Trout sacked

• Thread starter Thread starter Dopey BJ

Maybe this should be in the Trade thread... but here’s my manifesto, make of it what you will.

Where there’s any inconsistency with a players’ contract status - I’ve tried to confirm - then just assume it’s my current view and would be what I would do if possible.

Buckle up mother******s.

PART ONE

1. Tom Hickey - Trade

Get whatever we can for either him or Billy Longer. May not be much, but may be a player we can use in the interim.

2. Jake Carlisle - Keep

Utterly integral to any success going forward. An absolute shining light in a dismal season.

3. Jack Steven - Keep

Ideally he’d be transitioned to spending more time forward as he ages, but as of now he’s one of the few quick mids we have.

4. Jade Gresham - Trade/Keep

Yep. I said it. If GWS is still sniffing around, then if we can turn him into a Dylan Shiel or equivalent, then I’m inclined to take it, but the price would need to be immense. If we can’t, we keep him and put him on the ball.

5. Shane Savage - Keep

Defensively frail but one of our only players that is actually good by foot. Again, if we were offered a speedy mid for him I’d look at it, but otherwise keep.

6. Sebastian Ross - Keep

Don’t be fooled by his disposal numbers, he’s been disappointing for mine in 2018. That being said, he gets the ball in the clinches, and that’s something we struggle with.

7. Luke Dunstan - Keep

His best is excellent, his worst is poor, but he’s worth persisting with. The issue is whether he, Ross, Acres and Steele can play in the same team when none of them are quick. Might need to be satisfied with a rotational spot.

8. Blake Acres - Keep

Finally showing what he’s capable of when he’s played in the guts where he should be. Disposal can be untidy, but he’s also dangerous pushing forward. Must be kept.

9. Jack Steele - Keep

Second year blues? Maybe. He’s still a kid, and hard bodied clearance types and required to mix it with the big boys.

10. Nathan Freeman - Keep

Simply has to play AFL before the season finishes. Give him that shot. Put him on a one year deal for 2019 and if he breaks down again, let him go.

11. Hunter Clark - Keep

Another showing what he’s capable of when he’s played in the guts where he should be. Shows real promise.

13. Jack Lonie - Delist or 1 Year deal

Gets a lot of unfair stick, but won’t get any bigger. Excellent VFL midfielder, but doesn’t make the right decisions at AFL level for that role. Is a capable small forward, but tries to go ‘Hollywood’ still when he should play the percerntages.

14. Jarryn Geary - Keep

Because he’s contracted, but frankly I’d be shopping him around. A solid shutdown defender, but to improve we need Rice and others to go or remain past him.

15. Jack Billings - Trade

Apparently he and his family are sooking it up about his treatment. If that’s the case, piss off Jack. Go to the Injectors. Get top dollar for him - as far as is practicable; a match winner when he’s ‘on’ but content to stroll too often.

16. Jack Newnes - Keep

Again, he’s contracted, but I’d be shopping him around too. Has regressed somewhat from he predestal a lot of us had him on, and his limitations aren’t improving. May have found a role as a sort-of defensive half forward, but should really be a backup as we upgrade the list.

17. Dylan Roberton - Retire

Health and family come first. A huge blow, but unless they’re absolutely certain he’ll be ok, he should give it away.

18. Billy Longer - Trade

See Tom Hickey.

19. Sam Gilbert - Retire

Thank you for your service Sam, genuinely, but it’s time. Pretty sure he knows it too.

20. David Armitage - Retire

Has some very passionate defenders on here, and some equally passionate detractors, but he’s been a warrior. Possibly not what we hoped for with Pick 9 all those years ago, but still a great club man and at his best a very good player. He’s done though.
Mate, if they want Gresh, I want Taranto

That’s the price I’d be setting

All in your opinion.

We’ve always had the arse out of our pants & cant afford the quality or quantity of coaching that the rich clubs have.

That lack of financial clout also effects recruiting. We don’t have the extensive paid network of recruiters that others do.

