VAFA Practice Matches this weekend

Old Ems played Yarrawonga (O&M) on saturday and were beaten by 16 goals. The boys from yarra just far to good. Old Ems kicked 2 goals in the last due to free kicks, very soft to.

results Between Old Trinity and De La

19's- De La won by about 40 points....the margin blew out late in the game
Reserves- T's by about 3 goals
Seniors- De La by 3 goals

St Bernards beat Ararat by about 30 goals. Wasnt there but word is the dogs went extremely well...

Richo- true champion said:
results Between Old Trinity and De La

19's- De La won by about 40 points....the margin blew out late in the game
Reserves- T's by about 3 goals
Seniors- De La by 3 goals

Spot on.

A very good competitive hitout for both sides on a perfect autumn day for footy. Trinity brains trust were a bit disappointed at our poor conversion, but De La's runners got the ball to the right spots. Good to see Spithill running around. I reckon he will be critical for De La, who were missing about 10 regular senior players I believe. Trinity had about the same number out.

In all, a good chance for some younger guys who've had good pre-seasons so far to show their credentials. No injuries from what I could see, which is the best part. Just a few sore heads and shoulders from those who failed to wear any sunscreen!! :D

Trinity are playing Bernies on Sunday out at Western/Whitten Oval with the usual 10am/12noon/2pm starting times.

Scribe said:
Spot on.

A very good competitive hitout for both sides on a perfect autumn day for footy. Trinity brains trust were a bit disappointed at our poor conversion, but De La's runners got the ball to the right spots. Good to see Spithill running around. I reckon he will be critical for De La, who were missing about 10 regular senior players I believe. Trinity had about the same number out.

In all, a good chance for some younger guys who've had good pre-seasons so far to show their credentials. No injuries from what I could see, which is the best part. Just a few sore heads and shoulders from those who failed to wear any sunscreen!! :D

Trinity are playing Bernies on Sunday out at Western/Whitten Oval with the usual 10am/12noon/2pm starting times.

scribe, do you know if ramsden played for ot's?? if so, how did he go?

FootyFreak69 said:

Surely if the Big Cat had been playing then OT's would have won in a canter.

Beware A Grade - The Big Cat is as fit and fierce as ever and will be hard to stop in '06.

FootyFreak69 said:

I caught the second half and he sat out the third but played the last. Didn't dominate, but his older head got him to the right places more often than not.

Destination A Grade said:
I caught the second half and he sat out the third but played the last. Didn't dominate, but his older head got him to the right places more often than not.

DAG - some of the other OT older heads found ourselves spending more time chasing young forward flankers, than "getting to the right places". :p

FF69 - It'd be fair to say Andrew was happy to let others take a more prominent role in the side which played on Saturday. We ran a very experimental line-up (Andy Cultrera in a back pocket for example).

SMG - I don't think any of our experimental FFs would be a serious danger to Big Cat come round 1. As long as his hammys are in fine fettle, we are all expecting big things from Walshy.

Scribe said:
DAG - some of the other OT older heads found ourselves spending more time chasing young forward flankers, than "getting to the right places". :p

The De La boys seemed very fit. Training three nights a week for most of the year has got them in a good position.

I didn't recognise many of the OT boys. Been a few years since we've had to come up against them. I think we've got you blokes in a few weeks - Hopefully on the main oval.

Scribe said:

FF69 - It'd be fair to say Andrew was happy to let others take a more prominent role in the side which played on Saturday. We ran a very experimental line-up (Andy Cultrera in a back pocket for example).

SMG - I don't think any of our experimental FFs would be a serious danger to Big Cat come round 1. As long as his hammys are in fine fettle, we are all expecting big things from Walshy.

Looking for a good hitout from the OT boys this weekend. Good to start matching up the sides for this year...as experimental as these games are.

Scribe said:
I don't think any of our experimental FFs would be a serious danger to Big Cat come round 1. As long as his hammys are in fine fettle, we are all expecting big things from Walshy.

My mail is The Big Cat won't have any hamstring trouble this year. Apparently he has been doing some secret walking training down Langston St in Northcote with a mysterious man known only as "Lex"

Handsome.B.Wonderful said:
My mail is The Big Cat won't have any hamstring trouble this year. Apparently he has been doing some secret walking training down Langston St in Northcote with a mysterious man known only as "Lex"

It's not his hamstring that I'm concerned about, it's his constant sightings in the boutique stores of Oxford street with an anonymous male companion...

Slay Master G said:
It's not his hamstring that I'm concerned about, it's his constant sightings in the boutique stores of Oxford street with an anonymous male companion...

Who is that bloke?
He speaks with such a thick Eastern European accent, like he's from Amsterdam or something.

Handsome.B.Wonderful said:
Who is that bloke?
He speaks with such a thick Eastern European accent, like he's from Amsterdam or something.

I recently discsussed this issue with The BC's cousin Kane, he was also alarmed by this Dutch "gentleman" known to frequent the BC's Darling Point pimp pad.

St Bernards v Ararat practice match was a waste of time. Might as well have had a token pressure training run.

Most of the older heads for Bernards only played a half.

Blacks and Friars had an even contest with Whitefriars winning the early games and the senior (if you can call it that) game being very close - 1 point the difference.

No noticeable injuries.

didnt get a chance to watch senior OI Vs OE game.

What was score, and any standout players from either team??

PooBrown said:
missed the OI VS OE Game.

What was score, and was there any standout players for either side??

For Old Essendon Hakim was back to his best and VFL recruits Goulette & Teal dominated the midfield.

Was very surprised to hear Luxon has gone chasing $$$... where is he playing?

Is Butler (ex-Port Adel SANFL) playing at OI this year?