Tuck, Jackson , Grigg

There are differences of opinion in the value of all , some, or any of these , within our side , which continually is derailing other threads . How bout we just keep these opinions to one thread and allow other threads to remain on topic .

To kick it off,
It's been interesting to view that others that have argued so heavily of all these 3 players worth in our best side, have named best 22 sides recently without including all 3 ?

Wouldn't have Tuck or Jackson in defence or attack. They are only really a worry to opposition teams as midfielders, but both have problems with composure in traffic. Tuck is a good kick, but under pressure he always bombs it and most of his clearances are bombs which can hurt us in rebounds as much as benefitting us. Jackson isn't very good in traffic and his kicking is very inconsistent. He can pull off a ripper 50m pass to Reiwoldt or bang a goal from 55m, but then he'll spray one on the full. These guys should be our 25th-35th players on the list. I don't think a premiership team would have any midfielder with a real lack of composure. Yeah we aren't going to be a premiership team for at least a year or two you'd think. But we are here to get games into the kids and build a premiership team, so we shouldn't have these two in our best 22. We picked up Grigg as a tough negating type midfielder so we might as well play him. I'm sure he's better in traffic too :cool:

To me Jackson is the only player in our midfiled who can boast a genuine ability to negate or defend in his position.
The flip side to this is that his disposal can let him down.
In saying that I think he will play all games this year if fit as our number 1 tagger.
I struggle to understand the negativity towards him TBH..

There are differences of opinion in the value of all , some, or any of these , within our side , which continually is derailing other threads . How bout we just keep these opinions to one thread and allow other threads to remain on topic .

To kick it off,
It's been interesting to view that others that have argued so heavily of all these 3 players worth in our best side, have named best 22 sides recently without including all 3 ?
Thought my side would raise some eyebrows, didn't expect it to be the basis for another thread.;)

As for the topic at hand, do I think Tuck & Jackson have a role in our best 22? Yes I do, however I don't expect to see our best 22 running around that often next year as I also realise that this year we'll still be trying to get as many games into younger kids as possible and with that in mind that is why I have only one of them in my ideal(not best) lineup for 2011.

Thought my side would raise some eyebrows, didn't expect it to be the basis for another thread.;)

As for the topic at hand, do I think Tuck & Jackson have a role in our best 22? Yes I do, however I don't expect to see our best 22 running around that often next year as I also realise that this year we'll still be trying to get as many games into younger kids as possible and with that in mind that is why I have only one of them in my ideal(not best) lineup for 2011.

Playing the kids would mean we are playing our best side. Well maybe not straight away but once those kids have 5-10 games in them they'll be more valuable players. Someone like Conca would be more value than Tuck or Jackson after about 10 games I reckon. By then he'll have some confidence and will start to show his class. Just like someone like Post or Griffiths will be more value than Miller once they have another half a dozen games and more confidence in them. Miller has the experience but Post and Griffiths have the athleticism to cause some damage.

You're kidding yourself if you think Conca, whose main role will be playing as an outside mid, is going to come in and rack up 20-25 possessions a week for 20-22 games while at the same time racking up 10-15 contested possessions as well.

He's in mine while Tuck and Jacko are at Coburg :cool:
I think 2 of the 3 will probably get a gig , personally I thought Jackson went backwards in 2010, mainly in his ability to tag players out of the game . With Tuck showing some ability off half back and Griggs apparent ability to
play multiple roles efficiently , Jacko is probably the most unlikely to get a run early on ?

I think 2 of the 3 will probably get a gig , personally I thought Jackson went backwards in 2010, mainly in his ability to tag players out of the game . With Tuck showing some ability off half back and Griggs apparent ability to
play multiple roles efficiently , Jacko is probably the most unlikely to get a run early on ?
Coach is on record as saying he didn;t rate Jackson before he came, but now is an unabashed fan after seeing what he does. Not my words, Dimma's.
Jackson will play. So will Grigg. Tuck is still the odd man out IMO.Will need to constantly reinforce his improvement in 2011 to play most games.

Coach is on record as saying he didn;t rate Jackson before he came, but now is an unabashed fan after seeing what he does. Not my words, Dimma's.
Jackson will play. So will Grigg. Tuck is still the odd man out IMO.Will need to constantly reinforce his improvement in 2011 to play most games.
I suspect unbiased , a nice automatic spell check that sucker , it will be interesting how it all pans out , Tuck offered for trade , Jacko starting out of favor start of last year , pre season matches this was evident , and the recruitment of Grigg ??
I just hope the recruitment of Grigg and Houli doesn't see them unrightfully jump in front of others , they need to earn their stripes , and although unlikely I wouldn't be against them starting in the burgers ?

You're kidding yourself if you think Conca, whose main role will be playing as an outside mid, is going to come in and rack up 20-25 possessions a week for 20-22 games while at the same time racking up 10-15 contested possessions as well.

you dont think it a possibility that conca will start on a hbf, after all that has been where he played most of his footy last yr.
good position to bring kids into afl footy as well. i reckon one back flank should always be open to a promising well skilled kid who will eventually move into the midfield.

ah similar thoughts i wonder if they rip into you for having them.

I suspect unbiased , a nice automatic spell check that sucker , it will be interesting how it all pans out , Tuck offered for trade , Jacko starting out of favor start of last year , pre season matches this was evident , and the recruitment of Grigg ??
I just hope the recruitment of Grigg and Houli doesn't see them unrightfully jump in front of others , they need to earn their stripes , and although unlikely I wouldn't be against them starting in the burgers ?
Not trying to be a smart arse, but I still think unabashed is correct in context:

unabashed: Not embarrassed, disconcerted, or ashamed.