But it’s all one man’s fault.

At least he’s gone now so it should all be smooth sailing from now on.

Not one mans fault but the Dogs have never had the money and seem to go okay at the draft. The whole place needs a clean out but he was there for a long time and hasn't got much to show for it. Pylchen, Trout, Ameet etc were all spuds that we hoped were messiahs. Lethlean is our latest idol and we are still hoping one is going to get it right. Lethlean at least held a higher office and only got sacked due to his lack of ethical behaviour.

Mate, if they want Gresh, I want Taranto

That’s the price I’d be setting

I would want Taranto and draft pick. I reckon Gresham is the only guy on our list that is potentially elite. Taranto looks great but Gresh is a step above, to me it's like GWS fans demanding Seb Ross if we get Josh Kelly. You'd run to sign the paperwork before they change their minds..

Taranto & a 3rd - sold

Apparently he’s cracked it internally. Just what I’ve been told.

IF, that’s the case, get what we can for him. If not, he plays on the wing permanently, but he does need to impact games more often than he does for a player of his ability.

Just as an aside, you don’t need to be on permanent attack Joff.

Pierce or Marshall need closer examination. Look at the improvement in Callum Sinclair this year; rucks tend to mature late.
So a player cracks it after being dropped. Happens all the time.

Proof is in what a player does when dropped.

What I personally saw was character and heart from a player not many associate that with.

And why is that an attack? Do I have to accept every rumour on this board when there is clear evidence that would dispute that he was sooking?

All right will just accept as fact everything posted on here.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

What I personally saw was character and heart from a player not many associate that with.

And why is that an attack? Do I have to accept every rumour on this board when there is clear evidence that would dispute that he was sooking?

You don’t have to accept anything, but the confrontational tone isn’t necessary.

Just because his on field performance was good also doesn’t mean he’s not shitted off behind closed doors either, if you want to play devil’s advocate.

You don’t have to accept anything, but the confrontational tone isn’t necessary.

Just because his on field performance was good also doesn’t mean he’s not shitted off behind closed doors either, if you want to play devil’s advocate.
That first sentence was [emoji106][emoji106][emoji106][emoji106][emoji106]

If we could pin that to the top everyones posts so people read it before replying it would be mint!!!!!

You’re kidding yourself if you don’t think that Mr Billings, an Essendon coterie member & 4th generation Bombers supporter, isn’t having words behind the scenes to Bombers recruitment team. Requesting a trade is very much on the cards. Jack isn’t a happy camper

Pick 7 & Darcy Parish it is then

(likely get neckbeard ffs)

Neither are we.

IF, that’s the case, get what we can for him. If not, he plays on the wing permanently, but he does need to impact games more often than he does for a player of his ability.

Pierce or Marshall need closer examination. Look at the improvement in Callum Sinclair this year; rucks tend to mature late.

I'd like to see Jakey Carlisle lure him into defense and coat hanger him today.

Shame he signed a contract last year then. "His bombers" will have to pay through the teeth if they want him now.

Two things everyone seems to ignore when dealing with trading;

1. You don’t get gold for dross, and;
2. You can only really trade players who are being sought after.

Gresh is apparently being courted by GWS. Of all people on this board, I am probably the LEAST likely to want him gone, but if he wants to, in the era of player power it’s likely he will be traded. And if that’s the case, you get the best deal possible for him.

As for trading out Dunstan etc., see the above. Someone would have to want them, and the offer would have to be equal to or greater than their worth to us.

So we are loosing Billings and Gresham now?! The two most talented players on our list?

Hmmmmm I'm feeling my skepticism rising.

If it happens we might as well fold.

Maybe this should be in the Trade thread... but here’s my manifesto, make of it what you will.

Where there’s any inconsistency with a players’ contract status - I’ve tried to confirm - then just assume it’s my current view and would be what I would do if possible.

Buckle up mother******s.

PART ONE

1. Tom Hickey - Trade

Get whatever we can for either him or Billy Longer. May not be much, but may be a player we can use in the interim.

