Two day hangover

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

Of late I have been experiencing something I always thought to be urban myth....
The two day hangover.
Is this a sign I am getting old?
Or
Is this a sign that alcohol doesnt agree with me anymore?
Or both

The first day is the headache, sick feeling in the stomach, the thirsty yet when I drink I feel sick feeling and the dazed state.

The second day the sick feeling in the stomach continues with a milder version of the dazed state.

Any advice to stop this recent trend?

I have had this exact same problem lately, matter of fact i am on my 2nd day of one right now. What seems to happen is that either i don't get hungover at all or I have a terrible hangover for 2 days. A new phenonemon that i hope is just a phase.

mantis said:
Stop getting drunk, problem solved. :p
but this opens up even more problems; vulnerability to critisicm, the unnattractive girls don't become attractive, the lack of inflated self esteem and so on and so forth....

JuddyisGod said:
I have had this exact same problem lately, matter of fact i am on my 2nd day of one right now. What seems to happen is that either i don't get hungover at all or I have a terrible hangover for 2 days. A new phenonemon that i hope is just a phase.

I find I get the 2 day hangover when I've been on the razz 2 or 3 nights in a row. I reckon it's because, let say you get ****ed on Friday night, feel ordinary Saturday, then drink to feel better on Saturday night. Because you don't fully recover from Friday nights session, you are hung over Sunday, and the hang over you drunk yourself out of on Saturday carries over to Monday. Just a theory.

sabre_ac said:
Of late I have been experiencing something I always thought to be urban myth....
The two day hangover.
Is this a sign I am getting old?
Or
Is this a sign that alcohol doesnt agree with me anymore?

You know you can train yourself against this by drinking half a slab a night...

Constipated Duck said:
You know you can train yourself against this by drinking half a slab a night...

Absolute crap!

I started getting 2-3 day hangovers. As a result, I can't drink much anymore, as my liver isn't coping these days. Your body is probably trying to tell you something.

Yeah, had a couple of them. Twas a sign that I had drunken far far too much (25 shots of tequilla on one of those nights).

Definately not a good thing to have...takes you a few more days to get back to your normal state as well.

If you start getting 2 day hangovers after each time you drink, get your liver functions tested.

PAFC2004 said:
Absolute crap!

I started getting 2-3 day hangovers. As a result, I can't drink much anymore, as my liver isn't coping these days. Your body is probably trying to tell you something.

Even though it was an atempt at humour, I do beg to differ, sir!

Then again I don't generally drink spirits so they may have a different effect, but going back a couple of years if I had a 30-stubby Saturday, I'd feel it into Monday, and then some. These days, I can back it up Sundays with 15-18 and, provided I get 7-8 hours sleep Sunday night, be fine for work Monday morning. Maybe the European beers with no/less preservatives might be behind it, maybe the extra 20 kilos around the guts helps too, but I have no doubt the threshold does rise when you drink heaps over time.

Constipated Duck said:
Even though it was an atempt at humour, I do beg to differ, sir!

Then again I don't generally drink spirits so they may have a different effect, but going back a couple of years if I had a 30-stubby Saturday, I'd feel it into Monday, and then some. These days, I can back it up Sundays with 15-18 and, provided I get 7-8 hours sleep Sunday night, be fine for work Monday morning. Maybe the European beers with no/less preservatives might be behind it, maybe the extra 20 kilos around the guts helps too, but I have no doubt the threshold does rise when you drink heaps over time.

Your 'threshold' will increase, but I wouldnt advise drinking that amount that often just so you don't get hangovers... as you will still get hangovers. If you drink the next day, you won't feel the affects from the previous night, as your body is once again trying to metabolise alcohol.

PAFC2004 said:
... but I wouldnt advise drinking that amount that often just so you don't get hangovers... as you will still get hangovers.

"Training" isn't a wise move, I know that. :D But on a serious note, if I've had a truckload to drink and wake up shabby, I generally battle through a morning as much as possible, have 6-7 stubbies and then have a nana-nap mid-afternoon, usually while listening to the footy on the radio. Wake up feeling beaut, and get into it again.

Now, I know it's not healthy...

Constipated Duck said:
"Training" isn't a wise move, I know that. :D But on a serious note, if I've had a truckload to drink and wake up shabby, I generally battle through a morning as much as possible, have 6-7 stubbies and then have a nana-nap mid-afternoon, usually while listening to the footy on the radio. Wake up feeling beaut, and get into it again.

Now, I know it's not healthy...

Of course it's not. I've learnt the hard way from drinking too much.