Underage drinking

HAHA, thats a pretty cool idea,
Dunno how much it'd cost but you'll be charged more than its worth for sure
Also, you'd need a boat license i think

It's not the boat you have to worry about, it's the mooring. There are only a certain number of these at Rooto, and they are all privately owned. There is about a 10 year waiting list to get a mooring and they are damn expensive.

I would do this - just get the boat to Rotto, and just crash where you end up. I went on Australia Day weekend when everything was booked. We woke up on the beach at Thommo's Bay in the morning and there were hundred's of peole crashed on the beach. We stood out because we stole the lounge chairs from the lodge and set up beds on the beach.

In failing that, tent land is worth a look.

i agree with bb, when i went there heaps of ppl were just crashing wherever they finished up for the night
not a bad idea really, considering the alternatives

When I went to schoolies at Rotto, we had a boat in Geordie Bay. We had 26 cartons of beer with us and an ounce of the best buds going around. There were parties everywhere, and you could just walk in to parties without knowing anyone, and have a great time. They used to have these dark brown blankets in the chalets there, so me and my mates cut holes in them and wore them as ponchos. This looked good when we were walking down the road with ponchos and Clint Eastwood cigar-like joints. The next day, everyone on the island was wearing them. There was a shortage of blankets for that entire week.

But then again, not much sleeping was going on!

I did get busted for under age drinking at tent land one year. All that happened was I had to go to some drinking seminar out in Maylands or somewhere. Everyone is drinking, you will only run into trouble if you are doing something really stupid.

They throw you in the lockup, and put you on the boat the next day. You get off at Freo and catch the next one back. Make sure you are cashed up enough if this happens.

There is alcohol at pretty much every party around here. I don't always drink, and when I do I don't always get drunk. I've only been sick once and that was more from what I drank then how much. It's not hard to get alcohol, whether you buy it yourself or your legal mates or your parents to do it.

Originally posted by jod23
I got smashed more when i was underage than i do nowadays.....ahhhh those were the days. I have a great relationship with my parents and they knew my friends and knew where i was going and how i was getting home. So they would buy me the alcohol.

Bottle of bourbon and a walk to the nearest house party. Get hammered and then walk home. That was the life.

Sounds like me.

Dodongo finds no point in getting Drunk. Dodongo has 2 kids, Dodongo's Eldest Son Dodongo Jnr who is 11 and Dodongo has a 5 year old Daughter, Dodongina. Dodongo will allow them to have some beer occaisonally when they are a bit older around 16 years of age but not too much. Dodongo will then let them do what they want when they turn 18 but Dodongo doesn't want to see them get drunk. Dodongo has only been drunk once in Dodongo's 34 years of living on this Earth.

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
Anyway last nite i was shocked to get an sms sayin "Spidey plz can u get us grog u r our only hope" from some year 8's or 9's this waz...bit young i think!

I got stopped by some kids outside a bottle shop in Camberwell who asked me to go in and buy them some Stolies. I was a bit taken aback because in my lesser-priviledged home town we used to get smashed on Brandavino!

I refused these kids, primarily because it was very close to a cop station. But if I got asked again in a different location I don't know if I what I'd do.

It's always seemed a bit sad to me, that people "need" alcohol or any other stimulant to give them confidence in social situations. What kind of impossible demands do we place on ourselves and others?

I'm an "older person" :o and when I was younger it wasn't so accepted for young people to go out drinking, plus we never really had the money for it. The first time I overdid it, I was about 20, passed out, the works. Took about 3 days to recover. I was never that bad again, although enjoyed parties and got pretty tipsy several times.

After I turned 30, the party scene lost its attraction, along with the fact that I didn't recognise any of the music or bands any more!

However, there are compensations for getting older. ;)

Originally posted by 35eye

I got stopped by some kids outside a bottle shop in Camberwell who asked me to go in and buy them some Stolies. I was a bit taken aback because in my lesser-priviledged home town we used to get smashed on Brandavino!

I refused these kids, primarily because it was very close to a cop station. But if I got asked again in a different location I don't know if I what I'd do.

OK and how long ago was this???? :eek: LOL I actually did that 8 years ago!!!!!!!!!!!! Asked ppl in Camberwell to buy us Stolies. Must be some of my younger proteges. :D Awwwwwww shucks, I am so proud of them. :D

Up here, if anyone actually has a party, that doesnt end up in a full on brawl with 20 cops everywhere, then there wouldn't be much drinking happening.

Some of you guys/girls are big bunch of milk cows!

I know that when I get beyond 40, there will be no mid-life crisis for me. I won't have any regrets about not doing all the dumb/good things young people do. I certainly fulfilled my potential.

I was an underage drinker at 30! I was always asked for ID, one time I got thrown out of the Cricketers Arms for underage drinking when I was 22, I forgot to take my licence with me on a footy trip to Melbourne. Jeez I couldn't even buy a beer at 18 because they thought I was 13 and the licence was a fake.

But.. for genuine underage drinking I only really started at 17 and it was that West Coast or St Tropez wine cooler crap that all the kiddies drank then. It got such a problem with underage drinkers that the government legislated to have wine coolers made with only 2% alcohol. Trust the government to spoil the party. I'm surprised they've allowed the 'cordial' drinks like Ruskis and Breezers to be sold still. Damn they're yum. :D