2. Jake Carlisle - Keep

Utterly integral to any success going forward. An absolute shining light in a dismal season.

3. Jack Steven - Keep

Ideally he’d be transitioned to spending more time forward as he ages, but as of now he’s one of the few quick mids we have.

4. Jade Gresham - Trade/Keep

Yep. I said it. If GWS is still sniffing around, then if we can turn him into a Dylan Shiel or equivalent, then I’m inclined to take it, but the price would need to be immense. If we can’t, we keep him and put him on the ball.

5. Shane Savage - Keep

Defensively frail but one of our only players that is actually good by foot. Again, if we were offered a speedy mid for him I’d look at it, but otherwise keep.

6. Sebastian Ross - Keep

Don’t be fooled by his disposal numbers, he’s been disappointing for mine in 2018. That being said, he gets the ball in the clinches, and that’s something we struggle with.

7. Luke Dunstan - Keep

His best is excellent, his worst is poor, but he’s worth persisting with. The issue is whether he, Ross, Acres and Steele can play in the same team when none of them are quick. Might need to be satisfied with a rotational spot.

8. Blake Acres - Keep

Finally showing what he’s capable of when he’s played in the guts where he should be. Disposal can be untidy, but he’s also dangerous pushing forward. Must be kept.

9. Jack Steele - Keep

Second year blues? Maybe. He’s still a kid, and hard bodied clearance types and required to mix it with the big boys.

10. Nathan Freeman - Keep

Simply has to play AFL before the season finishes. Give him that shot. Put him on a one year deal for 2019 and if he breaks down again, let him go.

11. Hunter Clark - Keep

Another showing what he’s capable of when he’s played in the guts where he should be. Shows real promise.

13. Jack Lonie - Delist or 1 Year deal

Gets a lot of unfair stick, but won’t get any bigger. Excellent VFL midfielder, but doesn’t make the right decisions at AFL level for that role. Is a capable small forward, but tries to go ‘Hollywood’ still when he should play the percerntages.

14. Jarryn Geary - Keep

Because he’s contracted, but frankly I’d be shopping him around. A solid shutdown defender, but to improve we need Rice and others to go or remain past him.

15. Jack Billings - Trade

Apparently he and his family are sooking it up about his treatment. If that’s the case, piss off Jack. Go to the Injectors. Get top dollar for him - as far as is practicable; a match winner when he’s ‘on’ but content to stroll too often.

16. Jack Newnes - Keep

Again, he’s contracted, but I’d be shopping him around too. Has regressed somewhat from he predestal a lot of us had him on, and his limitations aren’t improving. May have found a role as a sort-of defensive half forward, but should really be a backup as we upgrade the list.

17. Dylan Roberton - Retire

Health and family come first. A huge blow, but unless they’re absolutely certain he’ll be ok, he should give it away.

18. Billy Longer - Trade

See Tom Hickey.

19. Sam Gilbert - Retire

Thank you for your service Sam, genuinely, but it’s time. Pretty sure he knows it too.

20. David Armitage - Retire

Has some very passionate defenders on here, and some equally passionate detractors, but he’s been a warrior. Possibly not what we hoped for with Pick 9 all those years ago, but still a great club man and at his best a very good player. He’s done though.

21. Ben Long - Keep

Admittedly I thought this one was a reach when we drafted him, and his first season was average, but he was excellent this year before getting hurt. A real barometer, and keep at all costs.

22. Nathan Brown - Retire

For mine, it’s time for Nathan. A great shutdown defender in his prime, and honest as it gets, but limited and slowing. Taking games from Austin. If he’s kept it would have to be on low coin as a mentor to Clavarino. A Roberton retirement may get him another year.

23. Hugh Goddard - Keep

Apparently looking at his options elsewhere, but his value to us is greater than what we would get for him on the open market. If he can recapture some fitness he’s got size, aggression and ability in spades. Great replacement for Brown.

