Hinkley29

Do you like apples?
StL Cards, THFC, South Sydney
As a footy fan, you can be one of 2 types: a glass half full supporter or a glass half empty supporter. You are either an optimist or a pessimist.

As a Geelong fan who has had to deal with my fair share of disappointments, I find it easier to be a glass half full supporter. I honestly believe that if I was a pessimist, it would have been very difficult to follow the Cats during the time I have followed them.

Probably because I am an optimist, I find it difficult to understand at times the level of vitriol that is directed at players who quite simply do not deserve it. Over the years, there have been a number of players who have for one reason or another been the target of fans' ire that I just couldn't understand. It usually becomes a bandwagon thing, and all the players faults are magnified and all their strengths are ignored.

So, I have been thinking about these players recently and decided to start a thread to see what players other posters thought had got a raw deal from supporters over the years.

I will start off with a guy who I think got a much harder time than he deserved:

Ben Graham

Ben broke into the Cats team during a strong period for our team and gradually entrenched himself as the cornerstone of our defence. At a time in the late 90's he would have been considered among the best full backs in the league. At the start of the 2000's Geelong had struggled for years to have a reliable key forward, so Ben moved forward to try and fill a need. It was felt that his strong marking and long accurate kicking would suit this role well. Ben had moderate success as a forward, but never really took to the position as well as hoped.

This is all well and good, but during his time at Geelong (especially in the latter part of his career as a forward) he copped a lot of stick from fans, and for the life of me I could never figure out why. I will always be grateful for the contribution Ben made to the Cats, especially the following:

- In 1999, when the club was on it's knees financially, Colbert and Ayres had walked out, and we had a terrible list, Graham was at the peak of his powers. He was off contract at this time, and was courted heavily by a number of clubs. Rather than leave, which would have undoubtedly been the easy option (reference: Colbert, Leigh) he stayed on and took over the captaincy of the club.
- During the early 2000's our list was still average, but our greatest area of strength was our defence. We had a number of developing defenders (Scarlett and Harley were at the top of this list) but had no key forwards of any note. Despite the fact that it was not his preferred position, Ben moved forward for the good of the team.

I am sure there are other players that come to mind, and I have been meaning to start a thread like this for a while. The level of hatred that has been spewed on this board since the GF has sparked me into action.

PS. Can the mods please red card the first poster who mentions Shannon Byrnes in this thread.

That would be you :eek:

Yeah, Ben was a great servant of club and will be fondly remembered. His biggest problem was that he lacked the match winning touch. It seems that on a few occasions he had the opportunity to keep us in the match or win the match, but could never quite deliver unless it was an unintended fluke goal, like that one he kicked against Port.

what about the final against brisbane in 2004? i think he played one of his best games for us that day and kept us in it with strong marking against mal michael in his prime.

Why would you red card someone for saying Shannon Byrnes is unfairly maligned?

can we get carded if we quote his name?

I reckon Josh Hunt cops a lot of flack by a small group of Geelong supporters.
Just because he had a bad season in 2006 and shirked a contest, he always cops critisicsm.
The last 2 seasons, particularly this season he has been solid in defence.

Why would you red card someone for saying Shannon Byrnes is unfairly maligned?

i assume you will enjoy the time off as well??

seriously, the lil guy is maligned more than any other, or does he deserve it??

It was a pre-emptive strike, merely trying to stop this thread becoming another SB bashing. I envisaged the thread deteriorating as follows:

Poster 1: SB gets a harder time than he deserves
Poster 2: No he doesn't, SB sucks
Poster 3: I hate SB more than you do
Poster 2: No, I hate SB more than you do
Poster 3: SB is the worst player in the league

Blah blah blah you get the message.

We have had enough threads that went down that path, I was trying to avoid another one.

And no, "SB" does not constitute mentioning his name.

Just because he had a bad season in 2006 and shirked a contest, he always cops critisicsm.

Good call on Josh Hunt. A lot of trollers still bring up the ducking of the head against StKilda (IIRC), and have never let him live it down.

Yep. Copped more attention then he deserved for shirking a contest. Has been very good since.

Travis Varcoe anyone? Always seems to be improving, but not improving fast enough for a lot of people. Started behind with a pretty bad injury, and is still very young.

Tend to agree with this.

He has battled expectations as a 1st round pick. Unfortunately he was a very young player for his draft age, got injured very early and does not yet have the body to contribute in a meaningful way. You would hope that he has a lot of improving left in him, I think he has a lot of upside left.

Ben Graham does come to mind. Always got criticised yet I thought he was quite a decent leader and player at a time when we needed one; he didnt seem to react too well against pressure though, except for the mentioned Brisbane final (and I seem to remember him missing a couple of easy goals.)

I think Kent Kingsley falls under the catorgory too (and I will probably be slammed for this.) He was a pretty decent player and although he was quite lazy, alot of people seemed to pin the dissapointment of 2006 squarely on him, which just isn't the case.

Current players - Hunt most definetly, as well as Hawkins to a lesser extent (he doesnt get criticised nearly as much, but him being criticised at all is quite weird.)

Geelongs team is at full strength but there are players that just aint up to it Geelongs ruckman Blake played on duds and didnt do anything around the ground say no more,,lonergan not up to it if hawkins comes good see ya tom,, geelong should have played wojo they needed his pace,,3 players erred by playing at less than 100% varcoe,chapman,stokes, yes hawthorn had players injured but they put there hand up to play and they played they didnt just turn up and expect there superstars to help put a winners medallion around there necks..football is a brutal sport on and off the field if the players cant take a bit of crap from whoever,, its time to look elsewhere to get paid, not by the members that put up with 1/2 hearted performances like the gf,,who gives a rats arse about the home and away season in the end it dont mean jack shit

How is any of that relevant to this thread?

Geelongs team is at full strength but there are players that just aint up to it Geelongs ruckman Blake played on duds and didnt do anything around the ground say no more,,lonergan not up to it if hawkins comes good see ya tom,, geelong should have played wojo they needed his pace,,3 players erred by playing at less than 100% varcoe,chapman,stokes, yes hawthorn had players injured but they put there hand up to play and they played they didnt just turn up and expect there superstars to help put a winners medallion around there necks..football is a brutal sport on and off the field if the players cant take a bit of crap from whoever,, its time to look elsewhere to get paid, not by the members that put up with 1/2 hearted performances like the gf,,who gives a rats arse about the home and away season in the end it dont mean jack shit

Thickhead,WTF are you on about ?
Read the bloody topic you blind dipstick and don't quote the whole bloody first post when there is absolutely no reason to

Dumb arse Pies bogan :rolleyes:

Comma happy?

Some left footed speedy short guy I cant remember his name who got tackled on the grassy knoll once trying to dodge a tackle (whilst getting caught) he off loaded the Zapruder film. The damn conspiracy and ensuing high level cover up was that he just kept getting picked for absolutely no reason at all even in a premiership side! :confused: (If the last few days is anything to go by its all true)

Go back a few years and I will give you 3 names who were absolutely shit canned on this board week after week.

Cameron Ling
Joel Corey
Corey Enright

all 3 now All Australian, premiership players!

Go back a few years and I will give you 3 names who were absolutely shit canned on this board week after week.

Cameron Ling
Joel Corey
Corey Enright

all 3 now All Australian, premiership players!

Great call.