Power21

Port Adelaide
Detroit Red Wings
How good are they. Any fans in here?

Ascendancy is an awesome album, seriously hope they tour Oz because ill be going, love thier guitar solos and riffs, Matt k Heafy is one of the most talented young musicians in the world and dont be surprised if by the time he is 40 (he is only 19) and trivium are huge we talk about him as one of the best weve seen.

Ten Ton Hammer said:
Dying in your arms is a good song but thats all i've heard!

Awesome song, mate do yourself a favour and get hold of thier album Ascendancy, you wont be dissapointed.

These guys are awesome. Matt Heafy will be a metal/rock god after the next 15 years. He is still under the age of 20, and his chops and skills on an axe are a must-hear. Plus he is a great singer, and has good screaming vocal abilities as well.

My favourite song of theirs is Declaration, from Ascendancy. The fast hammer-ons in the main riff of the song (0:20), following the intro is just blistering and amazing. Plus the section around the middle of the song (3:00), "Fighting for our principles...", I LOVE IT! :)

The next Metallica.

metallichris said:
These guys are awesome. Matt Heafy will be a metal/rock god after the next 15 years. He is still under the age of 20, and his chops and skills on an axe are a must-hear. Plus he is a great singer, and has good screaming vocal abilities as well.

My favourite song of theirs is Declaration, from Ascendancy. The fast hammer-ons in the main riff of the song (0:20), following the intro is just blistering and amazing. Plus the section around the middle of the song (3:00), "Fighting for our principles...", I LOVE IT! :)

The next Metallica.

Agree, especially about Matt Heafy being a metal god. They are my new favourite band and i would love to see them live thats for sure. Light to the flies is an awesome song, the part around 4:00 mins in is awesome. But the best thing about thier album ascendancy is that i can honestly say i love every song on it which is f****** sweet.

It is absolutely ridiculous that the average age of Trivium is 21 or so. They will be enormous.

Power21 said:
Light to the flies is an awesome song, the part around 4:00 mins in is awesome.
Yes that's one of my favourites of theirs as well. Mint.

Power21 said:
But the best thing about thier album ascendancy is that i can honestly say i love every song on it which is f****** sweet.
Agree. Looking forward to the future of this band to take the world by storm. :)

You think these guys have been playing for years.

Ascendacy is brilliant. I reckon it's a cracker.

Best metal album I've heard in a while.

Pantsless said:
I reckon they're better than KE.

It's close.

New KE singer has a ball stomping voice. I would still go for Trivium though.

I haven't heard much yet, but hope to hear more.

Has anyone heard the similar sounding 'Bullet For My Valentine'? I've heard many others say they're like the UK version of Trivium.

Don't think their debut album "The Poison" has come out in Oz yet, but definitely worth downloading. I thought it's the best album I've heard this year (better than both System of a Down albums and the new Opeth)
Check out the songs "The Poison", "Tears Don't Fall", "All These Things I Hate", "The End", "Hand Of Blood" - the whole album is pretty consistant though. If you've only heard their earlier EPs too, the album is much better.

Big fan of Trivium :D

Anyone who has seen the Roadrunner United DVD will know just how talented this guy is. Fantastic singing voice, powerful screams...and an absolute machine on the guitar. He co-produced Roadrunner United with Jordison and a couple of others...and at just 19 with how far he has come already...we're going to see a great deal more of him :thumbsu:

pafc4life said:
Oh please, do not compare Killswitch to Trivium...

I like KsE, but Trivium are far more talented...c'mon...

You can compare them, because they are "metalcore" bands.

Metalcore = the new numetal.

fugsy said:
Anyone who has seen the Roadrunner United DVD will know just how talented this guy is. Fantastic singing voice, powerful screams...and an absolute machine on the guitar. He co-produced Roadrunner United with Jordison and a couple of others...and at just 19 with how far he has come already...we're going to see a great deal more of him :thumbsu:
Man, I love that album. My favourite songs are the The Dagger, In the Fire, Roads, The End, The Enemy, Annihilation By the Hands of God and Dawn of a Golden Age. :D

Love it.

metallichris said:
Man, I love that album. My favourite songs are the The Dagger, In the Fire, Roads, The End, The Enemy, Annihilation By the Hands of God and Dawn of a Golden Age. :D

Love it.

I'm with you MC that album is awesome so is the DVD. How wicked is it when the dude from Anniliator shreads it up.

I Rock said:
I'm with you MC that album is awesome so is the DVD. How wicked is it when the dude from Anniliator shreads it up.
Jeff Waters. One word: legend. I had never heard of him before watching that DVD, but I was blown away at his skill and speed and I think I shall emerse myself in some of Annihilator's material just for more of his shredding.

The video of the Heafy/Beaulieu duelling solo in In the Fire was also a treat to watch. Matt is a real talent, and Cory is right up there with him. :)

Another pioneer of metal I knew nil about was Mike Smith. Brilliant drummer to create the blastbeat. So refreshing to see a black man involved in music without speaking with gangsta-tongue.

Love it.

metallichris said:
Jeff Waters. One word: legend. I had never heard of him before watching that DVD, but I was blown away at his skill and speed and I think I shall emerse myself in some of Annihilator's material just for more of his shredding.

The video of the Heafy/Beaulieu duelling solo in In the Fire was also a treat to watch. Matt is a real talent, and Cory is right up there with him. :)

Another pioneer of metal I knew nil about was Mike Smith. Brilliant drummer to create the blastbeat. So refreshing to see a black man involved in music without speaking with gangsta-tongue.

Love it.

Yea I was keen to check them out also after watching the DVD, I'm getting back into some of the old school bands I used to listen to which is leading me to listen to omre modern bands with old school flavours.

I can't believe how much I am starting to love modern day power metal. Nightwish and Firewind are getting heaps of rotation on the CD player.