamtime match. Let him win the Dreamtime medal, like Dean Polo. If he did play his first game this week, it would be interesting to see how he would go against the best midfield in the competition.

It's off topic, but does anyone think that Jarrad Oakleigh-Nicholls will play against Essendon in the Dreamtime match? He has been in good form for Coburg in the last couple of weeks.

I would rather see Cotchin debut against Essendon in the Dreamtime match. Let him win the Dreamtime medal, like Dean Polo. If he did play his first game this week, it would be interesting to see how he would go against the best midfield in the competition.

I agree. Cotch wouldn't be at 100% fitness yet after missing preseason. It would be unfair to him and the rest of the midfield rotation if he was to play this weekend and physical only play 15-20 of high temp footy against the best midfield in the competition.

Another week in the Burgers and on the training track will make a difference but the big difference is the drop off in the standard of opposition against the Bombers. It would be easier to hide him if his run gives out and at the same time there is nowhere near the pressure on the rest of the rotation.

Bring on Dreamtime!