connolly

Persis Solo, Davao Aguilas FC
Sad and shocking news that Rebecca Wilson passed away at truly unfairly young age.
Courageous and wrote beautifully. Took on the bully boys in sport. Spoke out for Adam Goodes against the deniers and the racists. A true Blood. Condolences to her family.

Some of the comments on social media.... what happened to if you have nothing nice to say

These days it is "if you have nothing nice to say, say it on social media."

Wow, just read the news. Shocking. She was so young and had such an incredible life to still live.

Cancer is something I'm sure we've all been touched by at some point and I hope we can better fight together to find ways to better manage and treat the increasingly complex web of cancers that seem to crop up year after year. Any donation counts. Even $1.

A moment ago I was arguing with some moron about a free kick paid in a game of footy and getting myself worked up then I read about this horrible news. It really honestly puts everything into perspective doesn't it?

FWIW, I went back to the bloke I was arguing with and apologised for my anger, said I understood his argument and wished him well.... He called me a flog and told me to (& I quote) "go back to $ydney sipping COLA in bondi"... But I felt better about myself none-the-less.

RIP Rebecca,

Yep, it sure is everywhere. My Mum also passed away from breast cancer younger than Rebecca was and my Dads fighting a losing match from Melanoma now (2014 GF worst weekend ever - whipping on the Saturday & then the news day after).

Anyway, yes..mongrel of a disease as seems to take the ones least deserving more often than not.

RIP Caroline.

Yep, it sure is everywhere. My Mum also passed away from breast cancer younger than Caroline was and my Dads fighting a losing match from Melanoma now (2014 GF worst weekend ever - whipping on the Saturday & then the news day after).

Anyway, yes..mongrel of a disease as seems to take the ones least deserving more often than not.
All the best to your family mate. I know we dont know each other but just wanted to wish them well anyway.

RIP Caroline.

Yep, it sure is everywhere. My Mum also passed away from breast cancer younger than Caroline was and my Dads fighting a losing match from Melanoma now (2014 GF worst weekend ever - whipping on the Saturday & then the news day after).

All the best mate

All the best to your family mate. I know we dont know each other but just wanted to wish them well anyway.

All the best mate
Ditto Day_night_honourer.

That's horrible news. I know it's hard but I hope you are able to get as much positivity out of what is as shit a situation you can be in. Good luck with everything mate.

Thanks for the conments guys, much appreciated. Sorry for derailing thread as wasn't intended.
There are always worse situations out there and that's my usual coping mechanism when things seem a bit unfair.
I'm good though ..these things toughen you up a bit and also teach appreciation of life when it's there.

Thanks for the conments guys, much appreciated. Sorry for derailing thread as wasn't intended.
There are always worse situations out there and that's my usual coping mechanism when things seem a bit unfair.
I'm good though ..these things toughen you up a bit and also teach appreciation of life when it's there.
You didn't derail anything mate. All the best to you and the family

Wow, just read the news. Shocking. She was so young and had such an incredible life to still live.

Cancer is something I'm sure we've all been touched by at some point and I hope we can better fight together to find ways to better manage and treat the increasingly complex web of cancers that seem to crop up year after year. Any donation counts. Even $1.

A moment ago I was arguing with some moron about a free kick paid in a game of footy and getting myself worked up then I read about this horrible news. It really honestly puts everything into perspective doesn't it?

FWIW, I went back to the bloke I was arguing with and apologised for my anger, said I understood his argument and wished him well.... He called me a flog and told me to (& I quote) "go back to $ydney sipping COLA in bondi"... But I felt better about myself none-the-less.
Beautiful post mate.