I takemy words very seriously:)

you dont think it a possibility that conca will start on a hbf, after all that has been where he played most of his footy last yr.
good position to bring kids into afl footy as well. i reckon one back flank should always be open to a promising well skilled kid who will eventually move into the midfield.

I could almost kiss you on the pecker , ALMOST !

Grigg is definately in our top 22 and he wasn't recruited to be an out and out tagger MT and Tugga is right the guy is a gun and the Carlton boys are spewing they lost him. Expect this guy to go to a player but not put a hard tag on all game. He is an extractor and loves to run and will be encouraged to do so he can play inside and out he is nothing like Jackson ad was never recruited to replace him.

Why would we recruit a tagger when we have Jackson. I'd understand if Jackson was Tucks age. Jackson has proved over the last 3 years he is one of the best taggers in the comp. Yes his skills are suspect at times but he can play a roll and also block for our attacking midfielders. One thing he does need to work hard on is discipline as he has been the only player flying the flag and sticking up for the kids for years, his record in front of the tribunal is disgraceful and he needs to pull his head in. If he can't do that then I'm happy for him to be given the boot. It frustrates me players that get suspended for nothing. Same with Cotchin last year against North.

Tuck - great in and under mid that just doesn't stop working. Very versatile and if we are putting our best team out there he can play in the middle , down back and up forward. One of the best kicks for goal in the team either a snap or set shot. If we are serious about beating Carlton round 1 all 3 will be in the side.

Jackson will have Judd , Grigg will be rotating through the middle off the wing and Tuck will be on the bench and can cover any where. The perfect bench player so late in his career.

While I understand we have players like Conca , Contin , Batchelor and Dea to develope on the ball they have alot of work to do to get in front of these guys before round 1 and throughout the year. I hope the coaching staff keep pumping the youth through the team all season but if we are talking about fielding our best 22 then all 3 of these players are definatey in that team until proven other wise.

Lets hope that the Conca's and Contins work hard enough to get in front of Jackson and Tuck but IMO they will need the best part of 2011 and next pre season to do this.

Grigg is definately in our top 22 and he wasn't recruited to be an out and out tagger MT and Tugga is right the guy is a gun and the Carlton boys are spewing they lost him. Expect this guy to go to a player but not put a hard tag on all game. He is an extractor and loves to run and will be encouraged to do so he can play inside and out he is nothing like Jackson ad was never recruited to replace him.

Why would we recruit a tagger when we have Jackson. I'd understand if Jackson was Tucks age. Jackson has proved over the last 3 years he is one of the best taggers in the comp. Yes his skills are suspect at times but he can play a roll and also block for our attacking midfielders. One thing he does need to work hard on is discipline as he has been the only player flying the flag and sticking up for the kids for years, his record in front of the tribunal is disgraceful and he needs to pull his head in. If he can't do that then I'm happy for him to be given the boot. It frustrates me players that get suspended for nothing. Same with Cotchin last year against North.

Tuck - great in and under mid that just doesn't stop working. Very versatile and if we are putting our best team out there he can play in the middle , down back and up forward. One of the best kicks for goal in the team either a snap or set shot. If we are serious about beating Carlton round 1 all 3 will be in the side.

Jackson will have Judd , Grigg will be rotating through the middle off the wing and Tuck will be on the bench and can cover any where. The perfect bench player so late in his career.

While I understand we have players like Conca , Contin , Batchelor and Dea to develope on the ball they have alot of work to do to get in front of these guys before round 1 and throughout the year. I hope the coaching staff keep pumping the youth through the team all season but if we are talking about fielding our best 22 then all 3 of these players are definatey in that team until proven other wise.

Lets hope that the Conca's and Contins work hard enough to get in front of Jackson and Tuck but IMO they will need the best part of 2011 and next pre season to do this.
Best post of the thread:thumbsu:

ah similar thoughts i wonder if they rip into you for having them.

I think the irony here Santa is that every one is on the same page. You have just been ripped into because you have been preaching to not only the converted but to people that actually came to the same conclusion as you did by themselves a long time ago some people as far as 4 years ago. People just get sick and tired of you ramming it down peoples throats on a daily basis with 3 page rants about the same thing every day.

I have been trolling the piss out of you for a month now and with this thread it can end now unless you'd like to return the favour which I deserve. I access bigfooty via I phone probably 4 times a day in 2 minute to 30 min bursts depending on work and when I read the same crap every day like I have for the last month its just easier to argue with you than not to. I repeat it is actually easier to argue with you than not to.

Does something sound funny about that last line ? Have a think about it.

Only an opinion but I don't think , based on season 2010, Jackson is in the top echelon of taggers ? In fact the hope I had of him reaching that level actually left me after this past season , I am really concerned he lacks discipline in a number of facets of the game ?

I could not agree more but I also believe Hardwick is smart enough to have read the riot act to him regarding discipline and it will take the pre season and hard work to fix his deficiencies. The alternative is to pour 3-5 years of hard work into a Dea or a Batchelor type. Who knows maybe Hardwick has identified another player that he will spend time turning into a tagger but it takes time and is a very important position. That is why I believe he'll get a game this year regardless of his limitations.

I also believe Jackson will improve and learn his limitations more as the team developes strength in their bodies and improves around him.

Given he is coming off the ankle surgery I think they will blood him from the bench and use him in spells through the wing/hf. Pretty much letting him hunt the footy rather than worrying about minding a man and getting a kick at the same time. As he develops fitness/confidence we can then look at teaching him accountability by giving him runs off HB.

With the backline I like the idea of trying to get some continuity there and as such I've gone with players who spent most of last year there i.e. Deledio Newman Astbury Farmer McGuane & Moore, with Connors starting off a wing and pushing to the backline when Lids pushes up the ground.