24. Logan Austin - Keep

A revelation since breaking into the team. Can play as a mobile tall if Roberton retires, so his versatility is priceless.

25. Koby Steven - Retire

Like Roberton, his health comes first. I’m much higher on him than most, so I’d be sad to see him go.

26. Josh Battle - Keep

Love his aggression and athleticism. Absolutely the future.

27. Josh Bruce - Trade

One year he can’t mark, but can’t miss, the next year he can’t drop one, but misses from the goal square. If we can get something blue chip for him, we do.

28. Tim Membrey - Keep

Our best marking forward, even more so now his radar is back. Essential to kicking any winning score.

29. Jimmy Webster - Keep

Would be leading our B&F comfortably. Can make some silly errors, but his effort cannot be questioned and he can actually defend.

30. Ed Phillips - Keep

Needs to work on his kicking, but has pace, works hard and has a real dip. Excellent midfield depth at the very least.

31. Brandon White - Keep

Absolutely mystifying to me that he’s not a permanent fixture in defence. Lovely by foot, tough at the ball and man. Should be our defensive delivery service.

32. Paddy McCartin - Keep

Needs continuity, it’s as simple as that. Shows glimpses of what he’s capable of and needs to be persisted with.

33. Nick Coffield - Keep

Like White, I have no idea why he’s not a permanent fixture. Has clash and dash, two things we are woefully short of. Future skipper.

34. Nathan Wright - Delist

Gone.

35. Jack Sinclair - Keep

When he’s played on the wing - like he should be - he’s invaluable. No question he’s best 18.

36. Dan McKenzie - Keep

Another without a lot of external value. The issue is where he’s suited to playing; perhaps an inside role?

37. Bailey Rice - Keep

Should play ahead of Geary. An old head on young shoulders and lovely by foot.

38. Oscar Clavarino - Keep

Highly rated junior. Needs weight an experience.

39. Darragh Joyce (Rookie) - Keep

Has shown a bit at VFL level, but still needs work. Worth keeping.

40. Ray Connellan (Rookie) - Keep

Insane pace and has come on a lot recently as a forward. Would give a shot in the Seniors before the end of the year.

41. Darren Minchington - Delist

Too good for VFL, not quite a fit for AFL. I’m a fan, but it’s time.

42. Lewis Pierce (Rookie) - Keep

Showing plenty for Frankston. Would keep and play Round 1 2019 if that continues.

43. Rowan Marshall - Keep

At worst he’s great versatile depth. At best he’s the ruck forward we’ve not had for a long time.

44. Maverick Weller - Trade

Apparently mulling over going back to Queensland to play with his brother. Let him. If we can somehow turn him into Brayden Fiorini I’ll dance naked in the middle of Etihad/Marvel.

45. Ben Paton - Keep

Been on the cusp a lot. Has pace and should be given a chance.

46. Doultan Langlands (Rookie) - Keep

Like Paton he’s bloody quick. Another worth persisting with, because we don’t have a lot of pace.
I'll give you Matt's e-mail can we get you to start on Monday? Jesus.

That first sentence was [emoji106][emoji106][emoji106][emoji106][emoji106]

If we could pin that to the top everyones posts so people read it before replying it would be mint!!!!!
So we can't post on yours "Warning Negative Poster" on yours then.

Barrels, What was confrontational about pointing out that his on field performance puts into question that he was sooking?

Yet to hear of a player happy to be dropped, and have seen many play like that in the two's.

People have moved on to trading Billings because of some probable out of context rumour that he was a sook and wants out.

Anybody who saw his game last week would think it ludicrous that we would even consider trading one of the few players we have that could be an A grader.

Barrels. Respect your opinion on here more than most, you at least get to Sandy matches and think deeply before posting. If you were upset by my post, I am sorry.
What I won't apologise for is presenting an alternate view based on facts.

From things I have heard, his dad is more interested in him moving than JB himself.
bj's family always wanted him to play for Carlton.
So all those posts about trading Billings is based on an unhappy parent?

Ok. Seems reasonable